Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


144733IMG_0233_resized.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
12 Mon February 27, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 9.4
144733IMG_0233_resized.jpg


144733IMG_0233_resized.jpg
supersize









Description: I love meat and potatos, but of course cannot eat potatos on low carb. This is my version of an old-fashioned, beef-hash casserole made with cauliflower. Believe it or not, it has the same mouth feel as potatos. I have included the carb count for my ingredients.
Ingredients: 16 Ounces of Cauliflower Florets (10 carbs)
4 Cups of Beef Broth (Zero Carbs)
2 Pounds of Ground Beef (Zero Carbs)
8 Ounces of Grated Cheddar Cheese (3 carbs—grate your own to save carbs)
6 eggs (1.5 carbs)
½ cup of Mayonnaise (Zero Carbs)
¼ of Cream (2 Carbs)
1 teaspoon of onion powder (2 Carbs)
½ teaspoon of garlic powder (1 Carb)
Salt and Pepper to taste ** See Note
How To Prepare: Place cauliflower in a large, Dutch oven or deep pan, and cover with broth. Set burner to high. When mixture begins to boil, reduce heat to medium, cover and simmer for 20 minutes until cauliflower is very tender. Drain and set aside. The cauliflower will have a brown color to it like potatoes do when they roast in beef broth.


Brown and crumble ground beef. Drain grease and rinse to reduce fat if you would like. Add back to pan and stir in cauliflower. At this point, it will even look like hash (and does not taste half bad either). Add onion and garlic powder and black pepper to taste. (**Do not salt until you taste it because there is a lot of salt in the broth and in the process of cooking the cauliflower you have reduced the broth and intensified the salt.)


Beat six eggs until creamy. Add mayo and cream and ½ of the cheese. Mix well to combine.


Pour beef mixture into baking pan. Be sure it has slightly cooled so it doesn’t cook your eggs. Pour egg mixture over top and stir to evenly distribute.


Sprinkle remaining half of cheese over top.


Bake 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes. Because all ovens vary, check after 30 minutes To test that eggs are cooked through, insert a knife. It should come out clean. Allow to stand 10 minutes before serving.
Number of Servings: 8
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Less than 3 per serving to the best of my knowledge
Preparation Time: 1 hour (including baking)
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


ksj123
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 16
Review Date: Sat July 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful/Easy
Cons: None

My husband use to make something simular to this using potatoes. This was much better. He said he had rather have this anyday. It was good, and even better the next day. A keeper!
mshumblepi314
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2010
Location: Punta Gorda, Florida
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon August 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I loved this recipe! I did tweak it a bit. I added freshly steamed green beans and instead of 1/4 cup cream, I added 1/2cup...The mashed cauliflower certainly has the mashed potato constitency. LOVED IT! Packed up some to take for lunch tomorrow at work as Rachel Ray would say, "yummo"!
mshumblepi314
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2010
Location: Punta Gorda, Florida
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon August 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Loved this recipe.. But added 1/2cup of cream instead of 1/4th. Also added freshly steamed green beans with the mashed cauliflower! Also broiled it for about 2 mins at the end to get the cheese a little cruchy...Already packed some to take for lunch tomorrow.
Christina C.
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2008
Location: Maumelle, AR
Review Date: Sat August 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons:

I love this recipe! I was looking for a few easy to make recipes to cook my husband for lunch and I wasn't expecting this to be so good. It makes enough for leftovers the next day and no one complains because it's so good. This is going to be a staple until I can find something else to try. Thanks!
Crazy Cat
ticker november.png

Major LCF Poster!

Registered: January 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 2136
Review Date: Sat February 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is one of the first LC recipes I've tried. The first time I made it I overcooked the cauliflower so it was a little mushy. It was much better the second time, more like chunks of potato. I also added a little more cream, and more onion and garlic powder. Great recipe!
Lucky4
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: August 2004
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2652
Review Date: Sat March 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty, very easy to make
Cons: A little high calorie if that matters

I did double the cream from comments of others and my serving portion came to about 345 calories. This is a wonderful dish and excellent for potluck dinners. I hope to make several batches to freeze for quick re-heats. Thanks--very nice recipe!
Joedi
auPip1.png

Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2011
Location: England
Posts: 1481
Review Date: Mon April 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): really simple to make..no fancy ingredients
Cons: cant think of any!

Made half the mixture as I hadn't tried it before...it made 4 portions, perfect for me, dh and two teenagegs ds's.
Kids ate it in two minutes, both declaring it delicious, and after first bite dh said "this is the best mince dish I have ever tasted!"
A total keeper, will make double next time.
hardrain
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 308
Review Date: Tue May 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy w ingredients you probably have
Cons: None

All I can say is that my husband loved it. He didn't even think it was cauliflower so I didn't tell him otherwise. Only had a lb of hamburger on hand so I halved it, although I'm sure I used a lot more cheese. Anyway, this will be in the rotation for certain.
Review Date: Wed June 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: Time consuming

Sorry guys,I made this tonight and it didn't have a lot of flavor. I halved the recipe for the two of us,did like some and added a bite more cream.I used sharp cheddar and it still needed something. Hubby did eat a second and third helping after he liberally sprinkled his with Frank's Hot sauce. We have enough for lunch tomorrow but don't think I'll be making this again.
Teebee
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 3
Review Date: Fri July 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious easy to prepare
Cons: none

Great recipe and delcicous. I also did 1/2 cup cream. I added some onion to the cauliflour mix and mashed it in the stock before draining. Also added a small amount of peas, corn and carrot. Mixture makes a huge quantity so plenty of left overs. When nearly brown I sprinkled some Paremeson cheese (from the tin) on top for a nice crunch finish and baked for another 5-10 minutes. Family loved it
PoWdA
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2010
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 286
Review Date: Mon January 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Filling!
Cons:

I give it a 9. I am going to try adding the cheese on a little later in the process in the hopes that it isn't crunchy. I like my cheese to be stringy and melty not crispy like that. Still, as it is, I really can't complain. I will make again!
Review Date: Mon February 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): A different taste and texture for a change :)
Cons: Still has lots of eggs...i eat so many eggs...

Made this exactly per the directions and I was pleased with the end result. My husband also liked it. We have more packed for lunch tomorrow. Smile


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.