Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
6 Mon January 30, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3












Description: Amazing alternative to french toast or pancakes with almost no carbs at all!
Ingredients: 2 Eggs
1/4 Cup Heavy Cream
2 Pkgs Splenda
Cinnamon to Taste
1/2 of a 3 oz. Bag of Pork Rinds
How To Prepare: Mix eggs, cream, sweetner and cinnamon.


Crush pork rinds and mix with above mixture.


Allow to soak about 2-3 minutes...it becomes a thick goopy batter.


Fry pancake-style in butter until browned and flip over. Mine never flip so if you wind up just with a scrambled mess, that's ok too, it's easier to flip that way. It all tastes the same!


Cook until done as you would french toast or pancakes.


Serve with your favorite low carb syrup (I use Cary's Sugar Free syrup)


Enjoy!
Number of Servings: Depends on how much you eat...this gives you one healthy portion.
Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 83
Registered: January 2006
Location: Skokie, IL



xamier
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2006
Location: Citronelle, Alabama
Posts: 1055
Review Date: Fri May 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy,
Cons: crumbs can be messy, has a bit of a bacon flavor

Very good, filling, and easy to make, probably calorie dense but a good weekend treat.
Review Date: Tue July 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): this is very easy
Cons: Have to be careful of the porkrinds that you use, some have a strong flavor

I used to make these for my little girl all of the time. She passed away and I did not make them in years. I now am a caregiver for a man with diabetes. I make these about two or three times a month for him. he loves them with sugar free honey substitute.
Nolee
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2010
Location: SoCalif
Posts: 179
Review Date: Thu September 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty, Easy
Cons:

Made it this morning, Loved it! Much better tasting than it sounded. Very easy and I will forsure be making this again! Mine flipped easy with butter in a non-stick pan and I made one big cake with it, flattened out. Next time I will make two, because it is very filling! I topped with a little cream cheese & sf syrup. Soooo good!
Review Date: Tue June 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, Tastes Great!
Cons:

WOW what a great idea! Made these yesterday and they were great. I added a splash of vanilla extract to the mix and was very surprised how great they tasted.
Review Date: Sat July 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes like French Toast. Delish!!
Cons: texture a little wierd, but very easy to overlook

This was a breakfast I had wanted to try for a while. I finally did, and WOW. The batter was a bit thick, so I was discouraged at first, but I flattened it in a pan to make it like one big pancake. I will make two smaller ones next time to make flipping easier. I will also use a little vanilla. Served with a pat of butter and SF syrup. I will be making this A LOT!
Review Date: Mon January 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, quick
Cons: nothing as long as pork rinds finely ground

Thank you so much for posting this one. We were so surprised at how good this was. Have made it several times already. Even my picky 3 y/o who tries to survive on hot dogs and mac n cheese alone loved this. If I hadn't told my husband about the pork rinds, he never would have guessed.


For anyone getting ready to make these, definitely be sure to FINELY ground the pork rinds because chunks have a different texture once egg sets in and it is cooked -- which is pretty nasty.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.