Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
41 Sat April 13, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
98% of reviewers $1.75 9.3












Description: Muffin in a Minute (suitable for Induction)


Serving Size: 1


***I leave out the splenda, add 1/4 cup canned pumpkin and nuke it for 3 minutes. You can experiment with herbs and seasonings.....others have suggested mashed cauliflower and feta cheese for example....so good! They aren't kidding about soaking the cooking container right away cause it will turn to concrete.
Ingredients: 1/4 cup flax meal
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 packet splenda packet
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 large egg
1 teaspoon butter
How To Prepare: Put the dry ingredients in a coffee mug. Or a bowl for a different shape.


Stir.


Then add the egg and the butter. Mix.


Microwave 1 minute (or more). Take out. slice, butter, eat. Set mug to soak immediately.


Cream cheese would go nicely, too.
Number of Servings: 1
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Notes: 1.5 net carbs. Per serving: 235 Calories; 18g Fat (63% calories from fat); 12g Protein; 11g Carbohydrate; 9.5 g. fiber; 223mg Cholesterol; 284mg Sodium
Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
weight.png
Major LCF Poster!
 
Posts: 1,891
Registered: January 2009



Galveston Gal
1112131133.jpg

Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2008
Location: Galveston Island, TX
Posts: 473
Review Date: Mon February 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Taste---High Fiber
Cons: ------

For my personal variation, I substitute EVOO for the butter + add 1Tbsp heavy cream + 1Tbsp Vanilla EAS Protein Powder...allow to sit for 3 minutes,then with a teaspoon..spoon equally into a 12 mini muffin flexible pan(makes it simple to pop them out after baking, no need to sparay the pan). Then push 1/2 English Walnut into each one. Cover whole pan with parchment paper(prevents top from burning in the little toaster oven!)...bake @ 350 for 12 Min. "Frost" with Cream cheese (2Tbsp)sweetened with 2 packets of Splenda. Then SLOWLY Enjoy every Delicious, Delicate, Delightful Bite! Feels like MORE when divided in the small portions! :-)
jannyjo
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2005
Location: Henrico, VA
Posts: 10
Review Date: Fri February 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This was very good. The second time I tweaked a bit subbing 1/8c almond meal for half the flax meal, then I used 1pkt Truvia rather than splenda, pumpkin pie spice (couldn't find the cinnamon) and 1.5 t butter. I noticed the extra butter kept it from sticking to my corningware bowl and it was easy to clean, no immediate soak needed.
Houston Heather
Guest

Registered: June 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 9853
Review Date: Sun November 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I made one and devoured it. My husband wanted one, and loved it. This will become a "memory" recipe. Thanks!
WClock
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2010
Location: California (Central coast)
Posts: 25
Review Date: Thu February 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It was quick and easy.
Cons: I thought it could be a little sweeter.

I made this using all almond meal because that's all I had. It was good and so EASY! However, I like my muffins a little sweeter, so I'm going to double the Splenda on my next try.
Angelad653
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 165
Review Date: Wed March 3, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy. very tasty, easily tweeked to taste :)
Cons:

I think adding a little extra splenda really made it more tasty to me. and its a great way to get that fiber in... who knew fiber could be so yummy Smile
kgoeslow
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 53
Review Date: Tue March 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1.50 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, cheap and delicious
Cons: none!

I added two tablespoons of ground hazelnuts and a splash of buttermilk. This made the carb count go up a bit but the buttermilk was delicious.
island girl2
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2001
Location: Masset, B. C., Canada
Posts: 211
Review Date: Sun June 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Made this muffin this morning but used 2 tbsp. almond meal and 2 tbsp. flax seed and put in a 3x4 plastic container - made a delicious piece of bread. Will definitely make again. I beat the egg and butter with mixer and then mixed in dry ingredients and it had no eggy taste at all.
SharonB61
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 399
Review Date: Mon August 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!!
Cons:

Oh my goodness!! A bran muffin in the morning was one of my guilty pleasures, and low carbing took that away from me. But these delicious morsels have returned the smile to my face.......


Thank you ~ I'm going to play with the recipe a bit for some variation, but it's so delicious just as it is!!
Saratoo
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 12
Review Date: Wed August 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Saving my Induction-Phase Sweet Tooth for Bread!
Cons: None!

