Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


280Strawberry_cheesecake.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
23 Tue May 8, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.7
280Strawberry_cheesecake.jpg


280Strawberry_cheesecake.jpg









Description: Don't know where to get Sugarfree products like Almond Meal, Artificial Sweetners and Flavored Syrups? Go visit Netrition.com. It is THE greatest Premier Nutrition Superstore for all your Lowcarb needs! http://www6.netrition.com/


I used a Pampered Chef 9" springform pan and the cheesecake rose to the very top.. If you don't have a springform pan and you use a regular pan it might overflow because springform pans are taller.


Baking in a Water Bath


Cheesecakes are custards at heart. They are delicate, so you want to bake it slowly and evenly without browning the top. The most effective way to do this is to bake it in a water bath. Since water evaporates at the boiling point, the water bath will never get hotter than 212 degrees F (100 degrees C), no matter what the oven temperature. This means that the outer edge of your cheesecake won't bake faster than the center, which can cause it to soufflé, sink, and then crack.


This recipe is my own creation.. please do not copy for the purpose of publishing or use on any other site without my expressed permission.
Ingredients: 1 1/2 pounds cream cheese (3-8oz packages)1 1/3 cups Pourable Splenda (or other sugar substitute that is equal to 1 1/3 cups sugar)5 eggs for a New York style cheesecake (use only 3 eggs for a creamier version)2 teaspoons vanilla2 teaspoons lemon juice16 ounces sour cream1/2 cup frozen strawberries, thawed, pureed10 drops of red food coloringOptional garnish:1 cup sour cream2 Tablespoons sugar substitutefresh strawberries
How To Prepare: Cream cheese and eggs should be at room temperature before you start. Beat the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Keep the mixer on a low setting throughout the beating and mixing process. Add the sugar substitute a little at a time and continue beating until creamy. Add eggs, one egg at a time and beat after each egg. When eggs have been mixed into the cream cheese, add vanilla and lemon juice, Mix well. Add the sour cream last and beat just until smooth.Transfer 1 cup batter to another bowl; stir in pureed strawberries and food coloring... set aside. Pour the remaining batter into cheesecake pan. (I use a 9 inch springform pan) Pour strawberry batter over regular batter in pan to within 1 inch of edge. Lightly swirl batters together, scooping up plain batter from bottom of the pan with spoon, being careful you don't go all the way to the bottom so you don't disturb the crust. Bake on center rack 1 hour, 10 minutes at 325 degrees. Remember not to open the oven while baking, This might make it crack. You might also want to try a waterbath but its not really neccessary. When time is up, turn off the oven and prop open the oven door... leave in oven for one hour. After one hour, remove from oven. Run a knife around the edge of the cheesecake, so if it shrinks while cooling it will not crack as the cheesecake cools.. Let cool to just about room temperature before the cheesecake is put into the refrigerator for 24 hours. Make sure you wait the 24 hours before sampling... A cheesecake should season. The wait is worth it. The flavor ripens and becomes enriched. Optional garnish:There are a few ways you can garnish this cheesecake. One way is to take 1 cup sour cream combined with 2 Tablespoons sugar substitue. When you remove the cheesecake from the oven after it sits for an hour spread this mixture on top. (if there are cracks this will cover them up and make the cheesecake look much more presentable) Cool completely on rack and cover with foil... refrigerate overnight. When ready to serve, arrange strawberry slices in circles around edge of the cake overlapping until you reach the middle. Slice and serve... enjoy!! Nutritional information: Without garnish: Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 238 Calories; 22g Fat (82.9% calories from fat); 6g Protein; 4g Carbohydrate; trace Dietary Fiber; 118mg Cholesterol; 158mg Sodium. Exchanges: 1/2 Lean Meat; 0 Fruit; 0 Non-Fat Milk; 4 Fat.With garnish:Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 276 Calories; 25g Fat (80.9% calories from fat); 6g Protein; 7g Carbohydrate; trace Dietary Fiber; 124mg Cholesterol; 166mg Sodium. Exchanges: 1/2 Lean Meat; 1/2 Fruit; 0 Non-Fat Milk; 4 1/2 Fat.
Number of Servings: 16
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 4 carbs without garnish... 7 carbs with the garnish
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Recipe.jpg
Administrator
 
Posts: 40,008
Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois



Review Date: Sun November 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I made this for my birthday today. So easy---sooo yummy! Quite attractive---
Cons: Too Delicious!

Thanks Cheri for taking the time to share this.
I made this yesterday and let it "season" for 24 hours like you said.Today it was my BIRTHDAY CAKE! It was delicious. I am so impressed...No protien supplement just pure easy ingredients...
I'm going to have to share it with my non-carb friends so that I don't eat it all.
I reduced the eggs for a denser cake. The 9 inch pan was just right and I was able to decorate it as suggested with sourcrean on the top and strawberries.
Another plus is that a small slice was extremely satisfying~
Review Date: Sun November 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): EZ
Cons: TOO DELICIOUS

FORGOT TO RATE THIS WITH MY FIRST REVIEW. IT IS A 10++++++++++++
Lizett
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: September 2003
Location: canada
Posts: 1410
Review Date: Wed December 28, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted like the real thing
Cons: None Its very addictive :)

