Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
34 Sun October 23, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $10.00 9.7












Description:
Ingredients: 3- 8 ounce packages of Philly Cream Cheese
25-30 Splenda Packets or equivalent sugar-substitute
2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
3 whole eggs
1 cup sour cream
How To Prepare: Preheat Oven To 375 Degrees F


1. Soften cream cheese in a large bowl.
2. With an electric mixer, blend cream cheese ALONE until creamy and of an even consistency.
3. Add sugar, vanilla and sour cream and blend until incorporated.
4. *Important* Add eggs ONE at a time and blend after each until incorporated into batter.
5. Spray a 9 or 10 inch glass pie pan with Pam to prevent sticking.
6.Add Batter to pie pan.
7. *Important, but not necessary* Place first pan in a larger pan filled with water. This prevents the cheesecake from cracking and keeps it moist inside.
8. Place both pans in oven for 45 minutes or until somewhat firm in the center.
Number of Servings: 8
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: I'd say about 5, maybe less depending on sugar substitute you used.
Preparation Time: 15 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
 


JeninGA
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good recipe, loved the sour cream taste
Cons: None

ttime
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2002
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 106
Review Date: Fri February 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make and has the best taste all my friends love it.
Cons:

This is the best cheescake ever it's easy to make and comes has the same texture as a new york style cheescake. I eat this for breakfast and for snacks all my friends asked for the recipe and are eating also. Try adding almond extract yummy..
smilingirisheyes
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Posts: 688
Review Date: Tue February 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Absolutely great looking cheesecake and pretty *S*
Cons: None

This browns and cracks like a NY cheesecake and is very pretty. But OMG the taste! My hubby loves it too.
Review Date: Fri February 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Recipe easy to follow and simple to make.
Cons: Made too mush batter for a 9 or even a 10 inch pie pan.

Absolutely "Atkin" to regular cheesecake.
Delectable!!!
Review Date: Mon March 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, awesome flavor and texture
Cons: none

I loved this! It was simple to make and has an excellant cheesecake flavor and texture. There was too much batter for the 9 inch pie. I just put the extra in a glass custard cup and cooked it along with the pie plate. Hey does that mean the one in the custard cup has zero carbs?? LOL wishful thinking! (Next time I am adding some kind of low carb crust to mine)
magill
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sun April 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): exellent, and easy
Cons: none

this was the first lo carb cake i baked and was hooked half the people that ate it were not on lc and had no idea!!
Review Date: Thu April 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good and easy to make
Cons:

use a spring form pan in a pan of water. works much better than a pie dish.
Review Date: Mon May 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious!
Cons:

have made several cheesecakes from this site - this was, by far, the best!! No artificial sweetener aftertaste, which i'm afraid most of the others have. And, when you're anxious to eat a piece, you don't have to let it cool for three or four hours.. i really recommend it.
maryjopye
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: beautiful east tennessee
Posts: 24
Review Date: Sun June 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

this cheesecake is really impressive...the first one i made rose two inches out of the pan and then gently settled down to about 1 1/2 inches thick...it was a sight to behold!..really delicious...have made it 4 or 5 times now...always gets raves!
MomNRN
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2003
Location: Midwest
Posts: 67
Review Date: Tue June 22, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fabulous!
Cons:

This is the best! I have tweaked the recipe a bit since I am not a fan of a "heavy" Splenda taste. I use 2/3 cup of Splenda. It is very good. We have one of these cheesecakes in our fridge at all times. Great with coffee in the morning! Thanks for the recipe!
Review Date: Sat July 17, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy! Tastes great!
Cons:

Took it to a family gathering and everyone loved it! Now I can have the same dessert everyone else has!
Annie O
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: August 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2679
Review Date: Sat September 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): simple ingredients, so easy!
Cons: none

Just tried it for the 1st time this week...hubby and I love it!! I'm making one today to take to a barbeque tomorrow...it's delish! Would love to find a recipe for some type of sauce to serve with it...possibly chocolate or a fruit...say strawberry or raspberry? Off to look for one now...
Review Date: Sat September 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Few ingredients
Cons: wasteful to open 25 packs of splenda

