Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
4 Fri December 9, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3












Description: This is really yummy - I did a search on AllRecipes for a Low-Carb Mushroom soup - and came up with a partial blurb for one you had to pay for access for - so I made up my own from what I read there!!
Ingredients: 1/2 medium onion - chopped\
1/4 cup butter
2 cloves garlic - minced
2 cups chopped mushrooms (I used a mix of button & cremini - but all button works great!)
1 sprig rosemary (I used fresh, but about 1 tsp. dried would do the trick)
1 cup chicken stock
2 cups heavy cream
2 egg yolks
Salt & Pepper to taste
How To Prepare: 1. Saute onions in butter until translucent, add garlic and saute until garlic is a bit soft.
2. Add mushrooms and saute until mushrooms are soft.
3. Add chicken stock & rosemary and simmer for 15-20 minutes, until stock is reduced somewhat.
4. Add cream and bring to a slow boil.
5. Whisk egg yolks in a small bowl, and while whisking add a ladle of hot soup mixture. Whisk that in and repeat this 2 or 3 times more. This will bring the egg yolks up to soup temperature, so it doesn't make scrambled eggs when you add them to the soup!
6. Allow the soup to simmer for about 10 minutes or so - the eggs will thicken it a bit.
7. Add salt & pepper to taste.
Number of Servings: 4
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Fitday puts the whole recipe at 30g, making it 7.5g Carbs per serving.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 519
Registered: April 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada



Doggygirl
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2002
Location: IL
Posts: 1564
Review Date: Fri November 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Thick and creamy - very good
Cons: 1 tsp. dried rosemary is a little too much for my taste - will use less next time.

This is going into my "keepers" binder. My husband liked this too.
lowcarbs4me
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: August 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 1343
Review Date: Mon December 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very rich and creamy - great flavor
Cons: high calorie--lots of cream and butter

Love it! I used a little nutmeg to add complexity. Nice touch. Some red pepper flakes would also be good.
Alero
Junk_Food_Snoopy_Pump_Red_Shirt.jpg

Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2011
Location: NM
Posts: 197
Review Date: Wed February 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

About how big is one serving?
kitchenwitch2
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2008
Location: California
Posts: 64
Review Date: Fri December 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Creamy and rich
Cons: none

Just made this soup and globbled a big bowl. My tweaks were paprika, truffle powder and toasted walnuts in the soup and as garnish. I ran it through the blender after adding the egg mixture and then back in the pot to thicken. It makes a lot so I have lunch for a couple days. A very earthy soup for a wintery day. Thanks KellieB!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.