Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


87237MyMcGrids.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
18 Sun November 18, 2012
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3
87237MyMcGrids.jpg


87237MyMcGrids.jpg

87237griddlecakes.jpg








Description: These are so delicious and perfect for LC "McGriddles" with egg, bacon, sausage, ham, cheese, whatever. Also heavenly on their own, smeared with butter and LC jam or cinnamon/splenda.
Ingredients: Hearty Griddle Cakes...Better than McGriddles :-)


1/4 c Carbquik
1/4 c Golden flax meal
1 pkt Stevia Plus or other AS
1 t vanilla extract, or SF Maple syrup, or any flavor Davinci
1 egg
3 t melted butter
(about) 1/4 cup Hood's Milk



How To Prepare: Mix together well, and fry 'em up.


YUM!
Number of Servings: Depends on how large or small you make them
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 229
Registered: May 2004
Location: South Florida



Davian
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 956
Review Date: Sun January 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good flavor and texture
Cons: none

I made these using the regular flaxmeal so they did turn out dark (like wheat) but despite that they were still delicious. An excellent way to get in the Flax. Served 2 w/ scrambled eggs, sausage, and bacon. Excellent recipe.
piscesgirl
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4
Review Date: Fri February 4, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy recipe
Cons: none

Quick and easy recipe! This recipe is also perfect for pancakes.
seashell
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 55
Review Date: Wed March 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and better than most mixes
Cons: have to have ingredients

These were really good! I thought the flax was gonna make them gross but it tasted great!


I added in another packet of Stevia, I like em sweet! I also substituted soy milk for the carb countdown to lower the carb count. I made 4 medium sized pancakes and each cake I estimated to be .5 carbs (2 carbs for the entire mix).


I am definately going to make these over and over as mcgriddles and just regular pancakes. It's worth having the ingredients on hand.
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

great recipe
Aediekins
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 1562
Review Date: Fri April 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I used a 1/4 tsp maple extract and I used a splenda for sweetness. The maple extract made it taste very much like a mc griddle. Yum!
Alcmene
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 787
Review Date: Sun April 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I'm having these for breakfast tomorrow!
carissa_konrad
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 400
Review Date: Sat May 28, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUM!!!!
Cons: none

Loved it! This is certainly a keeper for me. It's a great change of pace for the regular morning eggs!
Susan
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Utah
Posts: 172
Review Date: Mon July 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste, texture
Cons:

This is my favorite pancake recipe, and I have tried A LOT of them. I use buttermilk instead of the Hood's... yummy
Review Date: Sun June 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!
Cons: None

Love this recipe. I use heavy whipping cream and water to make the 1/4 cup instead of Hood's
Review Date: Fri June 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): These are great!
Cons: None

I made these for my teenage daughter, she LOVES them. I make them up as McGriddles and she has a "to go" breakfast all week. I've all ready made them several times. A definte keeper!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Review Date: Fri June 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Looks super yummy!!!!!!
Cons: none

They no longer sell hood milk in my area. Any suggestions on something to substitute? I noticed one of you used heavy cream and water, Do you use half cream and half water?
scorpgc
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2007
Location: Orinda (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 915
Review Date: Mon June 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I haven't tried this yet, but soon will. It looks great.


Feelgood: Yes, they no longer carry Hoods in my area either. I use 1/2 water and 1/2 heavy cream. You can throw in a small pinch of Splenda if you want.
vickigabri
Junior LCF Member

Registered: April 2006
Location: ga
Posts: 41
Review Date: Mon November 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy and rich
Cons:

very thick and filling taste rich not weird !
dusk
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: October 2000
Location: Right around the corner from Lisa Monet'
Posts: 11873
Review Date: Sat January 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: The taste

I made them as McGriddles and they were not very good.
Review Date: Sun April 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): LOVE THEM
Cons: NONE

COOK 'EM ALL THE TIME
leisha
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: November 2005
Location: Luverne, Alabama
Posts: 2004
Review Date: Sat January 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful!!
Cons: none

Even my teenage son loved them! We'll be making
these regularly!! Tasted just like a McGriddle
when we used sausage.
ev.cheung
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 22
Review Date: Tue March 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Breakfast Treat
Cons: none

I think this recipe is still one of the best ever low carb substitute.
stickergoddess
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 273
Review Date: Sun November 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

very yummy.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.