This is an amazing light and fluffy dessert. It would be nice to know the equivalent measurement of bulk splenda so that you do not need to use up more expensive individual packs of splenda however. Very good and worth it though!! Hard to just have the one piece!! I pureed blackberries mixed with a touch of splenda and put on top for extra zip.
locarbneezie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 427
Review Date: Tue October 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: none

best cheesecake and works for me on induction
Alison Jean 71
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2439
Review Date: Wed January 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy
Cons: tastes too good

I have tried several recipes for cheesecake and this is by far the best. Even my 7 year old daughter loved it.
anne27
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 5
Review Date: Thu January 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy and tasty
Cons: slighty bland

Loved the texture and the richness. It was just a little bland and I plan on adding a little lemon zestto the recipe next time I make this, but I'd definately recommend it!
Review Date: Thu January 13, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice texture ....I added half a bag of sugar-free chocolate chip....yum
Cons: none

carissa_konrad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 400
Review Date: Tue July 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): amazing taste
Cons: Can't stop thinking about it :)

KarenA
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2004
Location: Petaluma, Ca.
Posts: 25
Review Date: Sat July 30, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy and yummy
Cons: none

Very easy and really really good. Will make again and again!!
I added the crust from another recipe : 3/4 cup flaxmeal, 3/4 cup almond meal (or half and half almond and carbquik which is what I did) I left off the 1/4 tsp salt, 6 tbs melted butter and 1/3 cup splenda. Mix together, pat in bottom of pan. Bake at 375 for 7-12 minutes.
sbarr
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: August 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 4835
Review Date: Sun September 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste
Cons: Fairly Expensive ingredients (in Ireand), want to eat it all!

Bravo - I love this recipe. I've given this to unsuspecting people and nothing but compliments. My slight modification today is almost flavoring - should be good!


I modify this slightly for a 6" spring form pan - use 2/3 of the recipe.


I have this one memorized, no need to bookmark it anymore.


Cheers,
Sandra
Alison Jean 71
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2439
Review Date: Wed February 15, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast and easy
Cons: none

It has been a while since I have made this. I made it for Valentine's Day. This time I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and light sour cream. It was just as delicious as ever. Still very thick and rich. I could not tell the difference. I last rated it in Jan 05 with a 9. What was I thinking....it is a 10. I did add some lemon zest for the first time. I love it both ways. I have tried other LC cheese cakes that are not as good and have a ton of steps.
smiles47
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 493
Review Date: Mon March 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is the best cheese cake recipe I have tasted, everyone that has had it raves about it I would recomend this recipe to everyone!
jiggles
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: June 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 21587
Review Date: Tue March 21, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy & easy
Cons: Can't think of any

Best low carb cheesecake I've tried so far and very easy to make. I used a 9" spring form pan instead of the pie plate. For the sugar sub. I used 1/3 c. Splenda & 1/3 c. vanilla DaVinci's to cut the carbs a bit more and it turned out great. Will definitely be making this one again. I think it would be good with other DaVinci flavors also.
bigmomma
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 234
Review Date: Mon October 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste & texture are dead on
Cons: none

I can't believe how good this turned out. It's sooo easy, too! I didn't fuss with springforms or water baths; used a well-buttered muffin tin & got 18 individual portions. (divided batter & added additional flavors to each to end up with pumpkin, lemon, choc. chips & blueberry...they were all great!)
KJ-43
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1161
Review Date: Fri December 29, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons: none

I added some lemon extract and also use sf vanilla Dvinci's syrup 1/2c and 3/4 of splenda. I use a almond flour,walnut and pecan crust and baked it for an hour and 15 minutes at 350 and another 15 min at 300. This is a absolutely a awesome desert.
KJ-43
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1161
Review Date: Fri December 29, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons: none

I added some lemon extract and also use sf vanilla Dvinci's syrup 1/2c and 3/4 of splenda. I use a almond flour,walnut and pecan crust and baked it for an hour and 15 minutes at 350 and another 15 min at 300. This is a absolutely a awesome desert.
marsha_sam1020
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2008
Location: Crawfordville, GA
Posts: 63
Review Date: Sun October 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): best ever
Cons: can't stop at one piece

I have made this 2 times. I love it and my husband loves it. I usually eat a slice for breakfast. This taste just like real cheesecake. Will continue to make!!!
hpatchet
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue February 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great taste, easy to make, no major Splenda taste
Cons: if any... not very thick

