Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
5 Sat November 17, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description: These taste just like the low carb chocolate lava cakes at Ruby Tuesdays.


NOTE: The original recipe calls for 4 custard cups. These are incredibly rich and it is hard to finish one custard cup when divided into 4 servings. In the future, when I make this, I will divide into 6 smaller custard cups and bake for 11-13 minutes or until done.
Ingredients: 4 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate squares
1/2 Cup butter (I used salted)
1 1/4 Cup powdered sweetener (I used Splenda, erythritol, and xylitol and put in blender till powdered)
2 eggs
2 egg yolks
6 Tbsp. Carbquik (though I'd guess that other LC bake mixes would work too)
Whipped Cream to top
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 425. Butter 4 custard cups (3/4 cup) and place on baking sheet (I sprayed the cups with Pam).


In large microwavable bowl, cook butter and chocolate squares on high 1 minute or until butter is completely melted. Remove from microwave and stir with wire whisk until chocolate is completely melted. Stir in powdered sweetener until well blended. Whisk in eggs and egg yolks until well blended. Stir in Carbquik until well blended. Divide batter evenly between custard cups.


Bake 13-15 minutes, or until sides are firm, but center is soft. Let stand 1 minute. Carefully run knife around cakes to loosen and then turn out onto plate. Top with whipped cream.
Number of Servings: 4 - 6 (see comments)
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Major LCF Poster!
 
Posts: 1,985
Registered: October 2003
Location: MD



TrueTrue
blk-weight.png

Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2003
Posts: 2950
Review Date: Sat February 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Really rich, decadent, and very pretty!
Cons: I used erithrytol (sp?) and I think it made the texture a little grainy.

This was so good!!! Very rich, sweet, and chocolatey. I think you could use other combinations of sweeteners -- I will omit the erithrytol next time and maybe use splenda and stevia. Try topping it with sweetened whipped cream or LC vanilla ice cream. It makes a beautiful, fancy dessert. Good enough for company. Maybe put a raspberry or two on top of the whipped cream or ice cream.
pamaris
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2004
Posts: 19
Review Date: Wed February 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): decadent, rich, super chocolatey. DOES NOT taste low carb
Cons: maybe too rich for me.

I am rating this a 10 because it definitely does not taste low carb in any way: Here is what I did: I followed the directions except for a few modifications... First I whizzed 1/2 cup erythritol in a coffee grinder. Then I put it in a tupperware container. To that I added the Carbquik, plus 1/2 cup polydextrose and 1 packet of Sweet One. I put on the lid and shook really well, till well dispersed. In a separate container, to my beaten eggs I added 14 drops Sweetzfree (concentrated liquid splenda), 3 capsful of English toffee davinci, and 1 capful of vanilla extract. Because of the poly-D addition, I baked for 17 minutes in 10 oz. custard cups (they were about 1/2 full). Then I whipped some cream with the English Toffee davinci and topped it off with that and sliced strawberries.


It was excellent, but I probably won't make it again because I personally don't tend to like chocolate cake. Just needed a fix, and it did the trick.
Review Date: Tue June 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very chocolatey
Cons: very very rich

These are very filling! Could split one between two people. If you are craving chocolate, this one is perfect. I used two different sweeteners but still kind of had that artificial sweetener taste. Not enough for me to quit eating, though!
abyw1922
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Posts: 5
Review Date: Wed June 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I figured out the carb count and I got 13 carbs each for 6 servings and 19 carbs each for 4 servings. I don't know if this is exact, but I can't wait to try it for a special occasion! Sounds wonderful!
stickergoddess
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 273
Review Date: Sat November 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Best desert ever!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.