Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


98818100_1257.JPG

 
Reviews Date of last review
22 Thu August 13, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
82% of reviewers None indicated 9.1
98818100_1257.JPG


98818100_1257.JPG
supersize









Description: Great for the kids to snack on!
Good on salads!
Good to bring to pot lucks - never a nut left!
Crush up and use for crusts!
Good for a quick cure for sweets!
Great on ice cream!
Ingredients: 12 oz. Nuts (I use pecans, walnuts and/or almonds)
1/2 cup powdered Splenda
1/2 cup Davinci Syrup (any flavor is good)
1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted
1 tsp spice (I use cinnamon) you can use more spices if desired.



Small bowl
Medium bowl
Cookie sheet, lightly greased
How To Prepare: 1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Mix Splenda and spice(s) together in a small bowl.
3. Put pecans and butter in bowl and toss until nuts are thoroughly coated.
4. Add syrup to bowl and toss until nuts are coated. (the nuts will soak up the syrup)
5. Slowly sprinkle spice into bowl, tossing until nuts are coated evenly.
6. Slowly sprinkle Splenda into bowl, tossing until nuts are coated evenly.
7. Pour contents of bowl onto cookie sheet, forming one even layer.
8. Bake 30 minutes, then begin tossing the nuts every 10 minutes to provide even baking and to avoid burning.
(Do a taste test at 30 minutes, the nuts should be crisp, if they are soft, keep baking!)
9. Bake 10-30 more minutes, until nuts are crisp.
10. Serve warm or cool on cookie sheet, then serve!
Number of Servings: depends on the nuts used
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Depends on nuts - very low
Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Junior LCF Member
 
Posts: 55
Registered: January 2005



Tippy Toes
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 4176
Review Date: Mon February 21, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): too good to be true!
Cons: impossible to eat just a few

Ah, Seashell, you came up with a good one! I wasn't paying much attention to the instructions and accidently put all in one bowl and combined it at once but these are still the best candied nuts I have ever had!! Thank you for posting this recipe! Used walnuts with the hazelnut syrup, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamen and nutmeg. Awesome!
Your Chat Buddy,
Tippy Toes
seashell
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 55
Review Date: Fri March 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I just made these again but this time I coated the nuts with an egg white. This made the nuts shine and a little more crisp. I also made it with the caramel Davinci, wonderful flavor!
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

great recipe
flmom
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 70
Review Date: Sun September 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

What a great recipe. I will use this again around the holidays
flmom
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2003
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 70
Review Date: Sun September 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This recipe will be great around the holidays.
dmvgirl
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: July 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 5621
Review Date: Sun October 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Very easy and very yummy!!!
ArmchairGenius
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed November 29, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: Never any left!

Wicked good Seashell
Review Date: Tue August 14, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): sounds great!
Cons:

Im not rating this, but had question? Do you use the Sugar free Davincis syrup...i assume yes? And do you think the Splenda brown sugar would work?
fashay
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 274
Review Date: Fri August 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): lokks really good
Cons:

What is the nutritional info?
Mindy5936
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 897
Review Date: Sun September 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Tasty
Cons: Not Crispy

Thee are excellant and easy to make. I cook mine for nearly and hour and they still weren't crispy but they are addictive!
Review Date: Mon September 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious
Cons: -

this is just the recipe i have been looking for ! thx so much
skinnywantabe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 8
Review Date: Tue December 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): oh my....
Cons: None

Simply delish.! I made them twice and I love them... Thank you!
Review Date: Sun July 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): suuuuper good
Cons: i burnt my first batch. . .

I had to make 2 batches.. the first was a little burnt.. the second.. was fantastic!!! I cant believe how good they are, I had to do a little research on the Davinci stuff though, I found mine at our local super Walmart in the coffee isle... I'm sure if my little podunk town has it then most wally worlds will carry it. I got the sugar free caramel syrup and used cinnamon spice they are so good! Great recipe!
katlj
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 235
Review Date: Thu July 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Outstanding taste!
Cons: Gotta watch the portions...

Thank you so much for posting this! Outstanding! I made them with a whipped egg white as well and they were nice and crunchy.


My only problem with them is I reallly have to watch myself on the portions. They're soooo good!
katlj
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 235
Review Date: Mon July 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I ran this through FitDay for some nutritional info. I had trouble with the carb count for the DaVinci, but did find a suggestion that it was .4/Tbls, so I used that figure.


Pecans only (per batch): 42 net carbs, 57g. Protein, 245g. fat
Pecans/Almonds (per batch): 47 net carbs, 55g. Protein, 216g. fat


So, yeah, I gotta watch the portions! (My SO went through a half batch in about 20 minutes yesterday. They're so good!
katlj
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 235
Review Date: Mon July 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I forgot to add...I forgot to put the butter in the last batch I made. Personally, I thought they were even better. The FitDay calculations DO NOT include butter (which would not effect the net carbs anyway.)
kitchenwitch2
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2008
Location: California
Posts: 64
Review Date: Mon December 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is a HIT! I bought higher fiber almonds at Trader Joe's ( only 1 carb per 1/4 cup), and used powdered erythritol and Torani hazlenut, plus pumpkin pie spice.


They turned out so good! I can't believe how sugary they are! And mine are only 10 grams of carbs for the whole batch!


Thanks Seashell!
Review Date: Sun January 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): TOO good to be true
Cons: too good to be true/gotta watch amounts

used the egg white, sugar free vanilla and pumpkin pie spice
Coookie311
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 83
Review Date: Sat January 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy prep time
Cons: expensive recipe to try

I was so disappointed in this recipe. I did exactly what the directions and started baking the nuts and tossing them after 10 mins. The second time I tossed the nuts they were burned and I had to throw the entire batch away.
hpatchet
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue February 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): crunchy, sweet, easy, yummy
Cons: i baked too long and got a bit burnt

This was awesome! I used salted butter because I like the salty/sweet thing. Using carmel flavored syrup would be even better! I cooked them a bit too much and got a teensy bit burnt but still so good - definitely curbs my crunchy sweet cravings.
chaber
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat April 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): ABSOLUTELY DEEE=licious!!
Cons:

Everyone in my family LOVE these --- easy and you just can't stop eating them! who would know divinci could taste sooo good
binkamom
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 41
Review Date: Thu August 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): really satifies a sweet tooth
Cons: none

These were excellent! I used carmel syrup and pumkin pie spice - YUMMY


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.