So gooood!! Curbs my cravings, especially when I have PMS which will make me cheat if I'm not careful. I used 1/2 c Davinci's S.F. Vanilla and 3/4 c Splenda for the sweetener, I also had more batter than would fit in the glass pie plate so I filled cups like others have done. In the leftover batter I added 1-2 Tbsp cocoa powder, 1-2 Tbsp S.F. Chocolate syrup and 2 tsp instant coffee. I mixed that together until the coffee was dissolved... it was FANTASTIC. A mocha cheesecake... I'm making the whole thing a mocha next time, and oh YES there will be a next time. The worst thing is not being able to eat the whole pan at once. Smile
Review Date: Mon April 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Satisfies that sweet tooth!
Cons: Never make enough. :)

This def is the best low-carb cheesecake I have ever had. I will try it with a touch of lemon zest next time for NY style flavor. Also, it works very well with the Hazelnut Torte as a low carb crust in the Atkins New Quick and Easy Diet Cookbook. I have changed it to incorporate macadamia nuts, even almonds and they all taste great with this cheesecake.
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8663
Review Date: Mon April 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low in carbs
Cons: Not as good as I hoped

I hate to disagree with public opinion, since this is such a well reviewed recipe. I'm sorry if I offend anyone, but I made it last week for Easter dinner b/c all the reviews were so good. It was not good. I was expecting creamy and rich, and it was lumpy and flavorless. The texture wasn't good, and the flavor was bland, and that's after I added some lemon rind and topped with strawberries. The top browned instantly while cooking too. I'm thinking that's got to be from the packets of Splenda. The ingredients are expensive and I was so disappointed. I've made other cheesecakes from here that I will make again. I didn't use the water bath, wonder if that would have made all the difference? Sorry!
Review Date: Sat June 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): N/A
Cons: N/A

It's not allowing me to simply send a PM to julie so I'll have to post this here in regards to this recipe.


While I haven't made this recipe yet, I have some experience baking cheesecakes. As far as your concerns with the texture of the cheesecake (not creamy enough and lumpy) here are a couple things you can try if you decide to attempt this recipe in the future.


For the lumps, part of it might be insufficient mixing but one important note is to let all your ingredients get to room temperature first, especially the cream cheese as that will make a world of difference when it comes to mixing (and mean less chance of over mixing it as well).


Depending on your limitations as far as carbs/fat, one thing you might want to add if you want a slightly creamier texture is some heavy cream, for a non low carb recipe that I use that is mostly identical to this one, I use 3/4 of a cup of heavy cream though you may want to reduce it slightly as the recipe I use calls for 4 packages of cream cheese and not 3.


As far as being flavorless, that it shouldn't be even with splenda instead of sugar. Did it just have more of a cream cheese flavor instead of being sweeter like you might of expected? If thats the case you can try adding more splenda or reducing the amount of sour cream to allow more of the sweetness to shine through.


With the browning on top you can try reducing the temp to 350 and that should help quite a bit, also make sure the middle is still jiggly when it comes out, if your waiting till the entire cheesecake is set before turning the oven off, its probably been overcooked.


More then anything I will say the water bath will make a world of difference when baking a cheesecake and if you want a more proper texture, always make sure to let it cool properly (after the oven is off, leave it in for about another hour with the door slightly open, as it starts to reach room temperature put it in the fridge to chill, since it is a custard it does require some time to reach that perfect texture).
Review Date: Sun October 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and yummy - also very versatile
Cons:

OMG! This was great. Instead of packets of Splenda I used 2/3 cup bulk Splenda and 2/3 Davincis SF raspberry syrup. Beautiful color, wonderful flavor, not too heavy - delightful!
Review Date: Mon October 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I was wondering about a springform pan immersed in water for this cheese cake. Does the water leak in or do you bake without the pan of water please ? I'm itching to try this recipe and would buy a springform rather than a plain pan.Many thanks.
Cheers............Moira
muffin_maiden
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 557
Review Date: Sun October 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, few ingredients, adaptable
Cons: none

I found this recipe last year and since then, I have made it at least once per month. It is absolutely delicious and so easy! I don't use a springform pan; just a 9" pyrex pie plate in a bain marie. I get all sorts of flavored extracts and use them to make different flavors. My favorites so far are banana (tastes like banana cream pie!!) and lemon.


One tip: take your time with the mixing, until it is almost liquidy and it will bake up to be thick, dense, and creamy all at once!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.