Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


280cheesecake.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
116 Tue February 12, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
97% of reviewers $5.00 9.6
280cheesecake.jpg


280cheesecake.jpg









Description: This cheesecake is the best that I have tasted thus far. You may make different variations of it. I added a cup of sugarfree mini chocolate chips to the last one I made and it was great as well... remember to add in the carbohydrates of your addins into the cheesecake total.
Don't know where to get Sugarfree products like Chocolate chips, Artificial Sweetners and Flavored Syrups? Go visit Netrition.com. It is THE greatest Premier Nutrition Superstore for your Lowcarb needs! http://www6.netrition.com/


The Chocolate Chips I used: http://www6.netrition.com/nevada_manna_sf_choc_chips.html


I used a Pampered Chef 9" springform pan and the cheesecake rose to the very top.. If you don't have a springform pan and you use a regular pan it might overflow because springform pans are taller.


Baking in a Water Bath


Cheesecakes are custards at heart. They are delicate, so you want to bake it slowly and evenly without browning the top. The most effective way to do this is to bake it in a water bath. Since water evaporates at the boiling point, the water bath will never get hotter than 212 degrees F (100 degrees C), no matter what the oven temperature. This means that the outer edge of your cheesecake won't bake faster than the center, which can cause it to soufflé, sink, and then crack.


This recipe is my own creation.. please do not copy for the purpose of publishing or use on any other site without my expressed permission.


Ingredients:


CRUST


1/4 cup Finely Chopped pecans
1/4 cup Finely Chopped almonds
1/4 cup Finely Chopped walnuts
3/4 cup almond meal (almond flour)
3 packets splenda
3 Tablespoons butter (melt in microwave)


FILLING


1 1/2 pounds cream cheese
1 1/3 cups Pourable Splenda (or other sugar substitute that is equal to 1 1/3 cups sugar)
3 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 teaspoons lemon juice
16 ounces sour cream.
Cream cheese and eggs should be at room temperature before you start.


Adding that previously, whey protein or carbquick was an added ingredient. It was removed because the cheesecake is so much better without it. It is much creamier and omitting it also removed carb content which is a big plus. There has been some questions about it so if you read the reviews and see people discussing it that was the reason these ingredients were removed.


Directions:
How To Prepare: Mix all nuts, almond meal and splenda with melted butter and press into a springform pan, trying to line the sides as much as possible about 1 1/2 inches up the sides of the pan, set aside to mix filling.Start by beating the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Keep the mixer on a low setting throughout the beating and mixing process. Add the sugar substitute a little at a time and continue beating until creamy. Add one egg at a time and beat after each egg. When eggs have been mixed into the cream cheese, add vanilla and lemon juice, Add the sour cream last until just blemded in.Pour cream cheese mixture into the springform pan. Place on the top rack in the middle of a 325 degree preheated oven for one hour and 15 minutes. If you want a cheesecake with a less brown top, put on the next rack down. Also, some have commented that they had a few cracks... Remember not to open the oven while baking, this might make it crack. You might also want to try a waterbath but its not really neccessary. When time is up, turn off the oven and prop open the oven door... leave in oven for one hour. After one hour, remove from oven. Run a knife around the edge of the cheesecake also, so if it shrinks while cooling it will not crack at that time either. Let cool to just about room temperature before the cheesecake is put into the refrigerator for 24 hours. Make sure you wait the 24 hours before sampling... A cheesecake should season. The wait is worth it. The flavor ripens and becomes enriched. Nutritional information:Without Crust:Cheesecake without crust 231.5 Calories; 22g Fat (48.5% calories from fat); 5g Protein; 6g Carbohydrate; trace Dietary Fiber; 118mg Cholesterol; 158mg Sodium.Cheesecake including Splenda:319 Calories; 28g Fat (79.6% calories from fat); 9g Protein; 7g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 123mg Cholesterol; 177mg Sodium And this is cheesecake WITHOUT Splenda:311 Calories; 28g Fat (81.7% calories from fat); 9g Protein; 5g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 123mg Cholesterol; 177mg Sodium
Number of Servings: 16
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Recipe.jpg
Administrator
 
