Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


88758Recipe_002_copy.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
6 Mon January 19, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.8
88758Recipe_002_copy.jpg


88758Recipe_002_copy.jpg









Description: Cheesey hamburger and macaroni casserole - better than the box!
Ingredients: 1-1/2 to 2 pounds ground beef
1 jar Ragu Double Cheddar sauce (Carb Options or full carb)
3/4 cup Heavy Cream
salt
pepper
garlic powder
1 cup cooked reduced carb macaroni
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese


This recipe is easy to reduce for 1-2 people.
How To Prepare: Crumble and brown ground beef in skillet.
Season to taste with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.
Drain well and put in large bowl.
Add jar of cheddar sauce and cream - you can adjust the amount of cream more or less to your desired consistency. Mix well. Stir in cup of cooked macaroni.


Pour mixutre into baking pan sprayed with non-stick spray. Cover with approx 2 cups of cheddar cheese.


Bake, uncovered at approx 375 degrees for about 15 minutes until cheese on top is fully melted - put under broiler for an additional couple of minutes to brown the cheese (makes a great crust).
Number of Servings: 5-6 depending on size - maybe more
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Using full carb sauce approx 50 carbs in whole dish
Preparation Time: 15-20 minutes, add'l 15 min for baking/broiler
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


seashell
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Posts: 55
Review Date: Fri March 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good for the entire family
Cons: Takes a few minutes to put together

This was a great cassarole that was gone in one meal. My kids had 2nds! I altered it a little and used soy milk instead of cream and lowered the pasta and cheese to get a lower carb count.


It turned out just like the picture and tasted great. Next time I am adding broccoli.
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

great recipe
franzie99
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Review Date: Thu April 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): simple to make
Cons: none

This was just great! Had it for dinner tonight and my husband raved about it as well! Try it.. you will love it too! (I added some onion to the meat and used LC milk instead of cream!)
Divine!
SweetTLC
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 216
Review Date: Fri February 3, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make...a great dinner for carbers and non-low carbers.
Cons:

WOW...what an awesome casserole. This really does taste better than the Hamburger Helper Cheeseburger Macaroni. I used Carb Options sauce instead of the Ragu full carb sauce. To reduce the carb count even further, I would say that you could use less cheese on top or even avoid it all together...it was pretty tasty with the cheese topping, though. If you add onion powder along with the garlic powder, it's even better. If you used less sauce, you might be able to make this dinner in a skillet and further reduce the carb count...just a thought. Thanks for a great recipe! It's awesome.
Nikouli
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: June 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 1205
Review Date: Tue June 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

How many carbs are in each serving if you DO use the low carb sauce?
Review Date: Mon January 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yumme fast and easy!
Cons: Not being able to find the sauce!

WOW What I had to go thru to make this, I had to order the sauce online, once I got it I made it right away and it was AWESOME!


A little high in carbs for my diet but still good on one of our "cheat days"


(btw I registered just to review this yummie dish!)


Thanks for sharing!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.