Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


49365fish.gif

 
Reviews Date of last review
8 Mon October 17, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 10.0
49365fish.gif


49365fish.gif









Description: We LOVE crispy fish at our house. I have tried many recipes for it at this site and they have been fabulous (thank you)!! Recently, I made the cripiest, most crunchy fish that I have ever made a home (low carb or not). I am so excited about how it turned out...the texture of the crust was incredible!
Ingredients: Ingredients:


* Parmesan cheese (finely grated from a can)
* Almond flour (meal)
* Golden flaxseed meal
* 1 beaten egg
* Cajun seasoning or seasoning of your choice
* Fish fillets that are fresh or thawed (I love to use catfish pieces that are the size of large nuggets)
* Oil for deep fat frying (I used Canola)
How To Prepare: Mix equal parts of the parmesan cheese, almond flour and golden flaxseed meal in a bowl or pie plate. Season the mixture if you'd like with the seasoning of your choice (I used cajun seasoning). Set aside. Beat one egg in a small bowl and set aside. Sprinkle your fish lightly with the seasoning of your choice and salt and pepper if your seasoning does not have salt (I used cajun seasoning that has salt in the ingredients). Heat up your oil (I used canola oil in my Fry Daddy Junior). Dip the fish first in the beaten egg and then carefully press the fish into the coating mixture on both sides making sure that the fish is well coated with the mixture. Fry the fish a few pieces at a time until golden brown. Your oil should be hot enough so that the oil bubbles fairly rapidly when you put the fish in the oil. Drain on paper towels. I served this with a fantastic dip...mayo mixed with cajun seasoning and minced garlic. YUM.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 216
Registered: March 2002
Location: Minnesota



Review Date: Sun October 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Tasted great. I made it with Alaskan Pollock and it was wonderful. Thanks for the great idea!
sher795
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 664
Review Date: Tue October 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is the BEST breading I have ever used! DH and my parents request it now.
maya_maya
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 217
Review Date: Fri February 3, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, quick, very close to the original recipe!
Cons: none

Yeah, babe -- this is fabulous. I was craving fried catfish (I'm from Louisiana) and this worked out really well. I didn't have flaxseed meal to use, so it was straight almond meal/flour and freshly grated parmesan. I used Tony Chachere's to season the breading mix and threw in some extra red pepper. Put Tony's on the catfish, too. FABULOUS. Made up a popeyes knockoff dipping sauce (eq. parts mayo and grey poupon mustard). Will make this again, possibly try wiht flax meal next time. SO GLAD to have a replacement for one of my favorite home-foods.
cayman07
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2002
Location: Husker State
Posts: 96
Review Date: Tue July 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crispy crust, catfish was not mushy inside
Cons:

Excellent!
Review Date: Tue September 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice and crispy
Cons:

My two kids that do not eat fish ate this fish!
KJ-43
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1161
Review Date: Fri January 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good and crispy
Cons:

i also use this on some shrimp.mmmmmmmm
slbbw
carbico.jpg

Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 322
Review Date: Sun August 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crunchy, crispy, light, beautifully browned!!
Cons: Zero

I've tried a couple of other LC methods to coat chicken or fish for frying.. always disappointed. This was just fabulous! Crispy, yet light coating. I added some cajun spice mix (my own). When I tasted the finished coating mix, it was quite spicy and salty. I didn't add any salt to the fish because of this. Anyway, I'm just bowled over with this crispy, fragrant, spicy, beautifully browned fish! THANK YOU!
Linny
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: April 2003
Location: NW PA
Posts: 4801
Review Date: Mon October 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent flavor, Super crisy
Cons: None

Of all the "breadings" I've tried with fish, this has to be the best. This is now my one and only recipe to use!! Thank you SweetTLC!!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.