Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
4 Wed March 9, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0












Description:
Ingredients: 2 5-6 oz Tilapia filets
2 T ground flaxseed (I run mine through a coffee grinder)
4 T butter
2 T olive oil
2 cloves garlic
2 T finely shredded Parmeseano Reggiano (or regular parmesean in a pinch)
sea salt
white pepper
How To Prepare: In oven and stove safe pan or dish, heat butter and olive oil over medium high heat. Press 2 cloves garlic (or mince) and add to butter/oil. Saute until garlic is soft but not brown. Rinse and dry tilapia filets. Salt and pepper filets as you wish. Place filets in pan, spooning garlic butter oil mixture over them. Cover and cook over medium heat until fish flakes easily with a fork--about 4 minutes. In a small bowl, combine flaxseed, parmesean, and salt and pepper to taste. Cover tops of filets with flax mix, about 2 T on each. Spoon some of the butter/oil over topping to moisten. Place under broiler to brown for about 2 to 3 minutes. As pictured above, I like to serve with baby spinach and Newman's Own Light Italian Dressing (0 carbs for the dressing!). This is such a treat--it's kind of like a tilapia scampi. Enjoy!
Number of Servings: 2
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: About 2 net carbs per serving, plus the health benefits and fiber of flaxseed.
Preparation Time: 15 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Reenwad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2002
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 857
Review Date: Tue March 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple
Cons: None

Thumbs Up!


This is an excellent fish dish! I loved the crunchy topping after broiling. Next time I will use a little more garlic though, only because I love it!


Thank you for the contribution!
Boudica
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2007
Location: Embracing mackereality!
Posts: 2705
Review Date: Thu April 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): VERY easy
Cons: none

I omitted the garlic, and used coconut oil instead of EVOO, but it STILL turned out wonderful! I was looking for another way to prepare tilapia other than en papillote and this was terrific. DH enjoyed it as well and he isn't a big fish person. I am DEFINITELY going to make this one again.
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue March 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super Easy and Tastes Great!
Cons: NONE

My husband and kids loved this fish too. The kids are not used to fish that isn't breaded so they had already decided that they wouldn't like it, but after they tasted it, they DID like it! My daughter even ate 2 pieces!


I was surprised at how easy and fast this recipe is. I would even serve it to guests.
fluffyg-ma
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2011
Location: where the river runs north
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed March 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Super Yummy!
Cons: none

I'm not a great fan of fish,but prepared like this fish will stay on the menue.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.