Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


134008Zero_Carb_Chicken_sm.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
7 Fri March 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.9
134008Zero_Carb_Chicken_sm.jpg


134008Zero_Carb_Chicken_sm.jpg
supersize









Description: This is a recipe for Pan fried - Zero Carb Chicken. The coating is a mixture of ground pork rind and Shredded Parmesan cheese.


The heat from the oil causes the coating to become crusty & chewy, and holds in moisture. The Parmesan cheese browns as it fries and cause it and the pork rind to adhere to the chicken.


I got the idea from having fried some of the shredded Parmesan in an 8 inch fry pan, and thought it might make a good coating if tempered with some pork rind. I think the cheese by itself would not bind as well, and it could be too rich (Parmesan is a rich cheese when fried).
Ingredients: Coating:


• Equal parts Parmesan cheese - the pre-shredded kind in plastic quart containers from Sam's Club (not the powdered stuff in the green cans), & ground Pork Rinds.
• Place the pork rinds in a food processor and grind small but not powder, then eyeball and add an equal amount of shredded Parmesan Cheese and pulse the mixture till the cheese is about 1/3 original size and the mixture if well blended. This will be the coating.
• Learn to gauge amount correctly as the leftovers won't keep to coat again. Besides the way I do it (hand pressing the coating on) cross contaminates the mixture.


After the first time you make this you'll have a good idea of how much coating to make...I can't predict how much coating your chicken breasts will hold...approx 3 cups did 6 breasts.


Chicken:


I use breasts without skin, but you could have skin too - but the cheese/rind mixture sticks well to non-skin chicken. The chicken breasts come out of the package moist, and the natural chicken juice is what helps the breading adhere to the chicken...don't pat them dry.
How To Prepare: Breading them:


I just lay the breasts out on a roll-up cutting sheet (to catch mixture), and start mashing a layer of coating onto them. I coat both sides by hand, just spooning some coating mix on and shaping and pressing it by hand. Have a large spoon handy to recoat as you press.


Pan frying:


Heat a heat resistant oil like Peanut oil, or coconut oil, or even olive oil (something that will not smoke out on you) and heat about 1/2'' to 5/8'' in the pan just big enough to fit all the breasts you are cooking at the same time...too much oil and you will be in trouble since it could run or bubble over. It takes less than you probably think...better to add a bit more than be sorry.


Heat oil to about 350-375°F (175-190°C). After it is up to temp, gently arrange the chicken in the pan so it is gently bubbling. Leave it uncovered for about 20 minutes, and then gently flip the pieces (tongs strongly suggested). If your temp is correct, the chicken will not burn in 20 minutes.


This is a great recipe that produces a great coating, and it tastes wonderful.


chicken = zero carbs
parmesan cheese = zero carbs - It's a winner!
pork rinds = zero carbs
Number of Servings: flexible
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: zero
Preparation Time: 15 minutes prep & 45 minutes to fry up
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!
 
Posts: 4,492
Registered: August 2008
Location: Wyoming



Review Date: Sun June 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy
Cons: none

I haven't made this exact version before, but I have done something similar. I am going to give a try with the parm. I like to the peanut oil the most out of all the ones listed.
KDWJEH
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 88
Review Date: Sat August 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Feels like eating real breading
Cons:

We made this recipe last night. We used the spicy pork rinds to add a little kick to it. We also added a little bit of Frenches Cheddar Onions. It added a couple carbs to the recipes but since everything else was zero carbs, we figured we could afford the splurge. We may have it again tonight and make chicken fingers for an appetizer. THANKS
kittykins
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Review Date: Sat January 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, tasty, CRUNCHY!
Cons:

I dipped my chicken in egg first just so that the mixture would stick a bit better, and I butterflied my chicken into steaks so that they'd cook quicker and have less of a chance of the cheese/pork rids burning, and they came out fantastic! So good with a nice dollop of ketchup.


I also tried one with just the canned parmasan (mine was more powdery i couldnt find the shredded one) and that came out well too, not crispy but so so so tasty.
Review Date: Thu February 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just like eating fast food!
Cons:

I cut my partially frozen chicken breasts into thick strips then flattened them with a mallet, dipped them in egg wash then the pork rind coating and fried them in coconut oil-- so delicious! My husband who is also LCing ate the heck out of them- I actually made them twice this week!
Thank you!
mccb17
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2009
Location: Washington, DC/Northern NY State
Posts: 865
Review Date: Wed March 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes just like normal breading
Cons:

I tried this, but like the others, I rolled the chicken in egg before coating. It tastes terrific, and my non-LC friends can't tell the difference. Also, I added a little bit of Mrs. Dash to the rinds/parm mix, and it really was a great flavor.


It also works just as well on haddock, but keep the flame a touch lower. I had the best results with sunflower oil.
smiles93536
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2013
Location: Lancaster CA
Review Date: Thu February 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Outstanding Flavor
Cons:

Wow... This is a keeper! I used spicy pork rinds and the flavor was outstanding! Thanks for sharing this one.
Review Date: Fri March 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasty, tasty
Cons: none

I love this recipe! and I made a few changes. I ground the pork rinds with my food processor, used 2 chicken breasts sliced to make 4 and hammered the chicken until fairly thin...then dipped the chicken into egg beaters then into the ground pork rinds on both sides placed them on non-stick foil...and baked in the oven at 425 for about 40 min. until very crispy.No need to turn them over.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.