Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
14 Tue October 7, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers None indicated 8.5












Description: I made PhoebeHerself's Pumpkin and Sausage Soup for dinner and it was delicious! It may sound unusual but it is great, easy to make and perfect for a chilly evening's dinner. I admit to making a few tweaks to the recipe and was very pleased with the results.


Erin---eko42


Ingredients: 12 ounce tube Jimmy Dean Hot sausage
1/2 cup onion, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning
2 cups fresh mushrooms, chopped
1- 15 ounce can pumpkin
4 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup water
How To Prepare: Brown sausage, drain, then add the onion, garlic, Italian seasoning and mushrooms and sauté until done.

Add pumpkin to this mixture and mix well.
Then stir in the broth and mix well.
Simmer 20-30 minutes.

Stir in the heavy cream and water and simmer on low another 10-15 min.

Taste and add salt/pepper as needed.


Serve.



Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 843
Registered: February 2004
Location: Southern California



silentkate
Guest

Registered: August 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2980
Review Date: Sat November 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty easy to make and tastes great
Cons:

This is my new favorite soup. Smile
frogp
Junior LCF Member

Registered: March 2001
Location: Columbia, MD, USA
Posts: 30
Review Date: Sat November 13, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very filling
Cons: NONE

I don't like pumpkin pie and I'm not fond of pumpkin really at all....but this soup is AMAZING!
SPECK
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2003
Posts: 2383
Review Date: Sun December 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple Not Complicated
Cons: none

Very very filling. I was skeptical because I thought I would taste "pumpkin" but I was pleasantly surprised.
It has lots of fiber so that is good also. It is very hard for me to find low-carb soups because usually there are a hundred ingrediants and I don't cook much so I need something simple. This will be a staple for me. Great recipe.
ButtrShots
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 319
Review Date: Sun December 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fast, easy and delicious
Cons: none

This is a wonderful recipe. Even the non LC people in my house love it. I make it almost every weekend.
daisymae
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2002
Posts: 288
Review Date: Wed December 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): DELICIOUS !!!!
Cons: none

This is a FABULOUS soup !! I took it to my church pot luck dinner (so I would have something to eat). Everyone who ate the soup LOVED it and begged me for the recipe.
decodiana
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
Review Date: Mon February 6, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simple and delicious
Cons: none

I'll be making this many, many times. It's excellent.
kellys4me
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2006
Location: East Windsor, NJ
Posts: 7
Review Date: Wed December 6, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious
Cons:

i've made this many times and its delicious!!! a definate keeper especially now that winter is coming.
Review Date: Thu January 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and delicious!
Cons: none

Made this for the first time today. Will make it often!
LowCarbChick
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2002
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 379
Review Date: Sun January 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and a great comfort food!
Cons:

I really liked this recipe a lot..It is quickly becoming a staple in my Low-Carb menu! Very easy to make too! Even DH loves it and he's not even doing low carb!
HSAP_Mama
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2006
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 102
Review Date: Tue January 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and tasty!
Cons:

This was very good and it made so much! I made some alterations (didn't use hot sausage, seasoning and used yogurt instead of cream) but its seems to be very versatile. I think it would be good pureed.
Sarmay
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: September 2001
Location: Where pigs fly in Ohio.
Posts: 2160
Review Date: Wed January 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy!
Cons:

This is a wonderful soup to try, especially if you're not great in the kitchen. LoL Even if you don't like pumpkin, it's worth trying!
Sweetpea
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2006
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 7152
Review Date: Mon March 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Did not like at all.
todunlop
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: North East, CT
Posts: 582
Review Date: Thu November 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

wasn't to sure I would like it. It was excellat and I will be making it again.
Charski
Gadget Gal

Registered: September 2004
Location: Mostly in the kitchen!
Posts: 39801
Review Date: Tue October 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It makes a lot
Cons: It tastes bad

I guess I'm the lone dissenting vote on this stuff! I made it exactly per the recipe and found it fairly nasty. I doctored and doctored, adding this and that, until I finally got something I could at least eat - froze some, and months later ended up throwing it out because I just couldn't bring myself to eat any more of it.


I'm glad others love it though! Wink


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.