Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
11 Sat February 7, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6












Description: This is excellent and has a very nice, moist texture. It's also very sturdy and stands up well to spreading with butter. I think it could use a pinch of salt, but if you're going to spread it with salted butter, don't bother.


To divide it evenly into 12 slices, I suggest first scoring it with a knife in the center, then score each half in half, then each quarter into 3 slices. Start slicing from one end to the other, following your score marks. You'll get fairly thick slices and you might even be able to get 16 if your knife is good and sharp. I used a serrated bread knife.
Ingredients: 1 cup canned pumpkin
1 cup granulated Splenda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (I used 1 teaspoon cinnamon instead)
Pinch to 1/8 teaspoon salt (optional - original recipe didn't call for it)
5 eggs
6 ounces almond flour or almond meal, sifted (about 2 cups)
How To Prepare: Grease an 8x4" loaf pan well or line with foil and grease foil. Dust pan with 2 tablespoons of the Splenda. In medium bowl, beat pumpkin, Splenda, baking powder, vanilla, spice and salt, if using, with electric mixer until well blended. Beat in eggs, then almonds. Add a little water, if needed, to make a thick, but pourable batter (I didn't need it). Pour into pan and bake at 300┬║ 60-75 minutes, until cake pulls away from sides of pan a bit and toothpick comes out clean. Mine took about 65 minutes. The toothpick came out clean at 60 minutes, but it needed to brown a little more. This comes out so moist that the extra baking time will be ok. Let cool in pan on a rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and peel off foil; cool completely on rack before slicing. Store in refrigerator or freeze.



Can be frozen
Number of Servings: Makes 1 loaf or 12 servings
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Per Serving: 130 Calories; 9g Fat; 6g Protein; 7g Carbohydrate; 2g Dietary Fiber; 5g Net Carbs
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
MAJOR LCF POSTER!
 
Posts: 1,674
Registered: December 2002
Location: West Coast, Canada



Brendajm
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: May 2004
Location: lancaster, Pa
Posts: 2012
Review Date: Wed October 6, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastes great
Cons:

Review Date: Sat October 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): ingredients are readily available!! (no trip to the health food store)
Cons:

Thank you so much for this recipe, Pumpkin bread is my favorite!!
Review Date: Sat October 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): love it!
Cons: sticks to pan if you don't have tin foil.

I had a package of ground almonds that was only 5.5 ounces so had to add bran to make up the difference, delicious!!
Begete
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2003
Location: Whidbey Island
Posts: 5652
Review Date: Wed January 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

My husband and I do not particularly care for pumpkin, but his family, all of whom visited us for the holidays, love it and do not consider a turkey dinner complete without it, so I made this bread. I made at least 20 different LC dishes over the 3 days, and this was by far the favorite.
I had to print out the recipe for several guests.


Even my husband and I liked it.
Review Date: Mon January 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): not too many ingredients, easy to make, very very delicious!!
Cons: Gets rubbery after a few days, better to freeze extra loaves

This is a yummy recipe! I didn't have almond flour so I used whole wheat flour and added in some unprocessed bran to give it more fiber. It was so delicious, especially still hot with some butter on top. Wow, sooo good! Definately a nice bready texture, great for pumpkin lovers, definately will make often! Thanks for sharing this.
sdh
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 74
Review Date: Sun April 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

one of my favorite recipes
Cookie41
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: January 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1128
Review Date: Sat June 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Good!
Cons: None

I love this recipe! It is moist and has a wonderful texture and Flavor also it is easy to make!
momov2boys
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 3732
Review Date: Sat August 19, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love this bread!
Cons: None

Comes out perfect, every time Smile
yoshi
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 98
Review Date: Sat November 11, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good taste; very moist
Cons: none

When I bake, I use a combination of almond and rice flours, and the product usually comes out dry and crumbly. This came out very moist -- the closest to the "real" thing that I've encountered, so far.
Paddylu
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2007
Location: A ranch in Southern NM
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon October 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is a beautiful loaf, very moist and tasty.
Cons: None

The only problem for me was that it was too good. Must keep it in the freezer! I will definitely make it again.
daltwisney
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2009
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 5
Review Date: Sat February 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I made this recipe a couple of times and it was so good! I also had good results with this variation due to the fact that I only had a cup of almond flour:


1 cup almond meal/flour
3/4 cup vital wheat gluten
1/2 cup flax meal


It was more "bread like" if that makes sense. (It had the consistency of banana bread.)


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends« is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.
á