Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
776073mcc.jpg
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
79 Mon January 7, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 8.6
776073mcc.jpg


776073mcc.jpg









Description:
Ingredients: 1/4 C Soy Flour
1 T Cocoa Powder
1/4 t Baking Powder
5 Packets Splenda


2 T Melted Butter
1 T Water
1 Egg
How To Prepare: In 2-Cup Pyrex baking dish blend well left column (flour, cocoa, baking powder, splenda). Add water, melted butter and egg. Blend thoroughly with fork. Cover with plastic wrap (To vent, cut small slit in center of plastic wrap). Microwave on high 1 minute or until knife comes out clean. Cool a bit; eat warm with whipped cream or cool completely to ice.
Number of Servings: 2
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 5.5g Carbs 2g Fiber 1g Sugar
Preparation Time: 3 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


sjl330
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: June 2003
Location: Middle America
Posts: 12354
Review Date: Sun February 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very quick and easy and tasty too
Cons:

This was very good. The only bad thing is 1/2 of it is 8 net carbs and I think it would be too easy to eat it all.
Review Date: Fri February 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and very good!
Cons:

This was so good! This will be my - we lost 10 lbs so my hubby and I will have some cake!
Review Date: Tue February 17, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent
Cons: Not easy to remove cake from pan to divide

I don't understand how this can be 8 carbs net per serving, when the recipe says it's 5.5 carbs and 2 g of fibre. Don't you deduct the 2 from the 5.5? Also how do you get it out of the baking dish? Mine sure didn't look like the picture:(
Review Date: Thu March 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Do you know what can I substitute the soy flour with? can i use powdered soy milk? They don't sell soy flour where I live. I'm also on induction ...would it be possible for me to have tiny slices of this recipe or should I avoid it at all?


Thank you
bryarsmom
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 126
Review Date: Fri March 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Assembles in less than 5 min-satisfys chocolate cravings!
Cons: None.

Made last nite-while assembling supper. So fast-so delicious! A perfect size for 2 after a lite meal-really hits the spot! Deep chocolatey smell and flavor. I used almond flour-I made my own from almonds I pulsed in my Cuisinart.Worked like a charm. I freezed unused flour for a later cake! Don't put off this simple & heavenly little gem!
Review Date: Tue April 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and yummy!
Cons:

This one is quick and easy! Choose your flavour by adding more sugar or more cocoa, I don't like my cake very strong, but sweet! I use a whole heap of whipped cream to it, to make it a real treat, quick and "legal" on the diet! Smile
Review Date: Wed April 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Soooo easy and fast!
Cons: None

Oh my GOSH! I had given up on low-carb cakes, but this is awesome. Who knew you could make a tasty, moist cake in the Microwave? Great flavor and texture (I too used almonds ground into powder in my food processor for the flour). I can't wait to put some whip cream and strawberry slices on top and serve to my husband! Thanks so much for the recipie!
J_G_S_L
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2004
Location: Thunder Bay Ontario Canada
Posts: 154
Review Date: Fri April 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

so if ots 5.5 carbs for the whole cake and 2 filber G


is it 3.5 carbs for the whole cake or half the cake lmk thx Smile
wantingtoloose
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: SC.
Posts: 276
Review Date: Fri April 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very moiste
Cons: None

The photo says it all
This was so good my husband even fought me the last bite.:) the only thing is that I needed more than a minut in the microwave actually tried 3, but this is a keeper thanks so much..
Pami
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: July 2002
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 27310
Review Date: Mon May 17, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast, easy, tastes decadent!
Cons:

The recipe (as written) comes out to
401 Calories; 32g Fat (70.8% calories from fat); 14g Protein; 16g Carbohydrate; 4g Dietary Fiber; 249mg Cholesterol; 417mg Sodium for the whole thing (per MasterCook).
I never made mine this way; I hate soy, so I use half almond flour, half WPI, among other substitutions.
Italianchic
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed June 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy and easy
Cons: none

Super easy! I make a bunch of them and cut them in half and freeze. They are great in the morning with coffee.
Review Date: Sun June 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nothing could be easier or tastier
Cons: None

I actually make mine in a 2 cup glass pyrex measuring cup. So neat to only have to use one dish to make it.
julieloubert
Guest

