Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


GEDC0437.JPG

 
Reviews Date of last review
18 Sat April 13, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 8.4
GEDC0437.JPG


GEDC0437.JPG
supersize

GEDC0431.JPG
supersize








Description: I am addicted to these. They taste like pumpkin pie and keep me full for hours. I love pumpkin pie and decided to add all the ingredients and cook it like an omelette. The results where surprising.


I make the mix the night before and put it in a ziplock bag to cook in the morning. Be sure to squeeze out all of the air from the bag before you seal it.


*To make this right you will need some omelette flipping skills.


**Update** I purchased the Joie Microwave Omelet Pot and now I can cook the mix in less than 2 minutes. It comes out great and I can take it to work too.
Ingredients: 4 large eggs, 1/2 cup canned pumpkin, 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream, 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice and/or cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/4 cup splenda (I use 12 drops of EZ Sweetz), 1 tsp molasses(optional, adds 2.5 carbs per serving), pinch of salt
How To Prepare: Add all the ingredients to a bowl and beat with a fork or wire whisk until smooth(do not mix or blend, it will be hard to flip). Heat a 10" omelette pan to medium/low heat then oil the pan(oil seems to make it easier to flip than butter). Add the mixture until it touches the edges of the pan. let it set a few minutes until firm and slides around the pan easily. Flip it to over (without touching it, use your wrist) and cook about 30 more seconds or so. Slide it onto a plate and have a cup of whipped cream handy for dipping(I make my own with Splenda and heavy whipping cream). Repeat one more time for the remaining mix.
Number of Servings: 2
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: About 6 carbs each or 3.5 without the molasses
Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 2
Registered: April 2008



Bazmom
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 434
Review Date: Mon May 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: Really hard to flip over, even as small pancakes.

I LOVE this!!!! I love pumpkin pie, and needed something different for breakfast - this was perfect! I did substitute 6 packets of Truvia for the sweetener, and it worked just fine.


The only problem I had was flipping it over. I finally tried making small pancakes, but for some reason still had trouble flipping them over. But they taste so good I don't care how they look! Half the time they come out like scrambled pumpkin pie eggs, but that's OK with me! Smile
sarahsmile11
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 75
Review Date: Mon January 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes great!
Cons:

A great sweet treat in the morning! I followed the recipe as stated (cut in half for one serving), except that I used a couple of packets of Splenda for the sweetener and ommitted the molasses. I mixed everything up in a bowl and poured the contents into a small omelette pan. Over low heat, I waited until the edges set and then cooked the mixture like scrambled eggs...but with a lot less stirring. This did look a little weird on my plate (pumpkin pie scrambled eggs??!!), but the flavor was great...not "eggy" at all. Very quick to cook once mixed, and no having to flip over an omelette! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Butterflystar
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2011
Location: Upper Sandusky, OHIO
Posts: 21
Review Date: Sun January 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make..tastes awesome!
Cons:

I was wanting something sweet and found this recipe..I tastes so good even though it looks awful in the bowl when you are making it. I used a small skillet and this made 3 good size omlelettes. Next time I will cut it in half to make 1 serving..This recipe is gonna be a keeper for me.
Lizzy K
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Posts: 580
Review Date: Fri February 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious baked!
Cons:

After reading reviews, I was skeptical of my ability to flip this in the pan. I opted for buttering a pie plate (I halved the recipe) and baking it in my convection oven at 400 for about 10 minutes (until the sides start to rise and the edges get golden.) It was great! held up like a pancake and tasted a bit like pumpkin custard. I served it with cream cheese. Yum.
fireravensees
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2011
Location: wyoming
Posts: 10
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

a good change. i get sick of plain eggs
Review Date: Tue April 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes great
Cons: hard to flip