Posts: 40,008
Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois



Bruce
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: June 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3496
Review Date: Tue August 31, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is the best low carb cheesecake I've ever tasted. It is the real thing. Make it true to the recipe the first time and then experiment with variations like strawberry, blueberry, peanutbutter, etc. Don't forget that if you add other ingredients, add the carbs.
LCRedhead
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: October 2003
Location: Florida Treasure Coast
Posts: 2938
Review Date: Thu September 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's the real thing!
Cons: none

10 ! Definately a 10! The crust is awesome too.
bybs54
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2003
Location: West Central, Illinois
Posts: 6777
Review Date: Wed September 8, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is TRULY a real cheesecake! Tastes GREAT!
Cons:

This is very easy to make and it is a REAL cheesecake. Hubby who has said other cheesecakes are OK...said this tasted like a "real one!" I split the sweetener exactly in half between Splenda and SF Davinchi vanilla syrup...saved some carbs but still had a really great flavor and texture.
Thanks so much for your hard work Cheri in coming up with this recipe!! Smile
Criosa
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 705
Review Date: Fri September 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This has become my favorite cheesecake recipe. I substituted part erythritol for the splenda.
kglowack
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 611
Review Date: Fri September 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: none!

This is soooo good! My boyfriend said it tastes exactly like the Cheesecake Factory cheesecake. We also had some non-LC company for dinner and they loved it as well.
Nana Susie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2003
Posts: 851
Review Date: Tue September 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make!!! So good!!
Cons:

Great recipe. Easy to make. The harest part is staying out of it for 24hrs.!!!!
Beeb
Why wait, just do it NOW!

Registered: February 2004
Location: A REAL Jersey Girl!!
Posts: 12060
Review Date: Sat September 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This was so easy to make!! Not being a very good baker I loved the way it all went together so fast.
Cons: NONE!!

OMG TOO DIE FOR!! THE BEST CHEESECAKE EVER!!
ShellyS
the evil twin

Registered: June 2002
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 3161
Review Date: Mon September 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to Make - I am not a cook
Cons:

Easy to make even for me.... I have tried several different cheesecakes in the 4years of lowcarb have only FOUND ONE.. this one to be a true cheesecake and NO water bath needed.... WOOO HOOOO And this one could get me in trouble i am going to have to freeze in portions.
furkid
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 879
Review Date: Mon September 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything is positive
Cons: Staying away for 24 hours

Good thing I was able to break off just a wee bit of crust. It was wonderful non - LC daughter said it was a "keeper." That is truly high praise. Next time I will not overbeat the eggs so I'll have less cracks. I was whipping those eggs up like I did the cream cheese to make it soft - just a small mistake. Did not take away from the taste.
becksterinindy
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: June 2004
Location: northern Indiana
Posts: 7832
Review Date: Mon September 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, good texture, freezes well
Cons: none

I loved this cheesecake but I did alter it some. I used 24 ounces of cream cheese. I tented the edge of the spring form pan with foil so it would not turn brown and that worked very well. The texture of the cake was devine!! I just dumped the ingredients in a bowl (after making sure the cream cheese was very soft) and mixed it up. I did not even beat the eggs first and it was done in a few minutes and in the oven and DELISH!!! Thank you Cheri
glo1196
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: State of Confusion
Posts: 89
Review Date: Mon October 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make...delicious
Cons: what is the nutrional count for this recipe

Does anyone know what the carb counts are for this recipe? I made it and when I put it into fitday it say 22 carbs per slice. I am hoping I am wrong...HELP!!!
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Mon October 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

The recipe has the nutritional counts but here it is again sweetie..


