Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
17 Sun February 3, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description: Great for a cold night. Thick and hardy!
Make ahead and warm up when needed.
Ingredients: 1/8 cup of Minced Onion (or as much as you want)
3 Cups of frozen Broccoli
3 cups of chicken broth
1/2 cup of sour cream
1/4 cup of cream
12oz (1 1/2 cups) of shredded cheddar
1-2 cooked chicken breasts-cut up
(the more chicken, the thicker the soup)
2 oz cream cheese
2 tblspn butter
sprinkle of thickener or carbquick
salt and pepper to taste
How To Prepare: In a large pot, throw all ingredients in except the chicken and thickener. Heat on medium.


While pot is simmering, dice and cook chicken in frying pan.


Add chicken to pot and bring to boil, stirring occasionally. Sprinkle thickener if necessary.


Number of Servings: 4
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 5, depends on ingredients you use
Preparation Time: not very long, 15 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 55
Registered: January 2005



monapoe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2005
Posts: 5
Review Date: Tue October 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sticks to your ribs!
Cons: some ingredients clumped together

Made this tonight, but improvised a bit. Boiled my chicken thighs and legs and usd the broth from that. Next time I will be sure and skim the grease off of the broth first before using. I didn't use the exact measurements but did use the exact ingredients with the exception of the butter (omitted it because of the fat already from the broth) and didn't have any thickener. I had to use my own measurements because I like to make a big pot of a low carb soup to ensure enough for dinner and lunch the next day. The taste was awesome, just be sure to season with salt and pepper! My only con is that the cream cheese appeared in little clumps, as did the cheddar cheese. I did serve each bowl with extra shredded cheese, as a personal preference. The pros definitely outweigh the cons and like I said, the taste was yummy! Definitely will be a regular soup around here...
KarbieGrl
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: April 2004
Posts: 11710
Review Date: Wed December 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy - the whole family enjoyed this tasty soup.
Cons: Didn't make enough to feed 4 hungry guys!

My family LOVED this soup. They are not on a low carb lifestyle, and typically turn their noses up when I mention that it's something new. Not this time! They all wanted more!
tekla
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2003
Location: Down on the Farm
Posts: 2445
Review Date: Sun December 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delish!
Cons: none, but I'm going to have to go and re-check my carbs because it's so good.

I had no trouble with clumping but I brought my soup up to a simmer and then added my cheese slowly. Very tasty.
Review Date: Wed May 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): GREAT!
Cons: None

Had a sore throat and wanted something comforting. This soup absolutely did the trick. Thanks!
Brittany84
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky/Cincinnati Area
Posts: 418
Review Date: Wed August 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, simple, and fabulous!
Cons:

This recipe was great I used a roasted chicken that you get from the deli (already cooked whole chicken) and shreeded that whole thing and placed it in the soup! It was great and no need to use onions or use another dish. Let the soup cool for 15 minutes before eating it the broth thickens on its own no need for thickner.


Highly Reccommended!
todunlop
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: North East, CT
Posts: 582
Review Date: Thu January 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy very tasty
Cons:

I added everything but the chicken and broccoli. When it looked like most of the cheese was melted I used a hand held blender to puree until smooth. Then added the broccoli and chicken. Great soup.
Review Date: Sun January 21, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy to make.
Cons: I could find none.

I found the taste very good. I am watching my carbs, but I don't want to give up taste. This recipe proves you don't have too. I found it very satisfying, as they say it really hit the spot. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Review Date: Fri February 16, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and very tasty
Cons: None

I will use this recipe even after my low carb days. I grilled my chicken first in a little of EVOO and took it out. The bits left behind gave a great taste to the soup. I did not add the thicker because I didn't want the carbs and it wasn't needed. Can't wait for the leftovers today.
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8580
Review Date: Sun January 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy! Easy, usually have ingredients on hand
Cons: none!

This was delicious, fast and totally hit the spot. I love soup, but don't trust restaurants and hidden carbs. I used some cooked shredded chicken I had on hand (just bonless/skinless breasts in crock pot w/ some broth) and it was fabulous. The cream chesse and cheddar kind of stuck to the bottom of the pan in the beginning, but it was all good by the end. I added some shredded cheddar when I served it. Hope it freezes well! Thanks so much for this recipe!
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8580
Review Date: Sun January 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Forgot to mention, I used dried onion in place of the fresh and didn't need any thickener. It was fine just the way it was.
Review Date: Fri January 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent tasting soup, very flavorful
Cons: none

This was easy to make. Nice hearty soup, fills you up.
Review Date: Fri February 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good flavor
Cons: none really

I only had one complaint! Didn't make enough! Next time I will double the ingredients. I did not need to add the thickener. I let it sit for a bit before serving to thicken up. I used a Tyson already roasted chicken, saved chicken cooking time. It was delish!
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri February 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Very Good
Cons: None

I cooked my chicken in the microwave and then shredded it in a food processor. Everyone in the house liked it including my kids!
myth
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Posts: 30
Review Date: Sun March 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy!
Cons:

This soup is wonderful! Does it freeze well? Thanks for sharing.
kitchenwitch2
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2008
Location: California
Posts: 64
Review Date: Mon November 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very quick to put together
Cons: A little thin without some kind of thickener

since I don't eat meat, I made this just a broccoli cheese soup, using veggie broth instead of the chicken broth. i used pepper jack cheese for a little kick.


Also towards the end I spooned most of the broccoli and about half the broth into the magic bullet and returned it to the pot.


It was great!! I will definitley make this again, maybe with some extra veggies next time.
Gibbs
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2001
Location: East Central Indiana
Posts: 1552
Review Date: Mon February 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy
Cons:

This was awesome! The old man liked it too, and the only thing I didn't do was measure lol. Also used half pepper jack cheese. Very filling too. Thanks!
Review Date: Sun February 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy, rich, kept me full for a longgg time
Cons:

Delicious, and even better the next day. I made a batch that I thought would last me through a few days of lunches, but my picky husband and kids ate it up!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.