Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


creamy_sw_taco_soup.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
21 Sat March 16, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $12.50 9.6
creamy_sw_taco_soup.jpg


creamy_sw_taco_soup.jpg









Description: This is a super great recipe and is one of those recipes that you will make again and again.. The flavor is amazing!


Ingredients..


1 pound ground beef (you can substitute chopped or shredded chicken instead for variety.. it is yummy this way as well!!!)
1/2 cup onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
8 ounces cream cheese, softened or diced
2 10-ounce cans Ro-tel tomatoes, undrained (tomatoes with green chilies)
2 cans beef broth (You can substitute Chicken Broth if you are making this with Chicken instead of hamburger though either is very yummy!!)
1/2 cup heavy cream
salt and pepper to taste


You can add a sprinkle of cheddar cheese on top and if you like, a teaspoon of sour cream just before serving!


Also you can make fried Lowcarb Tortilla strips for garnish on top as well.
How To Prepare: In a large soup pot, brown the ground beef with the onion and garlic; drain. Add the spices and cook a couple minutes. Add cream cheese into the meat mixture. Stir it into the meat until melted. When the cream cheese completely coats the meat, add in two cans of Rotel, two cans of beef broth and half a cup of heavy cream. Stir well and bring ingredients to a boil. .
Number of Servings: Makes 8 one cup servings
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 271 Calories; 22g Fat; 13g Protein; 5g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 4g Net Carbs
Preparation Time: 15 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Recipe.jpg
Administrator
 
Posts: 39,976
Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois



Mishka68
beforeandafter_thanksg_sized.jpg

Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2008
Location: N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1144
Review Date: Tue December 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, delicious, even non-LC eaters love it!
Cons: Seriously, none that I can think of.

This is FABULOUS!
Review Date: Wed December 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes great and kids even loved it! great with added cheddar cheese on top
Cons: none

Excellent!
Review Date: Sat January 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy to make
Cons:

everyone in tne family loves this soup.Great flavor.
Review Date: Sat January 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy to make
Cons: none

Great recipe. The whole family loves it.
mamaemolady
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mon January 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Very, very good and easy to make. I add a little lemon juice and either shredded cheddar cheese or a dollop of sour cream on top before serving. Another winner, Cheri!
SHAUNA NA NA
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 19
Review Date: Tue May 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUMMY
Cons:

HAVE MADE THIS BEFORE! SUPER YUMMY
KDWJEH
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 88
Review Date: Thu June 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super easy to make
Cons: none

I just made this soup but substituted the beef for ground turkey. This recipe is amazing and so simple to make. Thanks for sharing.
Review Date: Sat July 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make and tastes GREAT!!
Cons:

This was a hit with my whole family!! I've never seen my picky son eat a meal so fast! He didn't even question the tomatoes and onions (like he usually does). Reheats wonderfully for leftovers the next day. The flavor is great and I plan to make this regularly :-)
*Lily*
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun July 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): VERY tasty
Cons: none

This recipe was what convinced me to join the site. Smile
Review Date: Tue July 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING
Cons: NONE

Awesome soup! It's like a cross between a taco and tortilla soup. I am a huge fan of cream soups and the cream cheese adds an awesome texture and flavor! Reheats very well. I wish I had four hands to give this recipe four thumbs up!
vilanteira
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 1067
Review Date: Tue August 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious, easy to make
Cons:

I just made this tonight and it was so delicious! I love the comfort-food taste and texture of this.
Review Date: Sun October 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

do the tomatoes cook to become liquid or thin? Would like to make but hubby hates tomatoes. Any suggestions on how to make so that tomatoes aren't whole?
eko42
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 843
Review Date: Sat October 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy to make
Cons: None

I made a batch of this soup and had it for lunch every day until it was gone. It was easy to make and very filling. I find it so much easier to stay on low carb when I make this like this ahead of time. I will be making this often.
paula38
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 57
Review Date: Tue January 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful! Hubby loved it too.
Cons: none

I made a batch for lunch today.
literarymiss
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed January 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super easy and DELICIOUS!
Cons: none

I love taco soup, and the fact that its LC makes it even better! The only thing I change, is I like to use stew meat, intead of ground beef, which gives it too much of a chili consistency for me. DELICIOUS Smile
Kalania
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 347
Review Date: Sat January 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): creaminess and spicy
Cons:

This soup was just amazing! So easy to make and delicious! it makes enough to get me through at least 3 almost 4 meals.
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 39976
Review Date: Fri March 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I added a few variatons to this recipe.. I also make this with Chicken instead of Hamburger and substituted chicken broth instead of beef broth when I was out of beef broth.. Both works very well and it is yummy! One of those recipes that is always a hit! If you try it with chicken let us know how you like it!!
shelby'snana
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: October 2011
Location: middle of nowhere, Tx
Posts: 5258
Review Date: Wed May 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and delicious !
Cons:

Very very good and super easy !!


DH is not LC and he loved it too !


I double the recipe...liked it better with hamb meat, but chicken was good too.
Jacksie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 109
Review Date: Thu October 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $12.50 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and flavorful
Cons:

Husband likes better than chili so this is a keeper. So good you just can't eat one cup. Made with hamburger and used about a pound and a half. I also used the mild rotel tomatoes because husband does not like a lot of spice but still perfect in every way!
dipgal
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2010
Location: Beautiful NW Illinois
Posts: 585
Review Date: Sun October 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and delicious
Cons:

I used organic ground turkey and chicken broth.. Came out yummy!! I know what I'll be having for dinner most of this week!
cjf
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 64
Review Date: Sat March 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and delicious!
Cons:

Even my non-LC hubby loved this soup! I'm going to stock up on Rotel tomatoes so I can make this often! Next time I'm going to try it with chicken!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.