Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
3 Tue April 27, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
67% of reviewers None indicated 7.7












Description: These lemon muffins are incredible -- I modified another flax bread recipe I found on the internet and I LOVE them!!!
Ingredients: 2 cups ground flax seed
1/2 cup olive oil
4 eggs beaten
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup splenda
1 tsp. baking powder
How To Prepare: Mix all ingredients together in a mixer. Let sit for 2 min. Scoop into muffin papers. Bake @ 340 for aprox. 20 min. (brown on top/pops back up when you poke it)
Number of Servings: 12
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: aprox. 2 net carbs (5 grams of fiber)
Preparation Time: 5 min.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Major LCF Poster!
 
Posts: 1,151
Registered: August 2007
Location: Canada



Capt. Carnivore
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 764
Review Date: Fri December 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great recipe
Cons: None

Made these to add flax to me diet. 2nd time I made them, I omitted the lemon juice (replaced with water) and added a 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds for a bit of extra crunch. Excellent topped with a bit of cream cheese!
AdrianaG
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 48
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low carb
Cons: Slimy

I'd say these were "just OK".


The batter did not rise at all after being put int he pans (although they rose a little bit during the 2 minute rest). I wonder if using 1/2 tsp. of soda would help due to the reaction with the acid in the lemon.


My biggest objection was the slippery, slimy texture, I'm assuming due tot he flax seeds....I thought they could use a bit more lemon, some more juice plus grated rind.
Luna Loca
photo (4).JPG

Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: July 2002
Location: Austin
Posts: 11231
Review Date: Tue April 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, delicious
Cons:

I made these this morning and they are very good! I like the flax seed texture. After reading the review that said they needed to be more "lemony" I added a half teaspoon of lemon extract...it could even use a little more. They rose just fine for me (and I was using old baking powder, because I don't bake much anymore). I've been noticing the lack of fiber in my diet, but these'll take care of that in a hurry! And a nice change from egg for breakfast. Definitely recommend!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.