Nutritional information:



Including Splenda (If you are using a 0 carb sweetner):



319 Calories; 28g Fat (79.6% calories from fat); 9g Protein; 7g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 123mg Cholesterol; 177mg Sodium



And this is WITHOUT Splenda:



311 Calories; 28g Fat (81.7% calories from fat); 9g Protein; 5g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 123mg Cholesterol; 177mg Sodium
Bobby
Its Not A Problem! :)

Registered: April 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2550
Review Date: Mon October 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make, my first cheese cake
Cons: too darn good!!

be veeeeeeerrrry careful! it is awesomely good!!
this was my first try at making cheese cake and it turned out great!
Jugo
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: October 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 7569
Review Date: Sun October 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I had a chance to eat this cheesecake this weekend and all I can say is HEAVEN!!! I now know why still after 26 months I keep the food simple in my house... This would be deadly (to me and the cheesecake) if this was allowed in my house.... 2 thumbs up!!!
Mystic
weight.png

Major LCF Poster!

Registered: January 2002
Location: New Albany, Indiana
Posts: 1559
Review Date: Sun October 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): OH MY GOD!!!!
Cons:

I haven't tried to make this one yet, but tried it at the Chicago gathering. It is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good! I give it 2 thumbs up!
Ceige
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: Florissant, MO
Posts: 201
Review Date: Mon October 25, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Delicious! I dont like cheesecake but I love this one, I tried it because it looked tooo good to be true...it wasnt.


I reccomend it to anyone!
Pami
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: July 2002
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 27310
Review Date: Tue October 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): KI over 2.0 (suitable for Banta)
Cons: huh?

I got to try the cheesecakes with and without chocolate chips this past weekend. They both rocked! I think I'm going to make the plain one today when I come home from work. I'm off Friday and it will be ready to eat by then!
CARLINI
Thick and Delicious

Registered: February 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 8815
Review Date: Thu October 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): All of it!!!
Cons: Say what?????

The minute I put this cheesecake in my mouth I almost died! You have to try it =)
LowCarbConvert
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2004
Location: NW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 540
Review Date: Mon November 22, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): it is perfect
Cons: none

It is just marvelous.
Actually, the first day it was great, the second day it was marvelous, but the third day it was miraculous.
I'm making another one tonight (11/22), so it will be fantastic by Thanksgiving.


Letting it ripen 24 hours is good advice, but I do think that the 3rd day is a charm.
kashtana
Senior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: D.C. area
Posts: 265
Review Date: Fri November 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: none

i made it for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit.Very tall and beatifull.Everyone asked me where i got it, because it tastes like a professionally made cake.Thank you for the great recipe.
nawthwoodshuntress
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: nawthern Maine USA
Posts: 164
Review Date: Mon December 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent taste
Cons: none

This tasted just like a "real" cheesecake should. I subbed part xylitol for the splenda and cut the sour cream down to 1/2c. I also used my own crust recipe. This is what I've been missing by trying out all those no-bake cheesecake recipes. From now on, if I'm in the mood for cheesecake, this will be the recipe I use. I was able to wait the 24 hrs. before eating (took much willpower), but it was worth the wait. Delicious! Thanks Cheri!
Linda in Texas
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas area
Posts: 784
Review Date: Tue January 4, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tastes great and no water bath needed!
Cons: None

This cheesecake is terrific. I've made at least 20 cheesecakes since starting to low carb and this one is the absolute best. There is no turning back now...this will be the one I make from now on. I made it according to the directions and the only thing I'll do differently next time is to put some aluminum foil on a rack above it to slow the browning process.
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Hi folks! What exactly is Designer Protein? Is it a powder? Any recommended brand?


Also, can someone tell me what size springform pan you used for this recipe?


Thank you!
Tom
Administrator

Registered: February 2003
Posts: 4763
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

You can buy Designer Protein at Netrition.com: http://www.netrition.com/designer_page.html
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Sorry, I also meant to ask: In the recipe it says to prop oven door open.....etc. I assume you leave the oven turned ON since it does not specify to turn it off.


Please correct me if I am wrong.