I served it for christmas dinner and every guest loved it I would add more berries Smile
luvdanrs
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: January 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 1483
Review Date: Fri January 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): OMG to die for. I made this for my birthday and I waited the 24 hours like I said OMG
Cons: Cant say anything negative about it

I made this recipe and I didnt have a springform pan so I made it in a deep dish pie plate so I had extra filling, I did alter it a little by making a crust using 2 oz grated walnuts, 2 oz grated pecans 1/2 stick butter and 2 packet of splenda.... it was incredible. All the non low carbers raved about it too. My hats off to you and a deep bow!
carissa_konrad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 400
Review Date: Thu February 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): AWESOME
Cons: NONE

I used stevia and it turned out fantastic!
LKT724
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2005
Location: Montpelier,VT
Posts: 476
Review Date: Fri April 14, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: None

This is a winner! I made this in mini-springform pans to bring to an Easter dinner at my cousin's. I made the swirl with raspberries, and added Davinci raspberry syrup instead of the food coloring. Also made a nut crust, and added coconut SF flakes to the garnish. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!
microbiology1
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 1584
Review Date: Tue July 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

It tasted wonderful! Everyone liked it. I think I would use 4-5 eggs next time. The 3 egg version was a little messy when I was trying to serve it. The one small pitfall is that you can taste the splenda aftertaste if you have 2 slices. But I wasn't supposed to have 2 slices so that was my own fault!
HarleyLady
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 467
Review Date: Tue September 26, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): looks wonderful
Cons: none

i would love to try it but do not have the patience to cook and wait 24 hours
i want a peice now. maybe cheri will fed ex me a peice. lol
GetFitMom
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1025
Review Date: Mon October 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious
Cons: none

I made this for my bday. It was absolutely delicious! I had to freeze the rest of the cheesecake because it was hard to just eat one slice. Smile
sports_mom
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: May 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 1327
Review Date: Sun October 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make
Cons: None

This is so creamy. To die for! I just now transferred it to a storage container, and had a plate with a cup of coffee ready to eat it for breakfast. By the time I finished scraping the bottom of the pan and eating the "remnants", I was too full for a slice! Extrememly satisfying!
HappierMe
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 452
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I want to try this but noticed it had lemon juice in it. I dont like lemon or lime cheesecakes. Does this one taste like lemon flavor? If it doesnt Im all in for fixing it and I cant wait because I have been craving cheesecake! It was one of my weaknesses.......lol So right now until I fix it I will rate on how delicious it sounds.....YUMMY!
mullju
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 12
Review Date: Mon February 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Creamy, great taste!
Cons:

I love this cheesecake! It was easy to make and it feels like your cheating...but your not!
Review Date: Sat April 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing!!!
Cons: None!!!

Honey, this is the most wonderful thing EVER!!! I needed it so bad. I have had a hard time fighting off the urge to eat real cheesecakes....and this has made my life so much better!! YOU ARE AMAZING!! THANK YOU!!!
Dblyn
untitled.png

Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2005
Posts: 661
Review Date: Sat January 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Delicious,I was out of sourcream so i used heavy whipping cream and it was great.
LowCarbSleepyToast
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 680
Review Date: Thu February 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty
Cons: A challenge for beginning cooks!

I liked this alot. I used 3 eggs and I too would do 4-5 next time, as it was a bit mooshy. Also, mine crackd and oozed over the edge of the pan in my oven, I think I probably just didn't do it right. I would really rate this recipe more of a medium difficulty.. Or myself more of a dunce than I'd thought.
Review Date: Fri March 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

that looks so good! I'm definately going to try this recipe.
lovetoread
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 17
Review Date: Thu July 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): sounds too good to be true =)
Cons:

Can Stevia be used? It takes much less of stevia to sweeten things than Splenda........will the less bulk of stevia make a difference in this recipe?
wishnot
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 414
Review Date: Thu August 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): rich and creamy
Cons: none!

This was really fantastic! I cut the recipe in half and used 2 eggs (so it would be 4 if you made the whole thing) and instead of strawberries I used blackberries. SO YUMMY! I cooked it in individual custard cups for 35 minutes. After waiting for it to cool for an hour I couldn't wait another 24 hours for it to sit in the fridge so I ate one and you really DO need to let it sit overnight in the fridge, it had a weird texture. But the next day it was perfectly creamy. LOVED IT!
graciejean
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: Between here and there
Posts: 654
Review Date: Sun September 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons: did'nt last long enough

Wonderful!!!!
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon February 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes Great
Cons: Waiting for it to get done!

I used whipped cream and sliced strawberries for the top. I served this to non low carb guests and they had no idea. Everyone thought it was great!
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste and texture
Cons: none

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Totally awesome!! my hubby (who is very finicky) loved it and so did I!!!!
Review Date: Tue February 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): THE BEST CHEESECAKE EVER !!!!
Cons: can't control portion , finished in 1-2 days lol

good cheesecake.
laivo
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 6
Review Date: Tue May 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is an incredible cheesecake! I have it in my fridge waiting to be garnished. I made it with raspberry swirl instead of strawberry and made a nut crust. I did make your plain cheescake recipe before and it is delicious! Thanks for sharing! Gorgeous cheescakes! Smile


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.