Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


130443Cheatos_Attempt_2_003.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
16 Thu January 5, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.7
130443Cheatos_Attempt_2_003.jpg


130443Cheatos_Attempt_2_003.jpg
supersize

130443Cheatos_Attempt_2_002.jpg
supersize








Description: Very similar to the flavor of Cheetos. They are very light, like a puff of air, with a strong cheesy flavor.


Powdered mixes, such as BBQ, Taco, etc, could be used on top, for a different flavor.


Or, as suggested by "Zer" (who was monumental in the creation of this recipe), cayenne pepper sprinkled on top, would be great.
Ingredients: 3 egg whites
1/8 tsp cream of tartar
A pinch of salt
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese (frozen)
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 300 degrees.


Put the frozen cheese in a food processor/blender and chop, until it's in tiny little pieces.


In a mixing bowl, blend the first three ingredients, at high speed, until whites form stiff peaks. Sprinkle the chopped cheese, on top of the egg whites. Then, with a teaspoon or a rubber spatula, fold the cheese into the egg whites, VERY CAREFULLY, being careful not to disturb the fluffy whites, but thoroughly spread the cheese, throughout.


Then, using the handle of a teaspoon not the spoon part), dip tiny little clouds of the mixture, and place on a cookie sheet. It helps to have two spoons...one to scrape the mixture off of the dipping spoon. I would suggest using a sheet of parchment baking paper, to line your pan, but if you don't...spray the pan, very well.


Lightly spray the tops of the puffs, with butter flavored cooking spray. Lightly sprinkle grated parmesan cheese, on top of each puff. Then, put another coat of buttery spray, on top of that.


Bake at 300 degrees, for 30 to 45 minutes. The longer you can bake them (without them getting too brown), the crispier they will be. For even crispier puffs, turn off the oven, and leave them in the oven for at least 30-minutes.


Store in a tightly sealed, air-tight container.


***NOTE: If you have a gas oven, you have an advantage. On my last batch, I turned off the oven and left the cheatos in the oven OVERNIGHT. The heat from the pilot light (overnight), made them VERY crispy. I then put them in an air-tight ziplock, and two days later, they are still crispy.
Number of Servings: One Serving - approx. 25 puffs
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 0.9g Carbs 24.3g Protein 270 Calories
Preparation Time: 45 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 762
Registered: April 2008
Location: Branson, Missouri



Zer
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: December 2007
Location: SoCal (N.San Diego)
Posts: 9127
Review Date: Mon May 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just look at the protein: 24.3g!!! Less than one gram carb too!
Cons: Nothing but the challenge of whipping eggwhites (for a non-cook).

I can almost taste these as Melle works her way through designing the recipe!
microbiology1
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 1584
Review Date: Sun June 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty
Cons: none

I used an ice cream scoop to place them on the cookie sheet. This gave me much more control over the shape and size. You should definetely use parchment paper because some of them stick even to that. They are closer to the consistency of Peeps than Cheetos when you take them out of the oven afer 30 minutes but still tasty. I would definetly make them again and would make a double batch next time.
Zer
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: December 2007
Location: SoCal (N.San Diego)
Posts: 9127
Review Date: Thu September 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of bitsy crunchy treats from three eggwhites!
Cons: Guilt at enjoying what SEEMS nearly illegal - but it's NOT!

Just tried the recipe using Asiago cheese, which is even better than cheddar! Have also tried pepperjack cheese, but I think Asiago is crunchier, tastier! Roquefort melted the eggwhites, deflated them, made soup out of foamy bubbles; perhaps that cheese is just too creamy or the mold too active for meringues. DO TRY YOUR FAVORITE FLAVOR CHEESE as you whip up a batch of Cheatos!
i.am.jenn
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2008
Location: Nacogdoches, Tx
Posts: 2619
Review Date: Sat October 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and really low carb
Cons: none

