Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


280Mint_Brownie62.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
5 Fri March 16, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0
280Mint_Brownie62.jpg


280Mint_Brownie62.jpg
supersize









Description: It is best to use the Big Train Brownie mix because it makes the best tasting brownies. Here is the link to them on Netrition: http://www4.netrition.com/cgi/customer_review.cgi?group_key=3112&see_limited_group_reviews=true


I am going to post a couple brownie recipes that other people have sworn by (I will put who's recipes they are) You may use any brownie recipe of your choice. The mint cream layer is so so good! It only took me one try and it worked the first time... omg these taste just like the real mint brownies that my mom makes on all the holidays!


For the brownie layer you can either try Kevinpa's recipe.. He tried several and was very happy with his final try.. It has a lot of great reviews: Here


You can also make the Carb Quick Brownies but make sure you just make the brownie itself. Do not make the frosting or add nuts to the recipe. Here


Make sure you use a 8x9 or 9x9 pan... bake brownies according to brownie directions.


This recipe is my own creation.. please do not copy for the purpose of publishing or use on any other site without my expressed permission.
Ingredients: Brownie Layer: In the Recipe Description Mint Layer:2 - 8oz packages of cream cheese (softened) 3/4 cup splenda or sugar equivalent 3/4 teaspoon peppermint extract 3-4 drops green food coloring Low Carb Chocolate Frosting:3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened (not melted) 5 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder 1 cup pourable splenda (or other sugar substitute of your choice equaling a cup of sugar) 1/3 cup heavy cream or half and half 1 teaspoon vanilla extract Few drops hot water, as needed, to thin
How To Prepare: Mint Layer: Put the cream cheese into a bowl and microwave for 10-15 seconds so it is very soft. Add in the splenda and stir until well mixed. Add the peppermint extract and food coloring. Put it back into the refrigerator for about 10-15 minutes to thicken back up but can still be spread over the brownie layer.Chocolate Frosting: Place all ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk until well combined. Use to frost brownies, but make sure brownies are completely cooled, or the butter in the frosting will melt. Pour over the mint layer. Refrigerate overnight and then slice in small squares. These are very rich so you do not want to eat a lot at once because it is so filling! (again, I will be posting the carb content a little later but it is going to depend on which brownie recipe you are using and how big of slices you cut)
Number of Servings: 24-48 bars
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Recipe.jpg
Administrator
 
Posts: 40,008
Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois



luvlowcarb
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 143
Review Date: Sun January 15, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Good
Cons: None

I made this using an Atkin's brownie mix for the base. For the mint layer I used Peppermint Davinci syrup to lower the carb count. It wasn't green or minty enough so I added the extract and food coloring anyway. For the icing I used 3 T each of granular Splenda, Canadian Sugar Twin and Davinci simple syrup and 1/8 tsp of Stevia, also to lower the count. The icing came out very much like regular icing made with icing sugar. I baked it in an 8" x 8" pan and cut it into 16. One wasn't quite enough so I had 1 1/2. Even the non-LCers loved it. Great recipe!!
scarlett86
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 89
Review Date: Sat February 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Where can you get the Atkins brownie mix?
CindyCRNA
Always on, slightly off

Registered: January 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 5939
Review Date: Sat February 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Scarlett86, I don't think they make it anymore. Atkins makes very little other than bars and shakes that I can find.
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Tue November 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

In the description there are optional brownie recipes that are highlighted.. If you click on the links you can you can try one of those. I hope you try and like it!!
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Fri March 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I have adjusted the recipe since the Atkins Brownie mix is no longer available.. Please try the Big Train Chocolate Chip Brownie mix instead. It is really yummy and has some great reviews so I would try that over making my own recipe.. They are pretty inexpensive also so give it a try! Here is the link to the mix that Netrition sells: http://www4.netrition.com/cgi/customer_review.cgi?group_key=3112&see_limited_group_reviews=true


If you make this brownie recipe, please post a review so others can see what you think of them.


Take care!


cheri Smile


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.