Thank you!
Review Date: Thu January 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Same Question
Cons:

I have the same dumb question, When you prop the oven door open, do you turn the oven off, or, leave it on
blimey85
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 38
Review Date: Thu January 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

You want to turn the oven off when you prop the door open. Having the door open a little will allow the oven to cool faster, but the cake won't cool as fast as it would if you took it out immediately. This helps to prevent cracks and lets it cook just a bit more as it begins to cool. I've always hated this step because it makes my kitchen hot but the results are worth it.
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Thu January 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy to make
Cons: None

I use a 9 inch springform pan. Some have used the 10 inch one and the cheesecake wasn't as tall. If you use the bigger pan I would cut the baking time 5-10 minutes.


Yes... turn the oven off and then leave in for an hour. I added that in the recipe to make it more clear... thanks for the headsup!!!


cheri Smile
Review Date: Thu January 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make and excellent to eat! :)
Cons: Give me a few days to think about it....

I really enjoyed this. It's the best law-carb cheesecake I have had so far.


I didn't have vanilla extract - thought it did! So, I used a little almond extract and it gave a really nice flavor. I suppose you could use just about any extract.
Review Date: Mon January 31, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful
Cons: Nothing

Really, Really, Really Good!!!


I used the Carbquick instead of the protein and it worked out great.


Thank you Cheri!!!


Karen Smile
Review Date: Sat February 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This sounds fabulous and, I can't wait to try it. My question is, does anyone have an idea how this can be adapted to make mini cheesecakes?
CRH Inv
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 247
Review Date: Sun February 13, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): The best! Very smooth and creamy!
Cons: Cracked

I have been making several cheesecakes lately. This one is the best I have ever had! I didn't do a water bath or other precautions and I got huge cracks. BUT... I couldn't care less, this was the best cheesecake I have ever made. Next time I will do a water bath, etc. so it is pretty too! BTW, I did this for Sunday dinner and my whole family thought this was the best one yet.
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Sun February 13, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

ylo brd, on a thread in the recipe bb someone said they made mini cheesecakes with it so it should do just fine... it does raise pretty high so you might have to play which the quantity in each cup though... Let us know how you liked it!!
Review Date: Wed February 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Cheri,
Thanks for responding, I need a dessert for this weekend and this looks like a winner. I think I'll give it a try.
Review Date: Wed March 2, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): THE BEST CHEESECAKE RECIPE I HAVE TRIED!!
Cons: I USED CARBQUIK INSTEAD OF PROTEIN POWDER WHICH GAVE IT A FAINT FUNNY TASTE.

THE NEXT TIME I WILL BAKE WITHOUT THE CARQUIK. I HOPE IT STILL MAKES IT CAKELIKE WITHOUT. ANY SUGGESTIONS? HAVE OTHERS BAKED IT W/OUT PROTEIN POWDER OR BAKING MIX??? ALSO I USED PECANS ONLY WITH CINNAMON AND SPLENDA MIXED IN FOR THE CRUST!! AND I ALSO USED A LITTLE MORE SPLENDA IN THE BATTER.
Review Date: Wed March 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): this recipe is incredible
Cons: none at all

This is sooo good. It is better than the cheescake factory's 6 carb because it's not as grainy for some reason. Just DO NOT taste it before it refrigerates because it is kind of foamy. Once it settles it is dense and creamy, my husband is addicted to it. It also makes a huge cake.
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

this recipe is great
bostonlass
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2003
Location: boston, ma
Posts: 627
Review Date: Fri April 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Haven't tried this yet...just wondering if anyone has baked it without the crust? I'm not doing nuts at all so I'm hoping the answer is yes =0)
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Sun April 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

You can make this without a crust and that will make the carb count even less... it will still be very yummy!! Make sure you let everyone know what you think!!


cheri Smile
Review Date: Thu April 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This cheesecake rocks!
Cons: Waiting the 24 hours!

