Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


95350Tuna_Melt.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
25 Tue October 9, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers None indicated 9.3
95350Tuna_Melt.jpg


95350Tuna_Melt.jpg









Description: You can use different cheeses or toppings
Ingredients: A handful of shredded cheddar


Tuna mixed with Mayo


Pre-heat a non-stick pan/skillet on high heat.
How To Prepare: Sprinkle the cheese in the bottom of your non-stick skillet. Keep the heat on high.


(Or if your stove is super hot, maybe medium/high heat)


When it starts to melt, spoon some tuna on (I use extra mayo in with the tuna to make it creamier.)


When the cheese is browned around the edges, take it off the heat, let it cool for 30 seconds, then remove form pan and Enjoy!!!
Number of Servings: 1
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Approx. 2 carbs from the cheese.
Preparation Time: 1minute
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Major LCF Poster!
 
Posts: 1,565
Registered: September 2004



Review Date: Fri January 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast meal
Cons:

I made this with cheddar cheese, this perfect when my family has Friday night pizza. Now I can have my version of pizza and not feel deprived. I really enjoyed this recipe. I had leftovers and reheated in the microwave the next day. Have a salad as a side dish. Highly recommend
Orphalie
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2004
Location: Dallas Texan misplaced to Mountain Home ID
Posts: 1104
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I made it and it was nice but a bit too salty, i assume form the cheese. Is there anyway to cut down on the saltiness?
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy
Cons:

cant belive i never thoght of this it was great thanks
Alcmene
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 787
Review Date: Sun April 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): instead of pizza - YEAH
Cons: a lot of fat in cheese

Great recipies, I need to lower my calories intake so I bought low fat cheese with 0% carbs and will be trying it with that.
toosday
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 65
Review Date: Mon May 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so fast and easy! It was very yummy!
Cons: None

Review Date: Thu May 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful!
Cons: None

I tried this recipe minus the tuna and mayo. I used pepperoni instead and I really thought that I was eating pizza! Next time I'm going to try it with spinach.


Great recipe and quick. You can do a lot with this recipe.
hllymik
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2005
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue May 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very tasty
Cons:

One of the hardest things for me to give up was my grilled tuna and cheese sandwiches... but with this is so good,, I don't miss the bread at all.. thankyou for sharing this! I can't wait to try various versions of it too.
Aediekins
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 1565
Review Date: Mon September 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I have to pop in and say- I have experimented with this recipe a bunch and come up with these other versions-


Bruschetta- Mozzarella, topped with garlic, basil and diced tomato.


Hawaiian- A slight smear of tomato sauce, topped with chunks of pineapple and canadian bacon


BLT- Make a salad of chopped bacon, tomato and mayo. Smear on melted jack and top with shredded lettuce before serving.


CindyGEyes
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2005
Location: Buckeye
Posts: 826
Review Date: Sun October 23, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Great recipe, the whole family loved it. I also tried it with egg salad on top. Will experiment more with this. Thanks.
cherrytt_too
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: June 2005
Location: somewhere sunny
Posts: 3056
Review Date: Wed January 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast
Cons: almost burned the cheese

great recipie - took like 2 minutes to make!
ny_shelly
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: January 2006
Location: Rochester, NY but originally from Pittsburgh
Posts: 3667
Review Date: Thu February 9, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): filling
Cons: greasy

The taste was good. The cheese crust wasn't as firm as I thought it would be - I thought it would be crunchier. I could try cooking it longer next time. It took 3/4 cup of cheese to make a nice base and that is 3 g carbs. I don't think I'll make this too much because there is too much cheese.


It may be good with cheese, ground meat and then put lettuce and sour cream on top to make a taco salad. hmmm...that sounds interesting
Desperatelady
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 415
Review Date: Mon February 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): loved it this was quick and easy,
Cons: I had a little trouble getting the cheese out of the pan .

I added a little yellow mustard and onion just to make hubby happy Yum!
dr4g0nfly
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 92
Review Date: Thu February 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast and Easy !
Cons: A bit salty with the Tuna and Mayo. Also a bit greasy.

Instead of the tuna and Mayo, i used a very light smear of tomato sauce, and cooked minced beef and sliced sausages. Lovely !


Carb count would increase slightly on the tomato paste and sausages. But Approx. less than 7g Carb (based on fitday)
gwen41501
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: kimper ky
Posts: 168
Review Date: Tue March 21, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: cooked unevenly may fault lol

ok i was going thur here and decided to try this crust ...i didnt have any parchment paper and was wanting some cheese chips had never made them so i took out my pan and wallaaa i have a crunchy cheese delicious thing slightly crunchy i got it to brown very good though i will adapt this to my own menu lol ty
peas123
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 148
Review Date: Tue August 29, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very quick
Cons:

Very yummy. I also tried with nacho toppings when I made nachos for the family this evening. Extra yummy.
Pinklady
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 222
Review Date: Thu October 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy, easy, quick, filling
Cons: lots of cheese may get greasy

I have zapped some tuna with mayo and cheddar cheese in the microwave before but this was so much better. It reminds me of a really good comfort food and it was really filling.
todunlop
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: North East, CT
Posts: 582
Review Date: Thu January 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

Thought it wouldn't be any good but I'm a believer now. Simple and easy to make. I added some fresh ground pepper while it was cooking. Definatly a keeper.
Cablegriz
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2002
Location: Wernersville, PA
Posts: 927
Review Date: Wed April 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy Really Good
Cons:

I can't believe how easy and good this is! Thanks. I put in tuna or "filling" of my choice and after it browns I take the spatula and fold it over into a "taco" like holder. The 'holder' is cripsy and warm, it's the best for me for a great lunch I can pick it up and eat it like a sandwich!
thanks! Bethy
JTucson
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Review Date: Thu May 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy easy easy
Cons: none that I could find

Put a little dill relish and a little minced onion in the tuna and it tasted marvelous. This was the first time I made it and it will become a lunchtime regular here.
~*Christy*~
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2007
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama-Roll Tide Roll!
Posts: 338
Review Date: Mon August 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and yummy
Cons: none

This is awesome! So yummy! Very quick, the whole process took about 3 minutes from start to finish.
KDWJEH
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 88
Review Date: Sat August 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: A little greasy

This tasted a lot better than I expected that it would. We really liked it. We are excited to try other variations of this recipe. Thanks
Review Date: Sun February 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make, very tasty
Cons:

This was soooo good, cold or hot; I added some cream cheese with the mayo and sprinkled shredded cheese on top of the tuna, then turned it over after the bottom was browned; great lunch meal.
David3
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: london,UK
Posts: 23
Review Date: Fri July 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Cons:

So easy to make very nice.
AthenaRose
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu May 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, quick, not alot of ingred..
Cons: a little greasy

Added crm. cheese to the tuna and mayo like someone else suggested..was good will experiment w/ the other ideas..will make again!!
EzStar
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2012
Location: Heartland of America, Midwest
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super quick!
Cons:

This totally kept me on the wagon when I scroungin around for something quick and yummy to eat! Thank you!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.