Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


99069DSCN1650.JPG

 
Reviews Date of last review
6 Mon October 25, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $10.00 9.0
99069DSCN1650.JPG


99069DSCN1650.JPG
supersize









Description: Low Carb and Loving it!
Ingredients: • 2 large zucchini
• 1 small 15oz. can of tomato sauce
• 1 TBS basil
• 1 TBS oregano
• 1 TBS garlic powder
• dash of red pepper
• dash of salt & pepper
• 2 tsp. Mrs. Dash garlic & Herb
• 1 lb. lean ground chuck or Italian sausage
• ½ small onion diced
• ½ green pepper diced
• ½ cup mushrooms sliced
• 3 cloves of garlic diced
• 8oz. sour cream
• 8 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese
How To Prepare: 1) Slice zucchini thinly lengthwise and blanch in water for approximately 2-3 minutes to draw out water from zucchini. Remove from water and set aside.
2) In a small bowl, combine tomato sauce and next 6 ingredients & set aside.
3) Cook the ground beef and drain liquid from pan.
4) Add onion, green pepper, mushrooms, and fresh garlic and cook for approximately 5 minutes, being sure to stir often.
5) Add tomato sauce mixture to the meat mixture and remove from heat.
6) In a casserole dish (9 x 13), place the zucchini in the bottom of the dish, followed by the meat sauce, 4oz. sour cream, and 4oz. cheese. Repeat this step once again.
7) Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until cheese is melted and brown.
Number of Servings: 8-10
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 48 in entire dish...6 per serving
Preparation Time: 30 minutes plus 45 minutes to cook
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 164
Registered: January 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA



geechigirl
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 164
Review Date: Sat August 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste great!! and guilt free!!
Cons: it does take about 30 minutes to prepare

I made this for my family visiting from Charleston. I had to give them a copy of the receipe before they left. They really enjoyed it!
joy1
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2005
Posts: 11
Review Date: Sat September 30, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

it looks good
Amussue
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 258
Review Date: Mon October 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

i thought this was pretty good. the spices were just a tad bit strong for me, but overall pretty good.
linda58tx
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed January 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good
Cons:

You could also make this with boiled cabbage instead of zucchini
peas123
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 148
Review Date: Wed February 21, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted and looked just like lasagna
Cons:

This was as good if not better than regular lasagna. I used italian sausage instead of hamburger, awesome. I am really picky and this was great. I also used a 9x9 dish instead of 9x13 which the recipe says.
Review Date: Mon October 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes great!
Cons: A little heavy on the garlic.

Considering this will be enough food for several meals, the cost is great! It turned out SO wonderful! It tasted great and even picky eaters in my family liked it. I will probably cut back on the garlic components next time (garlic powder, three cloves of garlic, and garlic Mrs. Dash combined to make it a little overkill for me). Otherwise, great dish, and I will certainly be making it again!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.