Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


126407peanut_brittle.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
6 Thu May 17, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers None indicated 8.2
126407peanut_brittle.jpg


126407peanut_brittle.jpg
supersize









Description: Low Carb Peanut Brittle


I've looked all over to find low carb peanut brittle. Never did find one, so came up with my own. My family loves it. I also made cashew brittle especially for my husband.
Ingredients: 1 cup Splenda Sugar Blend
1 cup Splenda
1/2 cup water
1 stick butter (not oleo or margarine)
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 large bag dry roasted peanuts (no skins)
You could also use cashews.
How To Prepare: Bring the first 4 ingredients to a boil, continue
boiling until a temperature of 315 is reached.
Remove from stove, stir in last 2 ingredients,
then add the nuts. Turn out on either a cookie
sheet that has been greased with butter, or the
Reynolds "Release" foil. Allow to cool. Break
into pieces.
Number of Servings: N/A
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 52 carb (total batch) About 2.5 per piece.
Preparation Time: 20 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
 


Review Date: Tue December 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): TASTES EXCELLENT!
Cons:

Mine didn't get really hard after cooling so I put it in the freezer.
Review Date: Sat November 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): has a wonderful flavor, melts in your mouth.
Cons: none that I can see

I exchanged soynuts for the peanuts to cut down on the calories even more. It worked out great.
Review Date: Sat October 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Looks tasty
Cons: Recipe would have about 250g carbs in a batch, not 52!

This recipe looks great! But if it really contains 1 cup Splenda Sugar Blend, then it must have at LEAST 196g carbs per batch, PLUS the carbs in the peanuts (5g per ounce, probably 50g per batch)! That would be about 250g carbs per batch, and 10g per serving. For a type 1 diabetic, that makes quite a difference!


I've just tried to make this using two cups regular Splenda instead of the one cup Spenda Sugar Blend + one cup regular Splenda...not sure how well it will work.
Review Date: Tue July 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very very good, easy to make and have had nothing but great feedback. I make this all the time.
Cons: There are no negative aspects

This recipe is great. I have made it many times. Sometimes I add a quarter to one half teaspoon of cayenne pepper to give it some louisiana or southern punch.
I would double the recipe because this candy does not last even though it makes lots. It is great for boaters because it doesn't have to be refrigerated and is a nice light desert with coffee.
bsppat
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 17
Review Date: Thu February 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste wonderful hope I cooked it long enough for it to harden
Cons:

will try the pepper next time it would probably be very good
Review Date: Thu May 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I made this bus with Erythritol instead of Splenda...it was heavenly good Smile


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.