Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
7 Wed February 23, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.7












Description: My Ukrainian DSIL makes this. Delicious, Induction-friendly and super easy!


Almost EVERYONE who has tried this recipe has raved over it. Personally, I would never have thought of cooking with mayonnaise, but it comes out so creamy and cheesy. Yum!


The oil in the mayo separates to tenderize the pork, while the egg and cheese part becomes creamy and delicious, like a thick Bechamel.


Notes:
* You can also make Chicken Diplomat, Veal Diplomat, Steak Diplomat, etc. by substituting the pork with other kinds of meat.
* Vegetables may be added. Traditionally, the Ukrainians serve this dish with potatoes, but I found recipes on the Internet that included mushrooms, fresh beets, tomatoes or even prunes!
* The use of mayonnaise and grated cheese over baked meats and vegetables seems to be a very popular combination in Ukraine: I found one restaurant in Kiev on the Internet that had at least four variations of this theme on its menu.
* Other names for this dish include Pork "Le Maxim," Kharkov Steak, Royal Chops or Meat a la France.
* Carbs can be adjusted by using more or less mayo, cheese and onion. It's all good!
Ingredients: Boneless pork roast
Onion
Mayonnaise
Grated cheese
How To Prepare: 1. Pre-heat oven to 400 F.


2. Take a nice, pink pork roast (with not too much fat around the outside, according to DSIL) and cut it into 1/2" slices, then arrange them along the bottom of a deep baking dish.


3. Slice an onion into half-rings and place them on top of the pork.


4. Take enough mayonnaise to completely cover the pork (thinning it slightly with a little water, if desired) and pour over the top of the pork and onion.


5. Add 4 oz or more of shredded cheese (she uses cheddar, but any gratable cheese will do).


6. Place pan in oven for 15 minutes at 400 F, then reduce heat to 375 F and cook for one hour. If the gratinee starts to become too brown, you can cover the dish with a lid or tin foil.
Number of Servings: Depends on size of roast & amount of ingredients used
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Low!
Preparation Time: 0:15 prep + 1:15 to cook
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 324
Registered: June 2003



shadowzip
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2004
Posts: 2809
Review Date: Mon December 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Easy
Cons: lot of liquid left in bottom of pan when done.

I made this last night with chicken breasts and my family loved it. I will make it again and again.
juddinminime
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: January 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 4497
Review Date: Thu January 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

The whole family loved this recipe, I now have to cook this more often.
Bissonnettemi
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1085
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasty and good! Easy recipe to pass on
Cons:

I just loved the ease of making this recipe. It really is so versatile. Friend called today requesting recipe suggestions for her pork roast, and voila' gave this to her.
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri August 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy & Delicious
Cons: None

I accidentally bought a roast with a bone so I had a hard time cutting it up. But it was great! Even kids and husband liked it. I think next time I would just use boneless pork chops and I really want to try this with chicken.
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8029
Review Date: Sat January 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy! simple ingredients
Cons: not pretty

This was delicious. I did add some sage and thyme to my meat before cooking, but the dish was yummy! You need to let it cook the full time, you want it really tender. I think it would lend itself better to boneless porkchops, since cutting the roast gives you basically just that. But, it was good (and I was skeptical). Thanks!!
Review Date: Thu September 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): all good
Cons: none

I was very surprised. I was very skeptical of mayonnaise sitting on top of pork but it was delicious. I only had two pork loin chops and probably used a couple tablespoons of mayonnaise and thinned with a little bit of chicken broth. It turned out very moist. I just poured mayonnaise sauce over the chops.
Review Date: Wed February 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Incredibly easy and extremely tasty!
Cons:

First time I made this, I used bone-in pork chops and mixed cheddar and mozz cheese. Second time I took a pork tenderloin, cut it into slices and used parmesan cheese on top. Hubby and I prefer the parm version. Tonight I'm going to throw everything in the crock pot and cook on low for 6-8 hours. We LOVE this recipe.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.