Registered: June 2004
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 7
Review Date: Sat June 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wow! Chocolate cake!
Cons:

I can't wait for my chocolate cake-loving sister to try this one... It felt like I was eating the real thing. I think that I will try the almond flour idea next time, though, because the soy flour left an after-taste.
Review Date: Wed July 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's cake
Cons: Not chocolatey enough

Have you guys forgotten what real chocolate cake tastes like already? I made two batches of this recipe - one following the recipe as is, and one with a few extra packets of Splenda and an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder (I like a rich, chocolatey cake). Both came out bland, void of flavor. It seems like no matter how much sweetener or cocoa you put in, nothing can save the flavor.
arly
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2001
Location: Taneytown, Maryland
Posts: 787
Review Date: Fri July 9, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: needs flavor boost....see below

If you add just 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract ,it's just the lift the flavor needs. Vanilla adds so much to chocolate anything. Try it.
Review Date: Thu July 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and easy to make
Cons: as written needs more flavor

I played with this a bit and came up with something that I now can't stop eating. Here's what I finished with:


I found the soy by itself a bit bland, and the almond by itself too moist (more like a custard) so I split the difference and did 1/8 cup of each. I added a dash(about 1/8 to 1/4 tsp) of Vanilla, and upped the Cocoa Powder to 1 1/2 Tbp. I also can't use Splenda or Aspertame (equal) so I used 4 pkts of sweet-n-low.


I'm not sure how much this effects the carb count, but all in all I'm NOW eating this far too much. I make up a batch for breakfast and cut it in quarters to have whenever I need a quick chocolate fix.
regandy
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: November 2002
Location: East Texas
Posts: 1348
Review Date: Fri July 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and very easy
Cons: None at all

I was surprised how quick it was to make. It is more like a brownie than a "cake". I followed the advice of the other posts and tweaked it a bit. Changed to 1/8 cup soy flour & 1/8 cup almond flour (finely ground almonds) and also added 1/2 tsp vanilla. I own a bakery and fixed this for a few of my low carb customers. They really liked it.
dmoore3141
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: Nashville, TN Area
Posts: 19
Review Date: Fri July 30, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!!!
Cons: Too Easy to make! (grin)

I added a few extra packets of splenda cause dh has a severe sweet tooth, and used atkins chocolate syrup instead of the water. This was absolutely the best LC sweet treat I have made in the last 14 months! Highly recommended. Oh, I also used 1/8 cup soy flour and 1/8 cup almond flour instead of all soy.
Aediekins
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 1562
Review Date: Mon September 27, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): While it was warm the texture was amazingly cake-like
Cons: It had no flavor!!! And when it cooled, it turned dry and brick-like

I followed the recipe exactly and it had no flavor. Sorry!
But the texture was very cakey when it first came out of the microwave. I tried changing the ingredients a bit ( half almond flour, half soy powder, and eliminating the cocoa altogether and going for a vanilla cake using vanilla extract and vanilla syrup instead of water. It was a little better.)
Something seems to missing in the flavor.
AmelieWannabe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 20
Review Date: Tue October 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good chocolate flavor, moist
Cons: soy flour left an aftertaste

I substituted hazelnut meal for the soy flour and then the recipe was perfect. My family went absolutely nuts for the cake once I made the substitution. We used the recipe renovation to make pancakes, too!
Migi103
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 98
Review Date: Wed November 3, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast and Easy
Cons:

This is great and easy. I use WPI and almond flour - not soy.
HolyRowly
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Location: Kernersville, NC
Posts: 6
Review Date: Sun November 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Tasty
Cons:

This is great with Carolina Frosting!!!
sherdi
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: November 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1233
Review Date: Fri December 31, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I loved it!
Cons:

I didn't have any soy flour so I used Atkins Bake mix flour instead. I also didn't use the melted butter, instead I used olive oil. I made the mix and separated it into 2 small serving dishes for myself and my Boyfriend. Topped it with a bit of ricotta cream (ricotta with some sf choc syryp)! It was great! It rose right to the top of the dishes and it satisfied me! Great recipe!
Review Date: Mon January 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very little ingredients, easy to make, can add in healthy nutrients
Cons: Nothing although I modified the recipe a little

