Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
6 Wed September 5, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5












Description: Moist and chewy pumpkin muffins with unsweetened coconut. With or without nuts added.
Ingredients: 3/4 cup Almond Flour/Meal
1 scoop of Vanilla Whey protein powder
1 TB baking powder
2/3 cup Splenda
1 TB pumpkin pie spice
1/8 tsp. salt
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/4 cup heavy cream
3 large eggs
1/8 cup water
3 TB Coconut Oil, or softened butter
1 cup of Unsweetened Coconut (I sweetened with Splenda: see LindaSue's recipe for sweetening it)
1/2 cup pecans (optional)
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 375. Oil muffin tins (12) with butter or coconut oil, or use paper liners.


Mix all dry ingredients (except coconut) in a small bowl. Mix all liquid ingredients in a large bowl, add dry ingredients and mix with hand mixer for one minute. Add coconut and nuts (if desired)last.


Bake 15 or 20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins. These are moist so don't undercook.


Note: High Altitude adjustments: Omit the water and use 1/2 TB of baking powder.


(Adapted from Pumpkin Muffins, lowcarbluxury.com)
Number of Servings: 12 muffins
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Per muffin: 158 cal; 13 gr fat;6.58 carbs, 2.1 fiber; 5.42 protein (With nuts: 192 cal; 16.7 fat; 7.27 carbs, 2.55 fiber; 5.87 protein
Preparation Time: 20 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
Major LCF Poster!
 
Posts: 2,732
Registered: December 2000
Location: Colorado



LCDC
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue June 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Moist, DELICIOUS without icing!
Cons: Sticks to muffin paper

I had saved this recipe from a while back and decided to try it this weekend. My expectations weren't very high, because LC baked products are usually pretty insipid, but I was floored - these are great, even without the LC cream cheese frosting I had made automatically because I thought it would be needed. These stand on their own just fine, and are part of my TNT notebook now. Thank you, Dharma!
newenergy
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed November 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Moist and full of flavor
Cons: None

Not many really good low carb bakery products. Thanks for this one.
MarieD
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 31
Review Date: Sat November 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Moist, Just sweet enough, easy to make, delicious
Cons: None - sprayed muffin tins with nonstick spray and the muffins released easily

These muffins were fantastic - I made exactly per the recipe, using coconut oil, organic canned pumpkin, and unsweetened coconut. I baked them for 20 minutes. I was amazed at how moist and cakelike they were, the spice amounts are perfect, and my husband (who also eats low carb), loved them. An amazing recipe! Thanks Dharma, this is a keeper! Marie
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8676
Review Date: Fri September 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good, natural ingredients
Cons: none

These were delicious!! I had all the ingredients on hand, and I can not believe how good they are. They don't even taste LC! I did double the protein powder in these and added a splash of vanilla. So good!! Highly recommend (and I'm not big on LC baked goods!).
yamfry50
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2011
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue September 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pumpkin!
Cons:

Two of my favorite things in baking, pumpkin and coconut. Wow
catnmouse
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2011
Location: Nj
Posts: 51
Review Date: Wed September 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent moist muffins
Cons: None

I used coconut flour and they were really good.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.