Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
24 Wed November 2, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.7












Description:
Ingredients: 4 eggs
1-1/2 cups cream
2 cups cheese
salt & pepper to taste
How To Prepare: I saw this basic recipe from a post that Brenabonn posted and realized later that it wasn't in the Recipe Room. This is THE BEST quiche recipe that I've ever had. Add whatever else you want to the basic recipe -- build your own!!


Grease the bottom of baking dish with butter. Sprinkle cheese on bottom of pan (I don't think I did this and it was still great.) Mix together eggs and cream and whatever else you want to dump in. Pour over cheese.


Bake uncovered at 400 for 15 minutes. Lower temp to 350 and bake another 30 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before slicing.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


UltraViolet
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: July 2003
Location: A Portland Forest
Posts: 6457
Review Date: Sat February 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Really easy to make and customize
Cons:

I just made this and am eating it now and it's so good !
I added cut up sausage links, a little green onion and I used a mixture of shredded cheeses. I also tossed in garlic powder, salt, and fresh cracked black pepper.
My hubby loves it too !
Review Date: Mon February 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is awesome
Cons:

Review Date: Sat February 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Is this safe for Induction?????
Review Date: Thu April 22, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and very good!
Cons: None

I added ham, brocolli, peppers, onions...it was really good!
horseyladyct
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 815
Review Date: Fri July 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy....I added frozen mixed veggies to it!
Cons:

linda58tx
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue September 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): it is simple and delicious
Cons:

YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS RECIPE----IT IS SO SIMPLE TO MAKE. THE CHEESE ON THE BOTTOM MAKES A DELICIOUS CRUST WHILE IT ALSO MELTS THROUGH THIS QUICHE.
TURNS OUT REAL BROWN AND TASTES GREAT. Y
javalishus
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
Posts: 44
Review Date: Sun November 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): deliscious basic recipe
Cons: nothing

The foundation of great quiche. I used 1 C Swiss, 1 C sharp cheddar. Add 1 C chopped raw mushrooms, 1 C diced ham, 1 C diced green onion. Only 4.5 carbs per serving if cut in 8 portions. I had seconds!
Alison Jean 71
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2439
Review Date: Fri January 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious
Cons: none

I have been making this for about a year now and I love it. Sometimes I add chopped green chiles or jalapenos or sometimes diced ham with diced bell peppers and sliced mushrooms. You can add just about anything to it. I usually make one every week and my whole family loves it.
Review Date: Mon January 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Delicious
Cons: none

I used this recipe as a starting point but added so many ingredients that I actually made two deep dish pie size Quiches. I used 10 eggs, a full pound of fried bacon pieces,2 cups cheese, 1 1/2 c. cream, 10 oz fresh spinach(cook with water til it wilts before adding),and sauteed mushrooms,salt and pepper. I couldn't believe how quick it was to make such a delicious meal. My whole family loved it. I will be making a variation of this regularly.
A58Doozie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Location: MT
Posts: 67
Review Date: Mon February 21, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantastic
Cons: none

Fast, easy, tasted great!
I added diced ham, onion and a little frozen, drained, squeezed spinach and a little nutmeg.
I will make this again and try different ingredients like fried bacon and drained canned clams.
Review Date: Mon March 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, lots of variety options
Cons:

I like that you can make a pan of this quiche on a sunday and have breakfast ready to go for a few days in a row. Great for the working gal! Gets me out of the house faster in the morning!
VegasJosie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: Las Vegas. NV
Posts: 148
Review Date: Fri January 6, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

I added swiss cheese,green pepper, onion, cubed ham and broccoli - very good
createart
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 317
Review Date: Sat September 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful!
Cons:

So so so good! I added bacon and ham, and for the cheese I used a mix of mild and sharp cheddar and parmesan. It's absolutely wonderful! This would be perfect to take to a brunch or office breakfast. I think everyone- low-carbin' or not- will love this!
MI CHICK
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: great lakes state
Posts: 499
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great
Cons: none

Baked up so nice. Soft & moist & I can see how easily you could do many things to this basic recipe. This time I used 1/2C ea of sour cream & cream, with water added to cream to make up the full 1 1/2C between these 2. Added 1 can crab & some Old Bay seasoning. Swiss cheese on the bottom. Yummy! Dh really liked too.
SusanKH
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 16
Review Date: Fri May 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and versatile - reheats well
Cons:

I added canned crab meat (the real stuff,not the fake) and some canned artichokes. It was fabulous!
Review Date: Tue September 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Versatile
Cons: None

Very good base quiche recipe. I've been looking for a 'crustless' recipe and this is great, with using the cheese on the bottom. I added a cup of baked ham, a cup of mushrooms and a cup of scallions in addition to a cup of red fat cheddar and a cup of full fat swiss. I also added in some thyme and dried mustard. Delish! My only "change" on this was to add 1 cup of cream instead of 1 1/2 as with 4 large eggs, it seemed like way too much and it turned out perfect. Thank you for sharing!
lowcarbs4me
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: August 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 1343
Review Date: Sun December 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, easy, easy and everyone LOVES it!
Cons: none

Excellent. Making it again for the family--and we just had it 3 nights ago. It was that good.
filmpnk
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 89
Review Date: Mon April 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): super easy
Cons: none

i don't know how it's possible considering everyone in my family is a huge lover of the quiche, but I had never made one until this recipe. I put in fresh garlic, basil, broccoli, jalepenos (fresh), mushrooms, ham, kilbasa, along w/ fresh romano & a teeny thyme. Mozarella + chedd w/ a little chili powder on the bottom. Served with home-made salmon "crabcakes". Great recipe!! I reduced the cream to one cup along w/ 1/4 c. h20.
Dovelette
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1894
Review Date: Mon April 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious, fluffy, mosit, versital
Cons: Um...it only lasted one meal since we were pigs and ate it all up

I make quiche all the time and have tried many recipes. Both me and hubby agree this is by far and away the best! We used 2c of Edam cheese, carmelized onions, tarragon, salt and pepper. VERY simple, VERY delicious. Will be making again very very soon.
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon August 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super Easy and Tastes Great
Cons: None!

I thought this recipe would taste just like all of the other breakfast casseroles that I've made, but it was MUCH better! I fried up ham and onions an added them to the egg mixture. The whole family loved it. I asked my non low carb husband how he would like it next time and he said bigger!
Review Date: Wed August 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Here's a novice question, what size pan should I use?
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu August 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I used a 9 inch pie tin and cooked on a cookie sheet. It was super puffy when it came out of the oven, but then deflated and looked normal.
Review Date: Sun August 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): absolutely delish
Cons: none

This was the best Quiche, and I made it with (Costco Kirkland Bacon bits) and cheddar cheese and a small amount of frozen spinach.....Fabulous Taste!!!
Nana Lee/MA
love_cats_magnet-.jpg

Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 407
Review Date: Wed November 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Here are the nutritional listings for this. I added 1/2 Tbs butter.
Serving Size: 1 (197 g)


Servings Per Recipe: 4


Amount Per Serving
% Daily Value
Calories 532.9

Calories from Fat 429
80%
Total Fat 47.7 g
73%
Saturated Fat 28.4 g
142%
Cholesterol 325.4 mg
108%
Sodium 659.9 mg
27%
Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
2%
Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
0%
Sugars 0.2 g
1%
Protein 19.3 g
38%


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.