Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
8 Sat February 21, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers None indicated 9.0












Description: Good tasting pancakes with simple ingredients. Does not require bake mix.
Ingredients: 2 egg yolks
2 egg whites
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
How To Prepare: In a small bowl, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. In another small bowl, beat the cream cheese and the yolks until well blended. Gently fold in the egg whites a little at a time. There's no need to be very careful when folding in the egg whites. I just sort of stirred them in gently with a rubber spatula.


Heat a little oil and butter in a nonstick skillet over medium-low heat. Don't let the butter get too dark. Ladle the batter into the hot oil, about one gravy ladle full for each. When well browned on the bottom, very carefully flip and cook the other side. They brown quite fast, so watch closely. Remove to a plate and keep warm. The pancakes are very puffy when first removed, but they flatten as they cool. Add more oil/butter to the pan for each batch, if necessary.


Makes about 8-10 small pancakes (.5 carb each plus your toppings)


These really taste just like pancakes and would be great with sugar-free maple syrup or other topping.


***If you'd like more *substantial* pancakes, add in 1/4 cup whey protein into the egg yolks and cheese. Add 2 tsp splenda to the egg whites. Add a little water for easier pouring.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
MAJOR LCF POSTER!
 
Posts: 2,796
Registered: January 2003
Location: Mobile, AL



Sugar Patrol
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: January 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2796
Review Date: Mon January 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes like regular pancakes; Uses mostly natural ingredients
Cons: The pancakes come out flatter than regular pancakes, but I think the taste makes up for it.

Good flavor with no frankenfoods. I topped with homemade whipped cream and strawberries.
nessyrae
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: June 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1265
Review Date: Sat July 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple list of ingredients; good taste
Cons:

These pancakes taste very good. The texture is different and they are quite fragile, but the taste and simple ingredients makes up for it.
Review Date: Wed October 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fragile but GREAT with butter and syrup
Cons:

make maple syrup as follows: twice as much Splenda for Baking as water. Heat to boiling point. Add imiation maple flavoring to taste. to test this recipe, I used a quarter cup of Splenda, 1/8 cup water and put in the maple drop by drop until it was the color I liked.
Groovycadreamr
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: August 2003
Location: a really BIG cocoon!
Posts: 4949
Review Date: Sat February 4, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste very good and easy to make
Cons: Very thin

I will be making these again. Very small batch. Taste very good with s/f strawberry jam.
Review Date: Wed October 4, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great IF you like crepes
Cons: couldn't get past the texture

Although my hubby and I hated these, I still gave it a 5 because I s'pose some folks have a better imagination than us and will like them. A score of 5 is like a neutral I s'pose.


It reminded me of putting syrup on scrambled eggs. Back when I ate real pancakes and eggs, I always put my eggs on a seperate saucer because I couldn't stand having the syrup get on my eggs.


For folks who enjoy crepes (I don't) these would be a really good substitute. Now I know why so many topped these with fruit and whipped cream ... those are great toppings for crepes.
:-)


Btw, I tried cooking them several ways ... after we tried the first 2, I tried cooking them longer in hopes the texture would improve ... nope. Then I tried making them smaller and with more butter. Still unsuccessful. Sorry.


I am really glad the recipe was made though because I am sure it is helping some who are really craving pancakes. Even if it helps only one not to cheat .... it is a great thing!
scb1988
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 822
Review Date: Mon May 21, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy flavor
Cons: none

Yes these can be fragile. My daughter loves these and are a great treat. I added chopped walnuts to this and was fabulous. These freeze nicely and are good cold.
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

P.S. A little vanilla flavored protein mix makes them taste like cheesecake.
Forgotten18
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2008
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 68
Review Date: Sat February 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just Like the Real Thing
Cons:

These taste almost JUST like real pancakes (I know, I know it's hard to believe, but it's true) If you cook them right. It seems as though the more you "brown" the pancake the less egg flavor there is (and trust me there's not much). If you like your pancakes very lightly cooked then the texture/flavor may be a tad eggy. But if you don't mind your pancakes a tad browner than you will be love these. They go good with some Da Vinci Sugar Free Syrup.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.