I thought this tasted great, but can someone explain to me how it has so few carbs? I used 4 eggs, 1/3 c. pumpkin (17 net carbs per 1/3 cup), 1/4 c. heavy whipping cream (1 net carb per 1tbsp), 1.5 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 c. splenda. If I add that correctly.. it's 21 carbs.. so i probably made about 1/3 of the batter so that makes my meal 7 carbs plus the carbs from the whipped cream. I am completely new to this, so maybe I'm doing something wrong? Is there some other kind of pumpkin I should of gotten? Can anyone help?
rickyinhonolulu
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sat April 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I use Libby's canned pumpkin and I only has 4 net carbs per 1/2 cup. You must have some kind of sweetened pumpkin pie filling.
Review Date: Sun April 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): sounds great :)
Cons:

has anyone subbed the heavy cream for soy milk?? no dairy for me.... also any dairy free recipes out there ready for post ? Smile thanx a mill
Review Date: Wed April 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): my husband and I both loved it
Cons:

It was the first recipe I tried, now I have a whole lot more to try. This is our second time on the Atkins diet. The first my husband was successful and lost 55 Lbs in 7 months. This time all he needs to loose is about 25 more pounds. Thanks for the reciepts and the last time Atkins Center never posted any receipts. Again, I want to thank you for these pages as they will be very helpful.
Rosalie Menist
Zephyrhills, Florida
victoryplease
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2011
Location: Crestone, Colorado
Posts: 11
Review Date: Fri June 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great taste, kept me full for hours!
Cons: not an attractive presentation

I'm a great omelette maker, even with a special 'omelette only' skillet, and really had trouble getting these to turn out. What helped was switching to oil in the skillet [I put butter on top of mine after cooked], adding more batter to the pan per pancake, and cooking till NEARLY burnt/toasted on the first side. REGARDLESS, the taste was great, and I can't believe how filling these are! Even my insanley-pickey 3 year old couldn't get enough! THANK YOU!!
Review Date: Mon July 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty, filling, low carb/high protein
Cons:

In general a very good recipe. I ended up halving the Splenda and the Molasses, and adding 1 Tbsp of ground flax seed, and 2Tbsp of Soy flour to improve the texture a bit and make it easier to flip Smile
It was so nice to find an alternative to scrambled eggs or omlette for breakfast on the Atkins diet !
LowCarbChick
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2002
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 379
Review Date: Tue October 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So tasty and filling!
Cons: None!

I just made these after finding this recipe and I just loved them...I also shared some with my hubby and he also loved them and said I should make these more often! I had read they were hard to flip over, so I made sure to use non-stick pan and lots of Pam cooking spray and they worked fine for me. I used half of a splenda quick pack and also added a little maple extract as well and they were great...I didn't even need syrup! Thank you for this wonderfully easy recipe!
Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low Carb and VERY good
Cons: none

These are great! It's the best mock pancake recipe I've tried and my new favorite breakfast food.
Review Date: Tue November 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great flavor and easy to put together
Cons: Flipping

Really enjoyed these and am going to try as waffels.
Review Date: Sun December 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): flavor
Cons: carbs are high from the Pumpkin 13 in one cup so 6.5 in this recipe

low carb
Review Date: Thu February 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): versatile
Cons:

If you like pumpkin, I highly recommend giving this a try. I mostly followed the recipe. I reduced the sweetner to 4 packets of nectresse (which has molasses) and I didn't have heavy whipping cream. So I substituted 2TBS of whole milk. I cooked them in a 6 inch non-stick skillet sprayed with Pam over low-medium heat. Once in the skillet, My batter was probably 1/8 to 1/4 thick, I sprinkled some crushed pecans on top and cooked until the edges were set and the batter had craters. Flipped beautifully,like a normal pancake. This made 4 pancakes. I furthar enjoyed this recipe by making a pumpkin roll by topping with 1TBS of cream cheese mixed with 1packet of splenda and a splash of vanilla extract spread onto my pancake and rolled into a log. Delicious!! Next, I'll try this recipee plus 8 ounces of cream cheese to make a pumpkin cheesecake in custard cups with crushed pecans on the bottom of each!
Review Date: Sat February 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is IMPOSSIBLE to flip. A giant mess every time. Im sure in theory it tastes great, but I didnt have the opportunity to find out.... Im a great cook, and consider myself able to master just about anything. WHAT DID I DO WRONG HERE????
BigRolliePollie
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2013
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 37
Review Date: Sat April 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I am confused...do you use Splenda packets or Granular Splenda?


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.