Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


100451P1010049.JPG

 
Reviews Date of last review
5 Tue December 9, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 8.5
100451P1010049.JPG


100451P1010049.JPG
supersize

100451P1010050.JPG
supersize

100451P1010051.JPG
supersize







Description: Delicious....its a wonderful alternative to spaghetti!
Ingredients: 2 or 3 Chicken Breasts
Alfredo Sauce (i used Classico brand's portobello mushroom alfredo sauce)
1 small to medium spaghetti squash
About a Half stick of butter
Seasoning of choice- i use "It's a Dilly"
How To Prepare: Melt enough butter to coat bottom of frying pan and sprinkle in dill seasoning. Add chicken breasts and saute on each side until fully cooked. Chicken will brown nicely if only flipped once or twice. While the chicken is cooking, cut the squash in half lengthwise and remove the seeds with a spoon. Place open side down on a glass plate and add enough water so that the sqash is sitting in water. Microwave each half this way, for approximately 6 minutes...more or less a few minutes depending on your microwave. When it is done, your finger will leave a fingerprint on the skin when pressed down. Let the sqash cool some, and using a fork, scrape the insides of the sqash out into a bowl. It will look just like spaghetti. Add a few chunks of butter, salt and pepper and just let it sit. The chicken should be just about done, when its cooked fully, remove it and put it on a plate and pour out most of the butter from the pan, leaving a thin layer in the bottom of the pan. I used most of the jar of alfredo, poured right into the frying pan, and i mixed it with the chicken grease and added some dill seasoning, salt, pepper and a dash of parmesan cheese. You may have to reheat the sqash in the microwave before serving, but spoon it out onto the plate, lay the chicken next to it and spoon sauce on top. It tastes awesome, my boyfriend coudln't believe it wasn't spaghetti..although the squash is a little more crunchy than pasta.
Number of Servings: 2 or 3 depending on how much you make
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: about 7 if you use 1/4c of alfredo and 1/2c of spaghetti squash
Preparation Time: maybe 20 mins to half hour depending on the chicken
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 9
Registered: February 2005
Location: Milford, Delaware



lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

great recipe
oraki
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2005
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1263
Review Date: Tue November 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This was great!! I was a little apprehensive about spaghetti squash but I was pleasantly suprised. Delicious!!
Review Date: Thu March 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy and delicious
Cons: None

This was my first effort cooking an LC recipe, and the first time to have spaghetti squash. I was concerned that it would have a "squashy" taste, but there wasn't any real taste at all.


I cooked the squash in the microwave, raw side down in water. I don't think I cooked it long enough, but I found I actually like the "al dente" texture of the spaghetti. Instead of chicken, I fried up some turkey sausage, heated a half a cup of alfredo sauce in the microwave for about 30 seconds. Mixed it all together and sprinkled parmeasan(sp) on top. It was delicious!


Maybe this could be a type of macaroni and cheese, too?
Bethanyblondie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 310
Review Date: Sun February 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons: none

I made this for dinner and it was really good! I was a little thrown off by the squash having a crunchy texture...I might cook it longer in the future to see if I can soften it up a little. But overall it was delicious!
Review Date: Tue December 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: None

I like to jazz it up a bit-
I throw in fried musrooms, spinach, or even
broccoli. I like to serve this with a strip steak
also.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.