Can't tell you how this is saving me for breakfast on Induction - this is fantastic - I substituted 1/2 tsp of coacoa powder for 1/2 of the cinnamon - yum!
MLE
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: French Riviera
Posts: 168
Review Date: Wed October 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Extremely versatile
Cons: None

I have been playing with this recipe since I saw it on Atkins website. I like to make an italian herb muffin:
1/4c. flaxmeal
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. ground garlic & parsley blend (Badia)
1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
1 tsp. olive oil
1 egg
2 T. shredded parmesan cheese


Very flavorful! I like to cut it into thirds and top them with cream cheese and smoked salmon.
alliegorie
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2010
Review Date: Mon October 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, filling and absolutely delicious
Cons: none

This recipe has become my lifesaver. I can't bear the look of fried eggs in the morning, but this muffin, sliced with cream cheese (and two slices of very thin crisp bacon) along with my mug of strong black Costa Rican coffee makes me forget that I'm on a diet - and the bonus is the health benefits of flax! To save time, I mix the dry ingredients in a plastic ziplock back the night before. I never seem to tire of it as my morning breakfast.
shantikat
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 20
Review Date: Mon January 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and delicious!
Cons: none

I love this! I added some cocoa and buttered the inside of the cup. It slid right out. Next time I want to add some chopped nuts.
Galveston Gal
1112131133.jpg

Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2008
Location: Galveston Island, TX
Posts: 473
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick,...easy....satisfies the hunger for bread/cake
Cons:

My love affair with the One Minute Muffin continues...now 3 years into Low Carb Lifestyle. I have made this little gem in every imaginable flavor/spice/shape/cookie/etc and have never found it to be anything but EXCELLENT!
azgrandma
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2001
Location: Sun City, Az USA
Posts: 151
Review Date: Thu March 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I like it. Noticed on TV they used a plastic dish, it came right out, no stick
fireravensees
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2011
Location: wyoming
Posts: 18
Review Date: Fri March 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

this is great a muffin on low carb!!!! yay!
bostongal
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: July 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1889
Review Date: Wed May 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, tasty
Cons:

I am so glad I found this recipe. I tried the pumpkin version at the top and it's amazing! I added some nutmeg and ginger to the mix and made it in a plastic bowl - it popped right out and I cut it into 4 pcs - very generous serving. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Review Date: Mon May 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy, tasty
Cons: hard to mix thoroughly in a coffee mug

Made it as JannyJo suggested above - ate it with low-fat cream cheese. Nice with my cup of green tea!
Review Date: Thu June 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy, yummy
Cons: Can taste eggy if not mixed well

I love this recipe. I just started back on induction and I use this once a day. It's great to have it as something to build on with the low carb standards like meat and cheese. I love it with roast beef, cheddar and horseradish!
Review Date: Sun June 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): loved it its nice treat put garlic and onion power and its a great bun for hot dog or burgers
Cons: none

can make it in so many different ways
Bobbicus
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 23
Review Date: Sun June 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I think this looks very tasty. I'm wondering, does it have to be made in the microwave? I've got a george-foreman type of device that has a muffin template as one of it's accessories, I might give that a try!
kikicat
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 17
Review Date: Mon August 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I just began visiting lowcarbfriends.com and came across this recipe and what a wonderful surprise it is! I used the pumpkin, no Splenda, and it is absolutely delicious! I'll definitely make this one often:)
Review Date: Tue October 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy
Cons:

This is a great recipe! I had tried another recipe using flax meal (the low carb foccacia one that is all over the Internet) and could not get it to my nose, it smelled so bad. So I thought I was stuck with almost a whole bag of flax meal, when I thought "why not" try this recipe-all I had to lose was an egg! I will amp up the sweetness by maybe using twice as much Splenda, but that won't affect the carb count. Love looking at the other variations too, and look forward to trying them.
jesse2012
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 9
Review Date: Tue October 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Is this recipe okay for people who are wheat and gluten intolerant? I"m assuming it is but I thought I'd double check since I'm just starting out with low carb eating.


Thanks!


Jesse
Review Date: Thu November 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, easy, foolproof
Cons:

Like many others, I tried the "standard" recipe, using the microwave, and was pleasantly surprised. Two aspects of the microwave version that I didn't care for though... 1) The "muffin" didn't brown, and therefore, seemed too much like an egg dish. 2) It stayed a bit too moist for my liking; I was hoping for something a little drier, like, well, a real muffin! So again, like many others of you, I did a variation and baked them in the oven... and *WOW* these things are keepers! I know I'll continue to experiment with the base recipe, adding things like unsweetened cocoa powder, or even herbs and shredded cheese for savory versions... I tripled the standard batch so I could make six muffins in a traditional muffin tin. Here goes:


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.


Dry ingredients:
3/4 c almond meal/flour (9 net carbs)
3 packets Splenda
1.5 tsp baking powder
1.5 Tbsp cinnamon
Generous pinch of salt


Other ingredients:
3 eggs, beaten
2 Tbsp vegetable oil (instead of butter)
1 dash pure vanilla extract


Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. Mix in beaten egg, oil, and vanilla until well blended. Spray muffin tin generously with non-stick spray. Pour batter into each muffin cup, dividing evenly (my batter filled each cup around 1/3 of the way). Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes until golden brown. Let cool slightly, then pop 'em out of the muffin tin.


I calculated each muffin to be about 1.5 net carbs since the only thing with a carb count that's higher than "negligible" is the almond meal, which is 9 net grams for all 12 muffins. Enjoy!!
Merski
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2009
Location: Santa Fe NM
Posts: 175
Review Date: Fri December 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make - quick in the morning
Cons:

This recipe was right on point. I cannot wait to try the variations posted. I placed it in a big cup and added extra butter and had no problem with it sliding out of the cup.


