Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


IMG_0381.JPG

 
Reviews Date of last review
8 Tue February 7, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6
IMG_0381.JPG


IMG_0381.JPG
supersize









Description: I got this recipe from Francis Lam's column. I make it 2-3 times a week, we love it. I prefer the flavor of spinach over the kale. They turn out tissue paper thin, but give me that salty crunch that I miss. I love it with the smoked paprika the recipe says to sprinkle on spices after they have baked but I usually do it before.
Ingredients: Fresh spinach leaves or kale, flat or curly kind. Olive oil. Salt. Smoked paprika or other spices
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 275. If using kale hold thick stem between two fingers and strip the leaf from the stem; if the stem is thick through the middle of the leaf, it's better to strip it so the leaf comes apart in two pieces. If using spinach do the same if the stem is thick. Baby spinach is fine as is. Toss the leaves with a splash of olive oil enough to just lightly coat the leaves. If using kale give th leaves a nice rub with your fingers to get the oil all over them. Season lightly with salt, as the leaves dehydrate they'll shrink so the chips will taste much saltier than when they go in. Lay leaves flat on a baking sheet, don't overlap them but they can be close to each other. Bake until they are dried, crisp and crackly with no chewiness left about 30 minutes for kale, 20 for spinach. Don't bake too long they will get brown and too intense in flavor. Once they are done you can lightly sprinkle with spices, store in an airtight container.
Number of Servings: depends how much you make!
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: per 2 3/4 cups of spinach, 1 gram net carbs
Preparation Time: 30 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): easy
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 5
Registered: February 2011
Location: Silver Spring, MD



Review Date: Tue March 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, EASY, delicious!
Cons:

Oh my gosh these are so good! I used baby spinach and I cannot get over how fabulous this is. I think I used a wee too much EVOO because mine had to cook for about 30 minutes but it is so worth it! My new fave!
Just Jan
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2011
Location: Small Town, ON, Canada
Posts: 4
Review Date: Sat May 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I do this all the time with kale but never thought to do it with spinach. I can't wait to try it!
ImRain
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 16
Review Date: Wed May 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons: none

Whole family love it, thumbs way up!
Review Date: Tue May 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I used garlic salt for the seasoning and got a little too much so it was salty, but definitely something new and different! Thanks!!
Review Date: Thu May 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy
Cons: none

i love these things, cant keep my ten year old out of them ! i spray them with olive oil pam though.
iamfaithful
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 1719
Review Date: Fri June 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I layer mine in my dehydrator- thanks for the reminder- will get kale next trip in town...Yummmm!
weazy1
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat February 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and Easy
Cons: none

These turned out great. Definitely cured that salty craving. Will try them in the dehydrator next time.
pelicanlady
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2002
Location: Green Valley, AZ
Posts: 756
Review Date: Tue February 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy
Cons: none

I've tried using the kale and jicama before with bad results. The baby spinach was great. To me taste like the brown edges of a potato chip. I think I will try putting cinnamon and splenda on next time. Thanks for posting this.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.