This recipe is so easy to make! It was the first time I had ever tried to make a cheesecake from scratch. It is important to have your cream cheese at room temperature before you start to beat it. I read the recipe wrong at first and only had half of my cream cheese at room temp. When I added some more right out of the fridge, it was getting stuck in my beaters, and just wouldn't mix well at all.


I couldn't find any almond meal in my store and I don't like nuts, so I made my crust out with 3/4 cup Carb Sense No-Carb baking mix, 1/3 cup cube butter, 1/3 cup Splenda, and the zest of about 1/2 of a large orange. Then I spread it out on the bottom of my pan with my palm.


This cheesecake is so yummy! I can hardly believe it is low carb and tastes this good. It is really hard to wait the 24 hours before eating it, but it is so worth it. It tastes even better after the next 2 days or so. My husband is sensitive to the taste of sugar free substitutes, so he didn't like it, he thought it had a wierd aftertaste. But what does he know anyway?
littlegunshots
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 131
Review Date: Tue April 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): so yummy
Cons:

i loved this...and so did by friends who don't do low carb!
hollyrae
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2004
Posts: 181
Review Date: Wed April 27, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy
Cons:

silentkate
Guest

Registered: August 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2980
Review Date: Sat May 21, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I love this recipe! The best lc cheesecake I've had so far.
sinny
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: December 2004
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 1297
Review Date: Wed June 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I haven't made one yet,but I have had it and it is the best I have tasted. Now I am afraid to make it,because it tastes so good I would have to eat the whole thing.
microChip
Fox Alpha Male

Registered: March 2004
Location: east coast
Posts: 2718
Review Date: Wed June 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I haven't made it yet ... had it at the TN pig roast in 2005 ... <drool> it is fantastic. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
themuffin
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2003
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 723
Review Date: Mon June 13, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best cheesecake I've ever eaten!!!
Cons: You want to eat the entire thing!!!!

I can't believe that this is a lowcarb cheesecake. I can't believe that I made anything so delicious. I want to shout it from the roof tops and give samples to all my family and friends. IT'S THAT GOOOODDDDD!!!!
mslaster
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Posts: 151
Review Date: Fri June 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): the texture--and no after taste
Cons: NONE

Cheri--this was absouletly wonderful. My whole (HATE low carbing family) loved it!!!! I didnt tell them that is was lowcarb. My DH wants me to make one For his co-workers. I have made a lowcarb cheesecake before, but I cover never mask or get pass the artificial sugar aftertaste. This is indeed a keeper.Thank you-thank you!!!!!!!


Review Date: Thu September 8, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crust was a keeper
Cons: Grainy with an off-taste

Lots of effort for little reward. Protein powder gave it a grainy texture in my opinion. Taste was a little off (probably due to the powder). 16oz of sour cream seems excessive and batter was really fluid-y. Had enormous (and deep) outer rim cracks. I will stick to Beachgirl's cheesecakes as they have always turned out well for me and were creamy. I was sadly disappointed. Sad Anyone need some protein powder?
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Wed September 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Good! Lots of compliments and great reviews on this recipe!
Cons: none

This recipe is great... with over 40 very positive reviews.. 4mrSgrAddict.. Maybe there was something you used in the recipe that made it turn out that way.... did you use soy protein powder? That tends to make things grainy.. I used whey protein isolate.. some people that reviewed this recipe used carbquick. Or maybe there was something you changed in the recipe? I think that the reviews thus far have been excellent. I am sorry you had poor results. If you would like to contact me maybe I could help figure out what went wrong for ya! Smile


cheri
mamax6
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2003
Posts: 969
Review Date: Sat September 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and easy to make
Cons: cracking, overflowed the pan

I definitely liked this recipe and will try it for a 3rd time, but I am having some problems with it.


The first time I made it, I did it exactly as the recipe called. I used a 10in springform pan (it didn't say which size). The batter tasted heavenly so I knew I was in for a treat. However, at the end of the cooking time, I propped open the door the cake had risen above the pan and had overflowed onto the bottom of my oven. It was also covered with cracks. After an hour, I took it out and it had shrunk to less than a inch thick. No worry, it still tasted okay.