I used a round 1 tsp measuring spoon to spoon them onto the pan. It's a non stick cookie sheet that I sprayed (heavily) with Pam Olive Oil. The mixture took up two pans and when I checked on them at the end of the 45 minutes they were nice and dark and crunchy so I went ahead and pulled them out. THEY ARE TOO GOOD!!! I agree they could use some spice (I made mine with a shredded jack/cheddar mixture) so I sprayed the tops and sprinkled some Tony Chachere's on it. NOM NOM NOM!!! Love it, will DEFINITELY make these again and again and again. :D
Review Date: Sat February 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Perfect!
Cons: No cons - these are great!

In my second week of induction for the umpteenth time over the years and really miss my Cheet-Oh's. Saw this recipe and jumped up to try them... my daughters won't leave them alone! They are perfect! I used the end of the spoons like suggested and they are the perfect size and texture.
Elisa Blue
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
Review Date: Thu October 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I will definately try these soon! They sound delish Smile


...how big/small exactly should each piece be? Im not clear on the tiny cloud part?
StephStu
Guest

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 150
Review Date: Sun November 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): High protein, low carbs, yummy!
Cons:

OMG! This is the cheesy version of "Forgotten Cookies", that's why leaving them in the oven overnight works. I'm gonna try pouring them through a funnel to see if I can make them long and sorta round like real cheetos.
Fairy Girl
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 4
Review Date: Mon December 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUMMY, Easy to make, can vary ingredients for different flavors
Cons: None that I can tell!!

AWESOME!! I just made some. I added garlic salt and garlic powder and then piped them using a zip lock bag. They look like cheetos and taste FANTASTIC!! I guess I will be making huge batches of these to munch on from now on!!
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Review Date: Mon February 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make and very satisfying!
Cons: first batch a little bland, added more seasoning to mine

These are absolutely wonderful!!!! I let the first batch get a little too brown and they were a little bland, so I tried it again and cut the temp on the oven to 250 and also added a little onion powder to the mixture. I then put the mixture in a small baggie and cut a corner out of the baggie and was able to squeeze out uniform "chips". My husband who is not low-carb loved them!!!! Great recipe and super easy.
MagicalHome
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2010
Posts: 349
Review Date: Mon February 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I think this is just great, you get to loose weight and enjoy as well
Review Date: Thu April 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and delicious
Cons:

WOW!!!! I love to eat chips and these are delicious! I can't believe how easy it is to make and how good they are. I used sharp cheddar and like the flavor. I also used Canola spray on the tops since that is what I had. I am ready to make another batch since I know the first I just made will not last long. Thank you for this recipe post!!!
Indychick829
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: January 2009
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 1529
Review Date: Tue April 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Thank you SO much for this recipe! I can't wait to play around and "tweak" it even more.
I made it as written - BUT they did come out crispy because I put them in at 275 for an hour...almost a little too crispy -BUT they were just like potato chips! I'm eating them with my sandwich for lunch - dipped in salsa! It's like "old times" chips and a sandwich (made with almond flour and flax!)
ahhh this is why i love low-carb!
AdrianaG
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 48
Review Date: Thu April 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Has anybody tried using a cookie press to make these?
CrabMama
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2
Review Date: Wed June 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I haven't made these yet but I can't wait to try!
paulabob
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: January 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 6544
Review Date: Sat January 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent cheesy snack!
Cons:

Thanks for this great recipe. I'm not terrific with egg whites, but it turned out great anyways! I used my convection oven. Great alternative to pork rinds for a snack. I did not use any cooking spray, just heavily buttered my pan. My carb count came out to 3.6 for the batch - I think the cheese carbs were left out of the original calculation.
tektak
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8
Review Date: Thu January 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

OK....I am sitting on the edge of my sit reading the recipe (at work mind you)lol. You would have thought this was an action packed movie. OMG.... I too love my cheetoos. New to this site. I am ABSOLUTELY loving it. Thank all of you Smile


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.