Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
10 Fri May 28, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6












Description:
Ingredients: Cookies:
2 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla
1/3 c. sf chocolate divincis
1/4 c. cooking oil
approx 1 c ground flaxseed
1/2 tsp both baking powder and soda
3 heaping tbsp baking cocoa


Frosting:
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/3 c. pourable splenda(powdered)
1/2 pkg cream cheese
How To Prepare: NOTE: MIX BY HAND. DO NOT USE ELECTRIC MIXER.


Mix all wet ingrediants for cookies until well blended.
Mix all dry ingrediants EXCEPT cocoa in seperate bowl. Combine dry ingrediants into wet and mix well. Mixture will be slightly thick. Fold in 2 heaping tbsp cocoa to mixutre. When that is done, fold in another heaping tbsp cocoa.


Mixture should be very thick, similar to cookie dough. Adjust flaxseed amount to create this texture if needed. Remember if you add a significant amt of additional flaxseed, add some additional cocoa and sweetner to taste.


Drop by tbsp onto greased cookie sheet. Try to lay the mixture flat vs. rounded. Place into preheated oven of 350 and bake for 9-12 minutes.


frosting:
Cut cream cheese into chunks.
Place cream cheese in microwave and melt on hi for 25 seconds.
Stir in 1 tbsp cinnamon and 1/3 c. pourable splenda. mix well.
Number of Servings: approx 1 dozen cookies
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: unknown, but very low. all the carbs from the flaxseed are from fiber!
Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!
 
Posts: 4,492
Registered: January 2003
Location: Arizona



AntiK
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 303
Review Date: Mon August 7, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great taste! Easy to make
Cons: Needs to be sweeter, but that's just me.

My toddler loves these! Even my husband liked them, and it was his first time trying flax. I will be making these again.
Itsanewme
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2005
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 584
Review Date: Wed August 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great cookie texture. Cures the chocolate cravings.
Cons: Needs to be a little sweeter if you omit the frosting. Perfect sweetness with the frosting.

I put mine in the freezer because I have a little problem with these and portion control Smile
momov2boys
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 3732
Review Date: Wed August 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome
Cons:

I frost mine with equal parts PB and Cream cheese + some Davinci's Wink
24Fan
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: October 2004
Posts: 3645
Review Date: Fri August 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty, quick and easy. Not too sweet, which I liked.
Cons:

I forgot to add the cooking oil and they were still good!
Tweaker Geek
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: June 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 3213
Review Date: Fri August 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great cookie, easy recipe
Cons: none that I can see

Love these cookies. I make the frosting a bit thick, use as a filling and call them "whoopie" cookies. Especially good with a little low carb ice cream on the side.
happy2Bhere
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: August 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 5648
Review Date: Fri August 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty, great fiber. low carb, easy to make, don't need frosting
Cons: texture takes a tiny bit of getting used to.

These reminded me very much of whoopie pies or devil dogs. I didn't make any frosting and we still enjoyed them.


My kids thought they taste like brownies and DH also liked them, which meant less for me. Sad
Bonnie
_catzy_

Registered: July 2003
Posts: 22866
Review Date: Tue August 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make; taste yummy
Cons:

This is one of very few recipes I have made several times. My non LCing dh loves them too. They are easy to make and so yummy!!!
pamk
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2005
Location: Buffalo Grove Illinois
Posts: 96
Review Date: Wed August 23, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smells and tastes like homebaked chocolate cake
Cons: Nothing!

I dont add the frosting but I do add a little more baking powder (1t total for a little more hight and lightness and about a half cup of the EWBW chocolate chip cookies and they are totally "menstral" cures the craving for cookies, cake and chocolate in one bite! This is the best "breakfast cookie with a nice hot cup of coffee.
shirlc
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 4086
Review Date: Sun April 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's easy and delicious!
Cons: none

I always have these on hand...I keep them in the freezer and dole out one a day. I just love them. I put 2 Tbsp. unsweetened coconut in the cookies and also 1/2 Tbsp. coconut extract and coconut oil (instead of the cooking oil). For the frosting, I use 1/2 tsp. almond extract instead of the cinnamon.
Angella
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2009
Location: PMC, California
Posts: 2
Review Date: Fri May 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very cake like and chocolatey
Cons: Needs to be sweeter

I subbed Carbquik for half the flax, and used Hershey's sugar free syrup and some Divinci's hazelnut syrup because I didn't have the chocolate kind. They came out very moist and cake like. I sandwiched two with the frosting in the middle, and it was a tasty breakfast with coffee. They weren't nearly sweet enough for my taste, even though I added extra EZ-Sweetz and Truvia. Next time I'll add in even more, but that's just me... Even though I say they aren't sweet enough, I'll be lucky if I can make the batch last several days, so they must be pretty tasty Wink


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.