2nd try - I added a few drops of liquid Splenda and I forgot to put the whey protein in. I cooked it on a lower rack and at a lower temp (300*) for about hour and 20 min. This time it still overflowed, but not as much and still had cracks on the top. I propped open the oven but later discovered that one of my kids had shut the door (don't know at what time). It did not shrink down as much and is close to the same thickness as the example Cheri has (but not quite). Its much more creamy this time too.


I'd like to know why its rising so much and spilling out. The cracks don't bother me so much, but it would be nice to know how to stop them.
Charski
Gadget Gal

Registered: September 2004
Location: Mostly in the kitchen!
Posts: 39341
Review Date: Wed October 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

mamax6, I haven't made this particular cheesecake but if I had to guess at the problem you are having I'd say it's overbeating. That will mix excess air into the batter, which will then expand with heat, causing it to overflow, and then cooling will cause it to shrink way down.


Try just MIXING it, especially after adding the eggs, until it's combined and not beating air into it. I bet that will fix it up for you!
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Mon October 10, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I would also agree with Charski that it sounds like you are over beating it hun.. I have never had it overflow... also.. if you want to avoid the cracks you might want to put the pan in a water bath and also make sure you do not open the oven while the cheesecake is baking... that should help a lot. <img src="http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/recipereview/images/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /> I am glad you like the flavor of the cheesecake and I have been thinking of taking the protein isolate out of the recipe. I am going to make it without and see how it turns out that way. The original recipe (non converted cheesecake factory cheesecake had flour in it so that is why I added the protein isolate)
areneeh
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Review Date: Sat October 29, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

The taste was excellent. I know from the reviews that I did something wrong because it overflowed over the top of the pan (it did not spill but it puffed up). I knew I did something wrong because I read previous posts and tried not to mix it too much...but I am positive I did because I could see some air bubbles in it while I was mixing it. This was my first time baking a dessert in MANY years and I have to get into the swing of things. I plan to make it once more before Thanksgiving because I plan to bring this recipe for our family dinner for a lowcarb alternative to all the OTHER desserts.


Again...the taste was fabulous.
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rich taste ... easy to make... better than sin
Cons: costly ingredients but worth the splurge

Me and Betty Crocker have never been friends. My cooking skills include; heat up, spread,or unwrap. But this year I will be shamed no more at the anual Christmas party. I am bringing in this secret weapon. The taste is superb and the recipe is idiot proof. Only con is the cost of the ingredients. I am on a budget and shelling out 20 bucks for a cake for only my pure pleasure was a bit reckless. But it is so worth it. And when those office quaking geese ask for the recipe I am going to tell them it's my dead grandmothers age old recipe and I could never sell her out.
elyseelyse
003.JPG

Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: October 2005
Location: Boston
Posts: 28585
Review Date: Sat January 14, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent, so yummy, the best, incredible, better than the restaurants, . . . etc., etc., etc.
Cons: Need to hide it so I can keep control

This is so good - I need NO OTHER dessert ever, lo carb or not!!!
CGSF
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: January 2006
Location: LA-Lower Alabama
Posts: 1781
Review Date: Mon February 6, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): creamy, real cheese cake taste and texture
Cons: the top had pretty large cracks

I couldn't wait and tried it the same day I cooked it. It had quite a "sugar substitute" taste. Tried it again the next day. It was more dense and had less of the sugar substitute taste. Tried it the second day. It was outstanding. Dense and creamy, no after taste. It's real cheescake!
Review Date: Thu February 16, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): SOOOO GOOOD
Cons: I felt like I was cheating!!

