Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
4 Sun March 16, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.8












Description: Banta friendly
KI total carbs 1.74
KI net carbs 1.79
Ingredients: 8 tablespoons butter (1 stick) -- unsalted
2 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate
2/3 cup almond flour/meal
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup Splenda -- or equivalent
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup pecans -- chopped
How To Prepare: Preheat oven to 350┬░. Grease an 8-inch square pan and set aside.


Melt the butter and chocolate together in the top of a double boiler or in a microwave set to medium power, stirring occasionally until smooth.
Set the mixture aside to cool slightly.


Mix the almond meal, baking powder and salt together in a small bowl; set aside.


Stir the sugar substitute in to the chocolate mixture, beat in the eggs and vanilla by hand; then carefully fold in the bake mix mixture. Add nuts if desired.


Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted halfway between the center and edge of the pan comes out fairly clean,
20-25 minutes. Cool the brownies on a rack (a half hour is the absolute minimum; an hour or two is better).
Number of Servings: depends
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 69 net for whole recipe
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 581
Registered: August 2004
Location: Orange Co, CA



Davian
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 958
Review Date: Thu April 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rich decadent and easy to make
Cons: only can eat 1 a day

My DH and I have tried many brownie recipes and this is our favorite.


I use 2 Tbsp. Davinci Raspberry in the batter (just enhances the chocolate). In place of 1 cup Splenda, I use 1/3 cup Splenda, scant 1/4 cup Erythritol, scant 1/4 cup Diabetisweet. For an extra treat, I mix up the cream cheese frosting w/ Irish Cream or Kahlua Davinci's. Best brownies - would make an excellent bottom to a decadent cheesecake.
rina9000
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 100
Review Date: Tue January 24, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): turns out like real brownies!
Cons: relatively high in carbs.

leave the salt out! i only made half the recipe, and baked mine in mini-muffin tins and they turned out bite sized and delish. freeze so you only eat one at a time!
speedymagee
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: February 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2914
Review Date: Tue February 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: hard to stop at one serving

I thought these were so yummy.
entwyf
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 23
Review Date: Sun March 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Timing was right; baked well with no unbaked :"raw" spots
Cons: not "rich" enough, and splenda taste was part of problem

I am at a point in low-carbing where I am trying to find goodie recipes, and this one seemed, by ingredients to have what I wanted. So I made it today. Almond meal as an ingredient instead of flour seemed VERY rich, plus the butter and eggs. But the finished product was dry, and the sweet taste seemed very chemical to me. Maybe if I use an extra egg or add oil or use another sweetener it would work better.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends« is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.
á