GREAT low carb snack when you want something sweet. I used 0 carb whip cream in a spray can by Land O Lakes on top of it. I used 1/8th Almond flour and 1/8th Soy flour instead of the 1/4 cup soy flour, and added 1 tsp vanilla and an extra 2 tsp. splenda and 1/2 tbl cocoa. It's still low carb that way and gives it some extra flavor, and lots of protein in the almond and soy flours. Once I even added about 2 tbls of unprocessed wheat bran to it to give it lots of fiber. Next I'm going to add some of my husband's chocolate protein powder to it. And you can add flax seed meal to it to add essential Omega 3 fat. This can really turn out to be a healthy snack, you just have to use your imagination!
seashell
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 55
Review Date: Mon January 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It was a good fix
Cons: a little bland, will do again with tweaking

We made it in a bowl and poured 1/2 the batter in seperate glass cups (the short kind). It was really cool how it puffed up to the top of the glass in 1 minute in the microwave. I thought it tasted good but my husband thought that it needed a lot more chocolate flavor.


Unfortunately, ours did not look like the picture at all. Ours wasn't as dark and cake like looking. We plan on making it again but doing some substituting for lessen the carb count and make it more chocolately.


I would say to definately try this, then do what you want with it.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Texture, much like a muffin, quic and easy
Cons: few, 3 minutes is from the time you set it in the microwave to cook

I had done this recipe with chocolate many times, had tweaked it to my taste, loved it. I have found it takes, (in my microwave) 3 minutes to cook it, in a 2 cup pyrex measuring cup. Today to my dismay I was out of all kinds unsweetened chocolate, no powder, no chunks none!!! So I tried making this into a Spice Cake. It worked well. I do use the ground nut flour 1/8 cup and 1/8 cup of soy. Then added spices to taste, more Splenda and also more water. I only cooked one cup of the batter and viola' I had a cute little spice muffin to snack on, made up some strawberry cream cheese and a cup of hot coffee and I was all set. Just goes to show that you dont have to have just chocolate in this recipe.
Review Date: Tue January 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I did the spice cake review, dont know why it listed me as unregiestered! I used cinnamon, ground cloves and nutmeg.
kudzu
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 167
Review Date: Fri February 4, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty and satisfying
Cons: None

I made some substitutions that took the carb count down to about 3 for the whole recipe:


Vanilla whey protein powder subbed for soy flour
1/2 tsp stevia subbed for 5 packets of splenda


Tasted the same to me with the substitutions!
Review Date: Tue March 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): nothing short of great
Cons: none

We substitute almond flour(meal) for the soy flour as it seems moister, and also add a tablespoon of flax meal to it, too. To save even more time, quadruple the recipe and mix in 8x8 pan, then microwave for 4 minutes. Depending on how you cut them you can get several servings.
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

this recipe is great
Review Date: Wed April 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: It is hard to eat only one.

Toooooo good. I made am frosting from 4 oz of soft cream cheese, cinnamon and Splenda to taste. It was so good.
mamagiff
Bike Tart

Registered: April 2003
Location: right down the road from Bong Recreation Area!
Posts: 58413
Review Date: Mon April 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent with a few tweaks
Cons:

I use almond flour instead of soy flour. I use coconut oil for the oil. I have made a yellow version adding lemon extract and blueberries and also a spice version with a cream cheese and cinnamon frosting. I try to make it only when someone is home to share it with me so I don't eat the whole thing! It's a good dessert for DH and I when we want just a little something after dinner.
rachelearth
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
Review Date: Thu May 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I too made it with almond flour coconut oil and it came out great. I used Garden of Life CO, it has a sweet taste which made the cake more delicious then regular butter.
splot
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Posts: 5
Review Date: Fri June 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's chocolate cake!
Cons: quite dense

I made it with vanilla protien shake mix, DaVinci s/f French Vanilla Syrup instead of the water, liquid splenda instead of powder, and 2T chocolate instead of 1.


Not bad, and it'll feed my chocolate cravings. Smile
SnowCherry
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
Review Date: Thu August 4, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good!!!
Cons: Absolutely none.