I have tried other low carb cheesecakes and nothing comes close to how good this one!! I had to freeze about half of it right away so I could enjoy it for awhile. (I made without the crust) I took this to my parents house and they had no clue it was low carb and they both had seconds.
*rosebud*
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 54
Review Date: Mon April 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very nice flavor
Cons: none

I made this Friday evening and we ate it for Easter dinner on Sunday. I used liquid sweetener and I added some suger free apricot jam to the top in swirls before cooking. I used melted butter and almond meal for the crust as I didn't have the other nuts.


This turned out very, very good and it was very pretty. Tall and rich and thick and it really went down smooth. Yum! Everyone said how nice it was and how wonderful and amazing it was low carb. We (the cheesecake and I) were a big hit!
turtlegirl115
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: June 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 2366
Review Date: Wed June 7, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very creamy and tasty!
Cons: Crust was a little bland. Could use some sweetener?

I'm an idiot and used 5 boxes of cream cheese instead of 3. DUH! lol It bubbled up over the top of the pan but it did shrink somewhat overnight so no big deal other than the added carbs. I went to take it out of the fridge this morning and, having never used a springform pan before, forgot to pick it up by the bottom. I dropped it right on the floor!! Oh I was SO mad! But luckily, it landed right side up and the bottom of the pan was still stuck to the cheesecake so I just picked it up and put it back in the fridge. I'm not serving it to anyone but me! lol This cheesecake is REALLY good. Can't wait to try the variations. And I think next time I'll add a little sweetener to the crust as it seems a little bland. Thanks Cheri for your recipe!!
ohr
Senior LCF Member

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 124
Review Date: Wed July 12, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I'd love to try this recipe but I have a question, first. I just received my first sweetzfree. Can I use this instead of any pourable sweetener or do you need the bulk of the splenda?
camcam
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 254
Review Date: Tue July 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): OMG - it is so good
Cons: OMG - I ate the whole thing

This is by far the best "diet" treat I have ever eaten - and I have been dieting my whole life (or so it seems!!) For sweetner, I used Joseph's brand maltitol sweetner (I couldn't find pourable splenda) and the cheesecake turned out terrific - it was thick and dense like a real cheesecake. I even sampled it on the first day and it was to die for. I made it on Friday and by Monday, I was eating the last piece for breakfast. Next time I will freeze some and maybe share some.
camcam
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 254
Review Date: Tue July 25, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): OMG - it is so good
Cons: OMG - I ate the whole thing

This is by far the best "diet" treat I have ever tasted. I couldn't find liquid splenda, so I used Joseph's brand maltitol sweetner. It was to die for. Made it on Friday and was eating the last piece for breakfast on Monday. The flavor did get better and the cheesecake became more dense with each passing day.
YoYoGirl
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 736
Review Date: Sun October 8, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): a lowcarb dessert!
Cons: I don't have the right pan!

I had never made a cheesecake and I didn't have a springform pan, so there were two strikes against me. I made the cheesecake in a regular pie dish. I must have put more than enough batter into the pie plate because it poofed up over the top.
Also, the top of my cheesecake was almost black. I am going to go out tomorrow and buy the correct pan, but I am wondering what people do to keep the top from getting too dark. I had it on the middle rack, not the top one. Any help would be appreciated.
Review Date: Tue October 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): ALL Positive!
Cons: Waiting the 24 hours but its worth it!

OH MY GODDESS this is the best! I have made it twice now, the first time as it is and the second I added peanut butter and cocoa to make it a choc/PB cheesecake and it was killer. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!
carob
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2005
Posts: 432
Review Date: Wed October 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is the best cheesecake I've ever made. I mixed a low carb choc. bar in a little batter and swirled it into the cheesecake. Very good!
sports_mom
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: May 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 1326
Review Date: Sun October 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons:

Loved it. I baked in a waterbath and it was perfect. Froze the leftovers and had dessert for a week. Can't wait to adapt and make different flavors.
astrl
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: The Space Coast
Posts: 6831
Review Date: Wed November 8, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good tasting
Cons: None

Are the carb counts for the entire cheesecake or just a slice?
avah1
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Location: Columbus
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue November 14, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great cheesecake!!
Cons: none

I made this 2 years ago for a footbal party, and I was dissapointed when I didn't have any left overs to take home with me!! All my non-low carb friends and family loved it!! I am going to make it again this week for another football party, but I think I will add some peanut butter to it.
Sarmay
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: September 2001
Location: Where pigs fly in Ohio.
Posts: 2160
Review Date: Sat January 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and delicious!
Cons: Too easy to eat the whole thing lol!

