Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


15971d1220995258t-better-mousetrap-peanut-butter-cookies-better-mousetrap-lc-pb-cookies.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
7 Sat January 12, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0
15971d1220995258t-better-mousetrap-peanut-butter-cookies-better-mousetrap-lc-pb-cookies.jpg


15971d1220995258t-better-mousetrap-peanut-butter-cookies-better-mousetrap-lc-pb-cookies.jpg









Description: This is a "tweaked" version of one of the recipes for LC no-flour PB cookies. They are more substantial, because although the other cookies tasted good, they were too light and crumbly for my liking, plus, I wanted them more authentic (heavier/thicker) like the ones that have flour, sugar, etc.
Ingredients: 1 Cup Peanut Butter, Creamy or Crunchy, 1 1/3 sugar substitute (Recommended: Splenda), 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla
How To Prepare: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a large baking sheet. Baking dishes will also work. In a mixing bowl, combine the peanut butter, 1 1/3 cup sugar replacement, 2 eggs, and vanilla, and stir well with a spoon. Roll the dough into balls the size of golf balls. Place the balls on the prepared baking sheet. With a fork, dipped in sugar replacement to prevent sticking, press a crisscross design on each cookie. Note: I did not feel like touching the dough and taking the time to roll into balls, etc., so I just took a serving spoon and scooped up one big spoonful and put it on the baking dish. I used the fork to press them down and I like that they did not come out real uniform so they really looked and felt like "home-made" cookies and not ones from a commercial bakery. Bake for 20-30 minutes (depending of degree of darkness you like), remove from the oven, and sprinkle the cookies with some of the remaining sugar replacement. Cool slightly before removing from pan.
Number of Servings: Yield: 6 cookies (about 4 inches round). They do NOT fall apart.
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Not known
Preparation Time: 5-10 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 839
Registered: April 2007



MusicCityMama
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2010
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed July 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Texture of a regular cookie & tastes great!
Cons: Could be addicting

I have not made the original Paula D. version, so I can't compare the two. However, these cookies turned out great. I had one last night, shortly after baking, and one today after being stored in a ziploc in the fridge. I did not experience ANY crumbling in either case. Both my husband and son gave these their approval as well. They were easy to make and made the kitchen smell like "the old days." Using the ingredients I had, I was able to make 19 2" cookies coming in at 3.4 net carbs each. I would absolutely make these again and serve to company.
Review Date: Mon January 31, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Found these in youtube a few years ago.
Cons:

They are easy to make and taste great. The kids love them also and is the main cookie in our house Smile
Merrynutlump
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2011
Location: yorkshire, uk
Posts: 9
Review Date: Sat March 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

am i supposed to use a special type of peanut butter? such as unsweetened? because ive just check the stuff in the cupboard and that seems to have a lot of cabs in it? Also im unsure of the amount of sugar substitute to us is that one cup and 1/3 of a cup? cant wait to try them!
Review Date: Sat February 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty to me
Cons: Husband still not completely satisfied

The cookies are super easy to make. I didn't read "mix with spoon" until I was finished. I had a container of natural chunky peanut butter that had the oil separated, so I used an attachment on my mixer to mix it in the jar. Then I used the same single attachment to mix the cookie "dough" together. It seemed to me the longer I mixed it the thicker and "fluffier" the batter became. Fluffy is not really the word, it got bigger though Smile I used splenda this time, but next time I plan on trying either xylitol, erythritol or stevia. I like them and think they are very good! Smile Thank you for the recipe!
A'smommy
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 584
Review Date: Mon May 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tides me over
Cons: Carbs are a little high

The cookies were pretty good. I loved how they made the whole house smell like yummy peanut butter, and they were good enough to make fufill my peanut butter cookie craving and have the cravings subside! The only thing I do not like about this recipe is the amount of carbs. I used the lowest carb peanut butter I could find and even cut the recipe in half and still made six cookies out of it but the carb count was still a little over 9 carbs a cookie. So this isnt really an ideal snack for induction but definitely good for a rare treat/ peanut butter cookie fix!
Gretalyn
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2009
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 852
Review Date: Sun May 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!
Cons:

This is my favorite low-carb, gluten-free cookie. They taste so much like the peanut butter cookies my mom used to make, but without spiking my blood sugar.


The only thing I've tweaked is that I prefer to make 12 smaller cookies instead of 6 big ones. They seem to cook more evenly that way.
Review Date: Sat January 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Want more than one
Cons: None

Cooking this recipe does remind me of the "old days" - I love making the fork mark on the top. When they come out of the oven, I'm so excited. Hard to control on the portions when they smell so yummy!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.