I LOVE IT!! IT'S SO GOOD!! I had to use Hermesetas instead of Splenda since I can't find Splenda, but it worked perfectly anyway!!
I will share it with my sister and father but I could easily eat it alone. XD So yummy.
Review Date: Sun October 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Nasty. Just horrible. Bummer.
SugarBabi
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 2227
Review Date: Tue November 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: Tasted like doggie biscuits. Yep, I've tried them too. LOL

I'm sorry to write a negative review, but I was soooo disappointed in this recipe. It tasted nothing like chocolate cake to me, more like dog food. The dogs had no complaints, though.
It wasn't as dark as the one pictured and I did the recipe exactly as it was written here. I just don't think soy flour makes a good cake anything.
berries&cream
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 874
Review Date: Sat November 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): looks superb, very good taste
Cons: a bit on the spongy side, but still great!

This is very excellent for a 3-minute low-carb chocolate cake. I wouldn't try to pass this off as the "real thing", but excellent for the carbs and time. I added chocolate flavoring to my second batch. It is best hot right out of the microwave. I will make this again.
lori813
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 6
Review Date: Fri December 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

SENDING A LOW CARB HUG YOUR WAY - THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE..IT'S WHAT I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR.
Ciarra
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 194
Review Date: Sun January 1, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderfull
Cons:

Read all the reviews so I altered it a little to start with I used Vanilla Whey Protein (1/4 cup), Davinici Sugar free vanilla syrup (3 tsp), Nestle Cocoa (2 tbsp), 2 packets of Splenda, 2 packets of Sweet n Low, 1 tbs butter (meant to do 2 but discovered my mistake after I made it) and 1 egg.
Ate it with whipped cream.
Yum...
Going to try just vanilla (yellow) cake next.
Review Date: Thu January 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It took care of my craving :)
Cons: Not sweet enough.

I'd make it again if I'm craving except I'll add a little vanilla. It's quick enough for that quick fix. After eating it...I sure as heck didn't want more Smile
LCinFL
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 9767
Review Date: Sat March 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): it wasn't bad for low carb!
Cons: would like it to be more chocolatey

The prep was a little longer than 3 minutes, but still quick and easy. Actual cooking time took 1 & 1/2 minutes in the microwave. It was spongy & VERY filling. It's pretty good for low carb, but needs chocolate icing or chocolate chips!!
bratts3
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Location: Fort Riley, Kansas
Posts: 412
Review Date: Sun March 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick
Cons: could be addicting

i used almonds crushed instead of the soy flour and i also added vanilla to the mix. i then used a small amount of pnt btr for frosting. yummy
deeder
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 9
Review Date: Thu March 30, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): QUICK, DELICIOUS, ON HAND INGREDIENTS
Cons:

I don't know how this is with the soy flour because I used almond meal instead. I had to cook it about 30 seconds longer, but it was wonderful. My daughter-in-law asked for the recipe right away. That's a good sign. All the ingredients are on hand and its QUICK! I made a chocolate sauce with heavy cream and a piece of low carb chocolate candy. Thanks!
sassycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 212
Review Date: Fri June 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): lowcarrb cake
Cons: looking forward trying im going use cream cheese for icein

looking forward try it i love choclate cake im going use cream cheese for icein
sassycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 212
Review Date: Fri June 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

looks good im looking foward try it im going use cream cheese for iceing look yummy
sassycat
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 212
Review Date: Sun July 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummu
Cons:

i made this tonite i double recipe and add litle vanilla it so good this is keeper
sixpakk
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2005
Location: west va
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue September 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

I used almond flour instead of the soy, and also a dash of vanilla. It turned out great, and I ate th whole thing w/ whip cream......yummmmmy
Conevery
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 159
Review Date: Sun November 5, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons:

Mine didn't look like the pic, but sure tasted similar to cake. Used almond meal and turned out very moist and spongy. Will definitely try again.
Review Date: Tue November 7, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good enough taste
Cons: Not cake-y

I topped it with a little sugar free hersheys syrup (slightly more carb) to give it more chocolate flavor. Also added cinnamon and vanilla. Good substitute for the real thing.
NoAngel
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: New Yawk
Posts: 83
Review Date: Sat November 11, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, Easy, fufills the chocolate crave!
Cons: a little dry

I used 1/4 cup designer whey protein (vanilla) instead of soy, 1 1/2 T cocoa, 1 1/2 tsp of fiberfit instead of 5 packets of splenda, 1 tsp of davinci almond syrup instead of water. I think it was good.
NoAngel
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: New Yawk
Posts: 83
Review Date: Sat November 11, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Forgot to add I ate this with a cream cheese frosting
vegasgirl81
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 80
Review Date: Mon November 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy and yummy!!
Cons:

I made it with almond flour instead of soy and absolutly loved it!!!!
GetFitMom
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1025
Review Date: Mon November 20, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy, delicious
Cons: non

This recipe was created when the use of soy flour was prevalent with most diets but we can now swap it since more lower carb or low gi flours are now available with less health risks.


