Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


106161bread.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
18 Sun March 17, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 7.0
106161bread.jpg


106161bread.jpg
supersize

106161bread1.jpg
supersize








Description: One of THE best LC breads I have I ever made before!! Very easy and it's made in a bread maker. What more could you ask for? Easy peasy, AND great tasting!!
Ingredients: Breadmaker LC Bread


1 tsp Yeast
1 cup Vital wheat gluten(bob's red mill)
1/4 cup Whey Isolate Protein Powder
1/3 cup Ground almond Meal
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp. Splenda
1 tbsp. butter
1 egg
1/2 cup water
How To Prepare: Add ingredients to bread maker in order from bottom to top as listed. I baked this bread on the 'light' setting. The bread may lift the breadmaker lid slightly during the last 20 minutes of baking. It will shrink ONLY slightly and the lid will reclose after baking is complete. This bread is awesome and is the BEST that i've ever tasted since doing Atkins. Let me know what you think. No ugly, clumpy, tasteless bread here!!
Number of Servings: 10 nice sized slices
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 2-3 carbs per slice
Preparation Time: 2 hours in Bread Maker
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Daddy's Girl
 
Posts: 8,125
Registered: September 2005
Location: Vancouver Canuck Land!!!



Review Date: Sun February 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: too sweet

I tried this recipe and I thought it was way too sweet. Question for the poster you dont say what cycle to put this on. I put this on rapid bake. also turned out a little too spongy. Would like to try this again with less splenda also need to know what cycle.
Review Date: Mon February 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy to make nice taste for a low carb bread
Cons:

I tried this recipe yesterday and needed some more info from the poster. Tried it again today used 1/2 less splenda and put it on rapid setting little over an hour turned out great! rated a 3 yesterday today a 10!!!
Review Date: Mon February 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great tasting
Cons: none

modified used suggestions from last poster
cdn_gal
Daddy's Girl

Registered: September 2005
Location: Vancouver Canuck Land!!!
Posts: 8125
Review Date: Sat February 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Sorry guys, forgot about this.
Yes, I used the rapid setting, as kneading it twice will break down the gluten (needed to make it rise).
Some people use the bread machine to mix it, then turn it out into a greased bread pan to rise once, then bake it in the oven.. You can also substitute the ground almonds, for ground flax meal, for even less calories if you like. I used the almond meal because I enjoyed the "nutty" kind of flavor it gave...
Review Date: Sun March 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The taste and texture is GREAT
Cons: none

Smile
Review Date: Thu March 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

do you think if I added more butter I could turn this into an Easter type sweet bread?
ayates03
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 7
Review Date: Thu March 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I'm new to low carb and I want to know where to find all these special ingredients.
PMoon
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 404
Review Date: Sat April 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

The breadmaker I have says you have to put in ingredients in the opposite order of yours (wet first, yeast last.) Do you think it would be alright to do it upside down in my breadmaker?
ElizaJane57
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed November 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): different
Cons: spongy

I made this today, it was very spongy, I used the med crust setting next time will use the light, I used the rapid setting, but it still turned out spongy.
Maybe it was still too warm when I sliced it. Will try it again though.
I think I will use flax next time instead of almond.
Review Date: Tue January 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Toasts Really Well
Cons: A Bit Spongy For Sure

I am just getting the hang of this site and tried this over the weekend... Not as good tasting as store bread and a little spongy but sure a lot less carbs which is what matters right now. I used a two pound loaf machine and think the recipe should be doubled for that size as I got two double fist size muffins instead of a loaf. I did not think it excessively sweet.
WClock
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: California (Central coast)
Posts: 25
Review Date: Thu February 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty
Cons: A bit chewy

I made this with 1 packet of Splenda instead of 2 Tbsps and used Flax meal instead of almond meal. I also used half and half olive oil/butter. I let it mix only in the breadmaker and took it out and put it in a greased loaf pan to rise and then baked it at 380 degrees for about 40 minutes. It's a little chewy, but tastes pretty good. I think it will be fine toasted.
Luddy
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 28
Review Date: Mon July 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lighter than LC Almond Breads
Cons: Too Sweet

Decent LC bread but needs some tweaking.
razorbackmama
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 159
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

What size loaf does this make?
Review Date: Sat March 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): 1
Cons:

This is the very best LC bread my husband and I have tried. I saw this yesterday and had to try it. I am impressed, as I did not think I would ever find one. Thanks for the recipe.
petalpusher49
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun March 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I've tried this several times using my bread maker setting it on 1-11/2 lb setting which is 2hrs.40 min.It never rises just a clump of dough, what am I doing wrong.
Review Date: Wed August 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): as close to real bread as I've found so far
Cons: slightly chewy

OMG! I've missed bread so much and this is pretty darn good. I'm going to double the recipe next time because even using the Rapid cycle, it made such a small loaf, less than half the 2 lb pan size. Thanks so very very much! A Low carber from Ontario.
DianaC
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2013
Review Date: Sat March 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I make this bread every week for my son and I. This has been a staple since Julian Bakery changed their recipe on the Smart Carb #1 bread many months ago. This chased us to this forum to find a bread alternative!
Review Date: Sun March 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): looks like real bread
Cons: very little taste

Having made my own whole wheat bread for years, not having the bread smell like hot baked bread was a disappointment but not unexpected. I love the chewiness of it. Now I can make a roast beef sandwhich with all the fixings. The fact that it looks like real bread is a psychological plus. Mind over matter. Thanks to whomever submitted this recipe.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.