Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
21 Mon February 7, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description:
Ingredients: 1/3 cup Ricotta Cheese
1 egg
3 tablespoons heavy cream
1 tablespoon flax meal
vanilla sugar free syrup - to taste
cinnamon
How To Prepare: Mix first three ingredients together in a saucepan - cook stirring over medium heat until thick. Add Flax and syrup. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Makes enough for two servings.


NOTES : Counts for syrup and cinnamon not included in totals.
Number of Servings: 2
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 6g total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


KayBOKC
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2002
Location: Mustang, OK, USA
Posts: 133
Review Date: Sat January 31, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is great but I'm sure much less than 10 servings! I usually eat the entire thing in a small bowl.
Tom
Administrator

Registered: February 2003
Posts: 4763
Review Date: Sat January 31, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

The number of servings has been corrected to "2". Thanks.
MsKimber
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Southwest
Posts: 789
Review Date: Wed February 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I love this stuff!
Cons:

Even eat it for dinner when I want something sweet!
Review Date: Sun February 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This was good
Cons:

Just like cream of wheat! Good when your looking for something besides eggs and baccon.
Latasha
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 112
Review Date: Sat February 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, good texture, sweet
Cons: none

Wow I was skeptical of this recipe but based on recommendatinos tried it anyway. Sweet, good texture like cream of wheat, wow.


My new favorite breakfast!
SMorack
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2003
Posts: 36
Review Date: Thu April 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Mmmm...comfort food!
sinderstorm
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: September 2003
Posts: 3506
Review Date: Tue July 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Love this! Great for a quick, easy, and sweet breakfast!
Begete
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2003
Location: Whidbey Island
Posts: 5713
Review Date: Mon March 28, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

easy, fast and quite good. I didn't have any vanilla syrup, so I used Splenda and vanilla.
daabster
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 64
Review Date: Tue December 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So yummy!
Cons:

This is a treat for breakfast. Can hardly wait to eat it after I make it, but sometimes I refridgerate it to take to work for the next morning or even for a snack during the day.
Wysteria
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 29
Review Date: Sun March 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and Tasty!
Cons:

This is a very yummy, quick, and easy breakfast. Changing the flavor of syrup also helps to keep it from getting boring.
franzie99
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Review Date: Wed March 29, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty quick and easy
Cons: none

This stuff is delish! I had purchased a big tub of Ricotta and my husband said "you better find some recipes that use Ricotta!". So, I began searching and found this. It is SO good! As others have said, it is also good in the evening as a treat or in the morning as breakfast! Very versatile as you can change the flavors to suit your taste! Thanks for the recipe!
Deannie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 618
Review Date: Fri September 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy and delish!
Cons:

Dh came home with a huge container of ricotta and it needed to be used. My first time trying this since I started LCing. Can't believe I didn't try it sooner. I subs almond flour for the flax meal. I made this for a snack/dessert and topped it with some raspberry rhubarb sauce. Oh....that was WONDERFUL!
Sarajewel
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: June 2003
Posts: 13354
Review Date: Mon January 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: I want to eat too much...

Wow. This stuff is great. It is mildly sweet and like others say it's alot like cream of wheat but richer. Thanks for a wonderful recepie.
GirlKickinIt
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: September 2005
Location: Almost Heaven~Central Oregon
Posts: 4758
Review Date: Sun March 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Wow!! This is sooooooooooooooooo Good!!
nh_mooser
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: January 2002
Location: Southwest corner of NH
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Tue August 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

My favorite winter breakfast "cereal". I usually make a double or triple batch, divide it into separate covered bowls and grab one each morning. Sooooo good.
ImRain
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 16
Review Date: Thu September 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Yummy cool weather breakfast!
Bissonnettemi
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1085
Review Date: Tue January 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy, and surprisingly tasty
Cons: can't use flax, so avoided that ingredient

I whipped this one up this a.m. for hubby and I, as I was wanting something sweet. Doubling the recipe, I used some vanilla flavored Nature Sweet (heaping tablespoon) that I have had in fridge for months, and was amazed at just how good this was. I am going to try it with almond meal or pecan meal once we have moved into phase 2 of Atkins again. Thanks for recipe, and the reviews!
LisaCar
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon December 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes good
Cons: serving size, total carb count

I'm not sure I made this correctly as it didn't come out anything like cream of wheat. I'm thinking I cooked it too long and then didn't add enough vanilla syrup. Mine ended up more like scrambled eggs. They tasted good though. My concern is that 1/2 of the recipe wasn't very filling. I ended up eating the whole thing. Thus 12 carbs, which is higher than I would like.
Saratoo
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 12
Review Date: Thu August 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Tasting and Easy!
Cons: None

I made this South Beach Friendly by using half and half, and low-fat Ricotta. I also sweetened it with 1/2 tsp of Brown Sugar Splenda and added a dash of cinnamon, and topped with about 2 tablespoons of half and half and some Olivo Butter Spray (I like to top hot cereal with 'butter'). I will definitely be making this again! (and again)
sarahsmile11
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 75
Review Date: Tue January 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick hot breakfast
Cons: Carb count is a little high for induction

I agree with the other reviewers that this has a Cream of Wheat-like texture and flavor. I made this as directed but without the SF syrup. I used Splenda and a little butter to flavor it. Excellent! Will be making this for breakfast, but not everyday due to carb count (between 6-8 carbs for the whole recipe, depending on which carb counter you use). Also, I would say this is a one serving recipe, not two.
Sapphira
weight.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 356
Review Date: Mon February 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, tasty and fairly inexpensive.
Cons: Suggested serving size is too small; carb count a bit high.

Hmm... I really want to like this, but the texture is throwing me off. I doubled the recipe, but only used 1 egg. It looked great before I cooked it, but afterward the consistency turned gooey and kind of slimy. It almost reminds me of raw dough, except a little bit runnier.


This is my first time using flax meal, so I don't know if this is normal or if it's because of the egg. I think I will try this again without any eggs. Other than that, the flavor is good and it is a very satisfying meal. Would be even better with some berries stirred in.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.