Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
12 Sat October 2, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.9












Description: Banta-friendly
Ingredients: 4 chicken bouillon cubes
4 cups boiling water
1/2 pound sausage, spicy
1/2 cup minced onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tablespoon Italian seasoning
15 ounces canned pumpkin
4 ounces mushrooms, chopped
1 cup heavy cream
How To Prepare: Dissolve bouillon cubes in boiling water; set aside.


Brown sausage, drain, and then add the onion, garlic and herbs.


Stir in the pumpkin and mushrooms.


Add the broth and mix well.


Simmer 20-30 minutes.


Stir in the cream and simmer on low another 10-15 min.


Taste and add salt/pepper as needed.



KI (using total carbs) = 1.84
KI (using 'net' carbs) = 2.17
Number of Servings: 8
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 253 Calories; 23g Fat (80.0% calories from fat); 5g Protein; 8g Carbohydrate; 2g Dietary Fiber; 60mg Cholesterol; 579mg Sodium
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Way too much time on my hands!
 
Posts: 27,310
Registered: July 2002
Location: Dayton, OH



Abbott
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2002
Location: Whidby Island, WA
Posts: 245
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious. Non low-carbers will love it!
Cons: Make sure you drain the grease off of the sausage.

Perfect for Banta. Add 4 oz of cream cheese with the cream and you increase the fat content without making a change in the taste!!!
I used Pacific free range chicken broth which contained no sugar or corn syrup.
LCRedhead
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: October 2003
Location: Florida Treasure Coast
Posts: 2938
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: none

I use lower sodium chicken broth and Italian sausage. Love this recipe.
Patlaf
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: June 2003
Location: In a small town on the sunny coast of Spain.
Posts: 3169
Review Date: Fri November 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make and absolutely delicious
Cons: none

I usually add a dollop of sour cream just before serving. Next batch I make I'll try it with the additional cream cheese.
becksterinindy
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: June 2004
Location: northern Indiana
Posts: 7822
Review Date: Mon November 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It is wonderful and so easy to make!!
Cons:

LibraEssence
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: May 2004
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 2342
Review Date: Wed December 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy to make
Cons: should have made a bigger batch

loved this recipe....family also enjoyed it as well I was pleasantly surprised and will definitely make this again.....tasted even better the next day...had to compete with my son for the last bowl Wink
Sarmay
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: September 2001
Location: Where pigs fly in Ohio.
Posts: 2160
Review Date: Sun January 9, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and delicious - not too pumpkinny
Cons: None!

I made mine in the crockpot, and it is wonderful! I didn't think I'd like it because of the pumpkin, but it reminds me of a carrot soup I used to love. Smile
turtle
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2000
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 584
Review Date: Tue January 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): my picky family loved this recipe
Cons: how much is a serving?

easy to make-- delicious--- how much is a serving?
MikeA
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 868
Review Date: Tue January 25, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy to make
Cons: nothing

This was really good! Quick and easy to make also.
HBFD
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: March 2005
Location: Close to heaven
Posts: 3809
Review Date: Thu December 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy, easy,
Cons: I eat too much of it

Excellent!
Tennis4.0
formerly Mum22

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 7278
Review Date: Sun February 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy and Easy!
Cons:

My whole family loved this, including my 8y/o and my 5 y/o. I added cinnamon to it as well. It was about 5 degrees here tonight so it was perfect.
sugahmama48
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2008
Location: DFW Metroplex Texas
Posts: 40
Review Date: Mon November 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted great!
Cons: Can think of none

I tried this recipe and it was awesome. Great flavor and easy to make. I am not a fan of mushrooms, so I left those out, but otherwise followed directions. Have made it twice in the last two weeks!
DressageLover
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 322
Review Date: Sat October 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy
Cons: non

This soup is SO good! I used a full pound of italian sausage because I like meat. Way yummy. So happy I found this!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.