My husband was amazed that something so good was done so quickly. Smile
Merski
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2009
Location: Santa Fe NM
Posts: 175
Review Date: Fri December 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): recipe was right on point
Cons:

This was great! My husband was surprised that something so good could be done in so little time! I cannot wait to try other versions of this muffin.
Review Date: Sat January 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very tasty
Cons: none

tastes like regular cinnamon bread.
Review Date: Sat February 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good taste and high fiber
Cons:

I replaced splenda with tbsp of carmel sf syrup. Split in half and put egg and sausage it tastes like mcgriddle, but better for you.
Review Date: Fri February 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy, satisfying
Cons:

Funny how much I don't care about eating breads unless I'm watching my carbs and then I want them all the more! This muffin satisfies that craving wonderfully. I add extra splenda and a few blueberries. Planning to make the savory muffins to have with my broiled salmon this weekend. Wonderful.


Now, when can we get a substitute for potatoes and don't tell me cauliflower! ;o)
legacyy
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2011
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 98
Review Date: Sun February 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and Easy to make
Cons: Leaves an awful taste in your mouth, almost like you just ate dish soap

Easy to make but I don't like the funny taste it has. My dogs liked it. I might make it for them as a treat but sorry to say not for me.
Dovelette
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1894
Review Date: Mon March 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: The oritional poster listed the carb count wrong

PLEASE NOTE: This carb count is OFF! An egg has approximately .7 carbs; a packet of Splenda is supposed to be counted as 1. Cinnamon, baking powder, and flax all have carbs. The actual count is closer to 3-4 carbs.


1/4 cup flax meal...... (8.09 carbs, 7.6 fiber, .49 net carbs)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder (......0.64 net carbs)
1 packet splenda packet ............(1 net carb1)
1 teaspoon cinnamon...(1.84 carbs, 1.2 fiber, .64 net carbs)
1 large egg ................................(0.7 net carbs)
xdunlapx
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: Grove City, OH, USA
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu April 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Interesting flavor and texture, not too weird though a little weird
Cons: Weird kind of texture but not necessarily bad

Kinda weird (that was my first ever MIM). I wasn't too fond of the strong cinnamon flavor which I sort of expected. So next time I won't add cinnamon but something else for flavor. Texture was odd and spongy, moreso than a regular (off-plan) muffin. Good with lots of butter though.
muncheechee
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 489
Review Date: Thu May 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Large portion, full of fiber, tastes carby and forbidden
Cons:

Just had my first MIM and I'm a big fan! Topped with cream cheese sweetened with splenda. Really good - can't wait to try different variations Smile
Babette Robinson
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 111
Review Date: Wed May 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing!
Cons: None

I don't know who invented this - but wow!! I can have bread!! And get fiber in!! Thank you!! I'm looking forward to trying different seasonings - great recipe!
greengeeny
weight.png

Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2010
Location: Brooklyn, Oh
Posts: 1448
Review Date: Tue July 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I had this for the first time yesterday...and I am in love Smile
dsbond
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri November 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: none

I made mine like ErniB above. They turned out perfect. I would post a photo of them if I knew how?
Review Date: Tue November 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazingly tasty, quick, and easy!!!
Cons:

This is the first recipe I have tried from this site, OMG, Cant wait to make one for my husband tonight!!
Malcah1
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9
Review Date: Fri January 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Mine always smell egg-y. Is it because I prepare in the microwave?
Review Date: Sat January 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is a great recipe to have it made ahead of time I made a mix in a ziplock bag so its ready to go


1 cup Flax seed meal
1 cup Almond flour
3/4 cup splenda
4 tsp cinnamon


put in ziplock bag shake well
when you want a muffin melt 1 tbs butter in mug add 1 egg in mug and beat then add 1/4 cup dry mix {I some times add sum crushed walnuts} and micro for one minuit I top with cream cheese and enjoy really fills you up
Review Date: Thu February 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Adition to my recice
Cons: TO DRY

This is a great recipe to have it made ahead of time I made a mix in a ziplock bag so its ready to go I ADDED A LITTLE HEAVY CREAM



1 cup Flax seed meal
1 cup Almond flour
3/4 cup splenda
4 tsp cinnamon



put in ziplock bag shake well
when you want a muffin melt 1 tbs butter in mug add 1 egg AND 1 TBS OF HEAVY CREAM in mug and beat then add 1/4 cup dry mix {I some times add sum crushed walnuts} and micro for one minuit I top with cream cheese and enjoy really fills you up
Review Date: Sat April 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fabulous, super versatile, life saver!
Cons: Less cinnamon is better

Tried a version with part flaxmeal and part ground toasted almonds with the cinnamon and a version with only the almonds and cocoa powder, added fibre powder, a bit of salt and a splash of half & half. Delish!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.