I used oat flour and instead of water used coconut milk. Incredible for a quick chocolate cake-like snack! Maybe the negative reviews came from people using soy flour but this was really good the way I made it. Will definitely make it again.
Review Date: Tue February 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy tasting!
Cons: none

I loved this cake (i like soy flour), added vanilla extract and also put a couple of Dove SF Dark Chocolates into the batter before microwaving! Looked like lava! YUMMY!!!
Review Date: Thu May 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick & easy, even hubby likes it
Cons: WAAAY too good!

With recipes like this, who needs high carb diets???? I made most of the substitutions--almond flour, flax seed, vanilla....Wonderful!!
momof9
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 437
Review Date: Sat May 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good :easy ;quick clean up
Cons: none

i used carbquick and it turned out very cake like. will make again
LadyN
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1294
Review Date: Mon July 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make! Yummy!
Cons: tooooo goood!!!!!

Who needs carby cake!!!! I gave this to my kids, and they loved it! I made mine with almond flour and a little flax meal. I used a combo of stevia and xylitol in mine too. I also topped mine with a cream cheese and butter frosting! Yummy!!!
Review Date: Thu July 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great starter recipe!,Moist ,filling
Cons: Low on flavor

Recipe as it is ...well it is really missing something. BUT it is a great starter recipe to play with. Husband is a choco fantaic, we tried these new brownies by Flax z snaz, 5 carbs he said the best...but after i messed with cake recipe he now says my cake tops the brownies...this is what i ended up with .


1/8 C Almond meal 1 1/2 c
1/8 C Carbquick 1 c
1 T Cocoa Powder(dutch processed,special dark)1 c
1/4 t Baking Powder
5 Packets Splenda (Torani SF chocolate syrup)0
2 SF dove chocolates


2 T Melted Butter
1 Egg
1 t vanillia extract


We then shoved a few SF dove chocolates in center for teh lava cake effect. the cocoa by hersheys makes for a darker richer cake as well.
am i right this is only 3 1/2 carb whole cake!!!yummmyy
Boudica
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2007
Location: Embracing mackereality!
Posts: 2705
Review Date: Mon August 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I tried it using Vanilla Whey PP, Stevia and a T of Hersheys Dark cocoa powder. The batter itself was AWESOME! It cooked in about 1 minute and, when it first came out (still hot) it tasted GREAT! The more it cooled, however, the more it resembled AND had the texture of a kitchen sponge. I think I'll try it with CarbQuick next time and see if the texture changes up some.
yvettem8
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Review Date: Sun September 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It was so easy to make. I couldn't believe how good it tasted.
Cons: none

I put a pinch of salt and French Vanilla Da Vinci syrup. It was very good.
Kerri_Jo
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2007
Location: UT
Posts: 231
Review Date: Tue October 30, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Handy ingredients. Easy to make, and really good.
Cons: I ate the whole thing myself.

I made w/ 1/8 c. almond meal & 1/8 c. soy flour. Soy does leave an after taste, but worth it for the choc. fix.
Review Date: Sun December 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and all ingredients you pretty much already have
Cons: NONE what so ever

Being a single mother of 3 its hard to fufill your sweet tooth craving, also not to menetion being diabetic..... This cured my craving and didnt raise my blood sugar. I added a few moderations to it.... I went to Wild Oats and got the Organic Soy Flour which has 100 calories, 1g of sat Fat, 9 Carbs, but 4 are Fiber Carbs and 7 grams of protein. Also instead of using the margarine/butter... I got the spray "I cant believe its not butter" that has 0 of everything. and used 8 packs of Splenda... Came out great. Would recommend it to everyone! The way I made it, it came out to 115 Calories
1.5g Fat (The rest of the fat is mono or poly, which has a total of 3.5g )
6g Carbs
8g Protein
NO SUGAR, USE SPLENDA and NO WHIP CREAM just plain......
Trents
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 352
Review Date: Mon December 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So simple
Cons: Don't like soy.

