Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
21 Thu April 4, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers None indicated 9.2












Description:
Ingredients: 1 tsp. Yeast
3/4 cup Vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup Soy flour
1/3 cup Ground flaxseed
2 tbsp Splenda
1 tbsp Butter
1 egg
1/2 cup water
How To Prepare: Combine ingredients into 1 pound model bread machine in order provided. Select 'light' browning setting. This is a very, very delicious bread, not heavy at all. During the last 15-20 minutes of baking time the BM lid may raise slightly....the bread will still bake beautifully and the lid will lower when cooking is complete. I make this bread once a week and it's fabulous!!
Number of Servings: 12
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 3-4
Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Sun March 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very tasty break
Cons: think it only needs 1 kneading, going to try that next time

Bread was a little heavy, but I think 1 kneading just might solve this problem. Really tasty bread.
Review Date: Mon April 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Tried raising after 1 kneading and it worked perfectly. Also added 1 tbs. garlic powder and a few shakes of Italian seasonings and it make quite an impressive pizza crust.
Magnolia
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: June 2002
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 15976
Review Date: Thu May 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great texture
Cons: none

Probably the best low carb bread I have ever tasted:D:D It is great to have a bacon butty again!!!
Review Date: Fri May 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Is this bread good for use with hamburgers. You know it is grilling season, I want to at least enjoy a hamburger or two this summer with out the bad flour.
sososo
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 153
Review Date: Sun January 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so easy so quick so good
Cons: absolutly none

Wow, this is Very Best Bread ever!!!!
Review Date: Thu April 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: a bit chewy

This bread was pretty easy to make. I thought it turned out a bit chewy-like, and the taste is something I would seriously have to get used to. I think the flaxseed and soy flour might be a little overpowering.
leykon
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Location: Sask.Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat April 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The best I've made,light and good tasteing
Cons: none

Thanks for sharing
Review Date: Fri August 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy, few ingredients
Cons: thought it was a bit chewy

cah5790
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: June 2002
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 1056
Review Date: Tue November 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy, ingredients on hand
Cons:

This is the best bread recipe I've ever found!!!
DonnaD40
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 616
Review Date: Thu May 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): was easy
Cons:

I think this recipe was good. It has good flavor & isnt a real heavy bread like alot of other low carb ones I have tried. I did mix it in my machine, but baked it in the oven because my machine is a 2lb one & it burns smaller loaves.
Pam
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: October 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1028
Review Date: Sat June 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Light, good tasting. Easy.
Cons: Slightly chewy....but not enough to matter.

I think this would make a GREAT hamburger bun!
Review Date: Mon January 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy tasting!
Cons: Not a big enough loaf!!

I used this for loosemeats while the fam was using real buns, I had the best sandwich there!! Thanks for sharing!
Pleiades
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2006
Location: OBX, NC
Posts: 2193
Review Date: Sun May 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, light
Cons: A bit sweet

I am so glad I tried this bread! I didn't make it in the bread machine, because I was afraid of over-kneading. It came out great, and even DH liked it. Next time, I'm going to use garlic powder in place of half the Splenda. I have some slices left over that I'm going to make French toast out of.
Review Date: Sun February 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make
Cons: Chewy

I put extra butter in it. Its soo good. Especially when you eat it with some soup. I also make it as a pizza crust with a little italian seasoning. YUM. My husband even eats it .. and he isn't low carbing
Review Date: Sat March 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of flavor and same consistancy as real bread
Cons: A little chewy

OK, this is my favorite recipe on LowCarb Friends. I make it once a week. I add a little more butter, garlic powder, onion powder and sometimes I throw a little shredded sharp cheddar in it. Its SO good. Last night I cut the remainder of the loaf I made last Wednesday into bite size piece and I toasted them in the oven on a cookie sheet. In a small dip bowl, I combine olive oil and Alessis seasoning and dipped the bread in the oil mixture. It is DELICIOUS as an appetizer and the bread isn't as chewy when it's toasted. My husband ate the whole thing!!! I only make this bread in my bread machine.
creativelc
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 101
Review Date: Sat January 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Better than any LC bread I have purchased.
Cons:

I am really enjoying this bread! I made some small changes to the recipe: I used 1/8c soy flour, plus 1/8 cup of almond flour in place of the 1/4 c of soy flour. I added 2 tblsp. of a light olive oil, besides the 1 tblsp. of softened butter called for in the above recipe. I added a tsp. of fresh lemon juice so the bread wouldn't be sweet. I added 1 small packet of regular sugar, and 1 packet of splenda instead of the 2 tblsp. of splenda. I also added 1 tsp. of kosher salt, and 2 tblsp. of my vanilla whey protein powder because my book called for some dry milk powder in their recipes. Finally, I increased the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp. to help the bread rise. The rest of the ingredients, I did not change.
I added the ingredients to my bread maker in the order recommended, and warmed the water as suggested also. The smell of baking bread soon filled the air. After the loaf cooled down, I sliced the crusty end off, then toasted and buttered it. Yummm... The result exceeded my expectations.
Alajane
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 174
Review Date: Tue July 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes Great
Cons:

DD got a new breadmaker and was trying out recipes--so glad she found this one because I couldn't find any bread less than 5 net carb grams--and this tastes much better than the purchased bread!
kudzu
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 167
Review Date: Fri December 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice flavor and texture
Cons: None

I made this today and thought it was great! I subbed Carbquik for the soy flour and olive oil for the butter, added a pinch of salt, and added one teaspoon of brown sugar to help the yeast do its thing. No bread machine here, so I let my Kitchen Aid mixer do the kneading and baked for 35 minutes at 380 degrees, after letting the dough rise for about 45 min.
IamMoni64
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2013
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun February 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This bread is awesome! Question, though - could I substitute Coconut Flour for the Soy Flour?
tjsinphx
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2013
Location: Metro Phoenix
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon March 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Would you say this bread is sturdy enough to soak in egg for French Toast?
kudzu
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 167
Review Date: Thu April 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I think this would work well for french toast. Definitely worth a try.


I've recently started doubling the yeast, and letting the dough rise for about an hour and a half. It rises much higher this way. This bread is so good.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.