Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


98818100_1252.JPG

 
Reviews Date of last review
10 Mon October 30, 2006
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers None indicated 8.1
98818100_1252.JPG


98818100_1252.JPG
supersize









Description: I never thought rudabegas would be so good!


These fries are so good with low carb ketchup, they come out a little sweet!
My next recipe will be a sweet potatoe rudabega pie.
Ingredients: 1 large rudabega - peeled and cut up like fries


1 tblspn of olive or garlic oil


Salt and pepper (you can use any seasoning you would like)
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 425 degrees


*Peel rudabega and cut up like fries and put in a large bowl.


*Coat "fries" with olive oil.


*Spread fries in one layer on greased baking pan.


*Salt and pepper to taste.


*Bake for 20 minutes, turn fries over and bake for another 20 minutes.


Enjoy!


Number of Servings: 2
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 6
Preparation Time: 10 minutes tops
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 55
Registered: January 2005



Review Date: Mon March 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: The "fries" had a bitter flavor

This would be a good solution to a major fry craving, but the flavor of the rutabega was too strong for us (bitter). They might be ok with cheese on them or possibly chili.
seashell
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 55
Review Date: Tue March 15, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Update
Cons:

Maybe try these with garlic oil or add in garlic salt. I always use garlic oil and they have never been bitter, just a little sweet.


Really good, my family loves them.
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

great recipe
mumalove
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 56
Review Date: Mon May 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good
Cons:

I deep fried about 1/3 of it. Had it with salt &
vinegar. I will make this again. They would be
great with a burger or hot sausage. I had never had a rutabaga before. I was pleasantly surprised.
joy1
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2005
Posts: 11
Review Date: Tue October 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

what do you mean with rudabegas


is it sweet potatoe ?


may be you ask how come i don`t know ?


because am not talking inglish as a first languege


if you have any photo before peeling


is it like potatoe flavor?

thanx
Julievan
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 87
Review Date: Mon June 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great
Cons: none

i grew up having rudabega fries only in deep fat so when i started lowcarb they fit in to my meals great i always had them deep fried but cook them in the oven now
Berta48
weight.png

Berta48

Registered: September 2006
Location: MO
Posts: 7981
Review Date: Thu September 28, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): They sound great can't wait to try them
Cons:

I haven't tried these yet but can't wait! They are actually spelled rutabega no big deal but perhaps people will know what you mean with accurate spelling!
I love trying new recipes!THANKS:)
Berta48
weight.png

Berta48

Registered: September 2006
Location: MO
Posts: 7981
Review Date: Thu September 28, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great on induction phase
Cons: none

Can't wait to try these, Rutabega fries!LOVE NEW RECIPES.
Review Date: Mon October 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fulfills the french fry craving
Cons: Slightly bitter, try a milk bath first

I enjoyed these as an alternate choice to potatoes. But then, I happen to love rutabagas anyways. The best thing is I was able to get DH to eat another veggie. For him, I put a cheese sauce on them.


Btw, Berta48, according to online dictionaries and wikipedia ... the correct spelling is rutabaga. Smile
Shevtriz
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: October 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 1953
Review Date: Mon October 30, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

are these ok for induction?


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.