I tried this with soy flour the first time,Didn't like it at all..Maybe it was the soy i couldn't handle...I used almond flour the second time and boy what a difference,so good!My 3 yr old DD ate most of my cake..This is a keeper,when made with the almond flour..I'll be trying the whey PP version soon too.
Review Date: Tue February 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I don't know if I made it right, I substituted Coconut flour for soy flour adds great taste, but mine didn't come out like cake?? what did I do wrong? I followed the recipe are you sure only 1TBS of water??
lisa89
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 924
Review Date: Mon March 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Its Quick
Cons: Its Not that good!

Not that good at all!!!...subed almond flour for soy, and added 1 tsp of peanut butter!but tasted ok,..it really wasn't worth making again i'd rather make something else.
melehundele
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 559
Review Date: Thu April 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast!
Cons: Don't like soy flour much, but modifications work well!

This was my doctored version. Sweet!


3 T almond meal or flour (from the coffee grinder)
1 T whey protein powder, vanilla
1/4 t baking powder
1/4 t nu-stevia powder (I never used Stevia before, and this kind is supposed to not be bitter, so if you use a different kind, YMMV) or use a couple packets of Splenda
1 T cocoa powder


1 egg
2 T butter, melted
1 t DaVinci SF Caramel
2 t DaVinci SF Vanilla


Mix the dry, mix the wet, mix the dry into the wet, pour into two microwave custard dishes, zap on high for 1 minute, and eat!


Makes two servings. 220 cal, 19 fat, 5 carb, 10 protein
Review Date: Tue June 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: can't find soy flour in my area

Wow! Easy and tasty! I'm not much of a cook, but this is sooo easy. My husband lows it too!I make mine with only almound flour since I can't find soy flour; I also added a bit of vanilla extract and instead of Splenda I use stevia.
Squirrels Mama
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 30
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I make this with almond flour (fresh almonds ground in processor) instead of soy. I love the texture it gives it. Top it off with some sugar-free cool whip and you're set! From my calculations it is only about 4-5 net carbs per cake (two servings) but I can definitely eat a whole one by myself.
Review Date: Tue November 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): moist, sweet, comfort food
Cons: too small ;-)

I made this with almond flour b/c I couldn't find soy flour. Delicious. Right after taking out of the microwave, I topped with about 25 dark chocolate chips and pushed them into the cake. YUM!!
WENDYLOU2
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 198
Review Date: Fri November 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): SO EASY, REALLY GOOD
Cons:

This was really good I had to use a bigger pyrex so it was more like a pancake, but I did alter the recipe with one tsp of almond extract and a few crushed walnuts, I had it cold with sugar free whip cream and strawberry banana jello...yummy
Review Date: Fri January 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Quick
Cons:

Pretty good and moist, not quite real cake though. Very delicious. I have made it again and covered it with SF Caramel sauce. Quite delicious, just not quite real cake. Thank you
Review Date: Wed January 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

1 t in the original recipe for baking powder stand for teaspoon or tablespoon? Thanks!
SuSUN
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: June 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 16084
Review Date: Sat January 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick fix...Excellent!
Cons:

madlava, that is 1/4 tsp for baking powder.


I have made this several ways. I prefer with the almond flour. I add vanilla too. Topped with cream cheese mixed with a sprinkle of sweet n low. Yummy and Quick.
Stardock7
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue July 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick
Cons: Aftertaste

This was surprisingly good - I learned not to trust the reviews ever since the MIM fiasco, but I was pleasantly surprised with this one. I used SF/CF chocolate syrup and added cinnamon and vanilla to the mix. I liked it better with whipped cream, the cream cheese frosting didn't work for me - maybe because of the aftertaste of the sugar. I didn't use Splenda because I really dislike its aftertaste; used Truvia instead, 3 packets only because it's concentrated - still has an aftertaste, hence the rating. Will try with Almond powder next.
Page:  1 · 2 more


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.