Oh, my goodness! I haven't even actually eaten it yet, but it looks beautiful, the unbaked batter was yummy (yes, I HAD to sample it! ) and I liked the crumbs off the knife I used to run around the sides as it cools. WOW! I even made it with no hand mixer (just a lot of elbow grease lol) and it still worked. Definitely try this one! Even I can make it taste good!
Sarmay
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: September 2001
Location: Where pigs fly in Ohio.
Posts: 2160
Review Date: Mon January 15, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

It's delicious, that's for sure. I brought some for lunch today, and now there are only a couple of pieces left. DH loves it! I'll be making another one very soon! Maybe tonight, because everyone wants some!
LowcarbFan
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: June 2005
Posts: 2849
Review Date: Sat March 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best tasting cheesecake ever!
Cons: no negatives!

This is the best cheesecake I have ever tasted! It makes a big tall cheesecake so I froze some and found out it freezes well. I didn't have a springform pan the first time I made this and it just about overflowed so if you are using a smaller pan you shouldn't pour all the batter in it. I have even made this in a 9 x 13 pan and it works as well. You can also add some pourable splenda to the crust to make it a little sweeter. I noticed someone said theirs got too brown on top. All ovens run different in temperature so if your oven runs hot put some foil on the top of the cheesecake until the last 5 to 10 minutes like you do when you bake a turkey. Some like the brown on top and some don't. If you get a real cheesecake they do have a brownish top so its not unusual and doesn't take away from the flavor. Also make sure you put it in the middle of the oven. I have made this with half splenda and half pourable splenda and have heard others say they used all liquid sweetner and it worked out. I think it is hard to mess this cheesecake up unless you start substituting ingredients. I served this to non lowcarb eaters and they didn't even know it was sugar free! I didn't use chocolate chips but made a strawberry sauce to pour over it. Next time I am going to make the strawberry one cheri has. Her pumpkin one is great also and I have had it for many breakfasts. Its great with coffee.
RiotGirl08
weight.png

Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 7067
Review Date: Mon November 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Really Good!
Cons: Crust?

I still have to give this one a ten. I didn't like the crust at all, but I think I screwed it up. I have to admit, this was my first cheesecake I've tried to make. Also, I have no willpower. I tried a piece almost right out of the oven, and it was AWFUL! I was so disappointed. I wrapped it in foil, stuck it in the fridge and forgot about it. Two days later I remembered it was in there, and that I was supposed to wait 24 hours before trying it. I tried it and OH my god! I ate 2 pieces. YUMMY!!!!
SugarPop
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: July 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2604
Review Date: Thu July 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons: none

I made this cheesecake to take to a luncheon with a group of friends. I didn't have chocolate chips and couldn't find my vanilla extract, so I decided to make a lemon cheesecake.....I used lemon extract instead of vanilla, and I added 6 packets of True Lemon.


My friends loved the cheesecake and wanted the recipe. Personally, I think that lemon wasn't a perfect match for the nut crust and next time would probably instead make a shortbread crust that was mentioned in another recipe here from a Carpender's cookbook.
ImRain
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 16
Review Date: Thu September 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I've made several lc cheesecakes, this is definetly the best one I've tried!
Review Date: Sat October 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Totally decadent!
Cons: Hrrd not to eat the whole thing!

I used a mixture of erythritol, xylitol, and Splenda. This cheesecake is totally dynamite. With the combination of sweeteners, there was absolutely no "chemical" taste--and I'm very sensitive to that.


Truly a wonderful recipe!
Page:  1 · 2 more


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.