Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


95591pepperturnips.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
7 Tue November 17, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers None indicated 7.5
95591pepperturnips.jpg


95591pepperturnips.jpg









Description: The one thing I really miss is fries. I got my kids fries at Wendy's and they looked so good. I didn't have any but I came home and searched the net to find a recipe for low carb fries that I could have. This looks like it's might just be it.
Ingredients: 8 medium turnips (about 2 1/2 pounds)
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon Splenda
1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg or 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt (sea salt works best)
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Olive oil spray
Lime juice


How To Prepare: Peel the turnips with a vegetable peeler, slice and cut into 2 1/2-by-1/2-inch sticks. Pour 1/2 cup heavy cream into a large bowl and place the turnip sticks into the cream. Fill bowl with cold water until the turnips are completely covered. Add 1 teaspoon Splenda. Swirl a bit to mix and allow to sit in cream mixture for 10-15 minutes. (This cream-soaking step removes the "bite" flavor of the turnips, leaving them with a milder, more potato-like flavor.) Rinse in colander with cool water and pat dry.


Preheat oven to 425°F.
Combine turnip sticks with the nutmeg, pepper, sea salt and Parmesan cheese in a large plastic (Ziploc-type) bag. Seal the bag and shake well to coat the turnip sticks.


Spray 2 large baking sheets lightly with the olive oil spray. Spread the turnips in a single layer on the sheets and spray again with the olive oil.


Bake in a preheated 425°F oven for 15 minutes. Turn the fries over and continue baking for 15 minutes, until the fries are tender and golden in color. Serve hot with a sprinkle of lime juice.




Number of Servings: Makes 8 servings.
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Approximately 4.5 carbohydrate grams per serving.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Nanders
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4
Review Date: Thu November 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): They are shaped like real fries
Cons: They don't taste like real fries

I also really missed fries and came across this recipe on the website that is listed. Sadly this is no substitute for fries. The end taste is ok, but I was expecting better. I made this twice and will not make it again.
Review Date: Mon December 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great taste
Cons: doesn't taste like potatoes

I have made this recipe many times and the whole family loves it. It is not a substitute for the good old french fries, but it is a wonderful alternative.
Mibashful
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 922
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): french fried turnips
Cons:

i my self didnt use this recipe but i have made turnip french frys i just peeled the turnip used corn oil to deep fry them and walah you have the best frnch fries in the world sprinkle salt on them and you cant even tell there turnips.
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

great recipe
Review Date: Sat June 18, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fried Food !
Cons: Not french fries

Good, but nothing beats a potato for fries.
Thanks for the post OP!
Review Date: Mon May 15, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Almost like fries
Cons: none

Almost followed the recipe. I fried them (3 turnips) in 1/2 canola oil and 1/2 bacon grease. Not as crispy as I would have liked, maybe I need to bread them with parmesean cheese. Best thing of all I liked them. First time to eat a turnip. Thanks!
squeeter
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue November 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Try using jhikma, that taste like potatoes


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.