Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


77607cookie.jpg

 
Reviews Date of last review
14 Tue June 3, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers None indicated 8.0
77607cookie.jpg


77607cookie.jpg









Description:
Ingredients: 2 1/4 cups Carbquik (note, start with 2 cups and add additional as needed to form a nice cookie dough)
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups (12-ounce package) TOLL HOUSE Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels OR LC Success Sugar Free Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips OR Carbsense Mini-Carb Chocolate Chips
1 teaspoon salt (optional)
1 cup (2 sticks, 1/2 pound) butter, softened
3/4 cup Splenda
3/4 cup packed brown Sugar Twin
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 cup chopped nuts
How To Prepare: -Combine Carbquik, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, Splenda, Brown Sugar Twin and vanilla in large mixer bowl till butter is well creamed.
-Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition; gradually beat in Carbquik mixture. Stir in morsels and nuts.
-Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.
-Bake in preheated 375┬║F oven for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Let stand for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.
Number of Servings: Approx. 30 Cookies
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 2g Net Carbs
Preparation Time: 9-11 Minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Aediekins
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: September 2004
Posts: 1562
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to make
Cons: none.

These cookies came out dry and salty! Yuck! Not at all like the picture!
cheri
Recipe.jpg

Administrator

Registered: September 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40008
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: Whole batch is unedible

As with the other review here I tried these and they came out totally different. They are so dry and salty you can't eat them.... Plus they didn't flatten out and look nothing like the picture.. Wasted a lot of carbquik and a $3.50 dollar bag of sugarfree chocolate chips... such a shame.
mandy30
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2004
Posts: 483
Review Date: Thu November 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cookies are better the next day ( I put mine in the freezer)
Cons: They are a little salty (maybe leave the salt out), and I added more splenda after trying the batter.

These are an okay cookie.
amennenga
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 104
Review Date: Sun December 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: nothing major

Due to the other reviews, I omitted the salt. I also cut the recipe in 1/2 to save on Carbquik just in case. The first round of cookies were fluffy, but tasted good. The next round, I used a teaspoon of batter (instead of the heaping tablespoon like recipe says). I also tried to flaten the dough. This time, the actually looked like cookies & tasted pretty good. I would definitely make these again.
SlimmingSigma
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Review Date: Tue December 14, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I haven't tried this recipe but seeing that it calls for Sugar Twin puts me at caution. Regular Sugar Twin tasted like poison and ruined a batch of lowcarb eggnog and cheesecake I'd made. I've only just used some of the Sugar Twin Brown sugar for mashed butternut squash and it was okay. On the box in small print, there is a note that state if a recipes calls for more than 1/2cup of the product it is not recommended! Splenda is better and I hope they market a brown sugar soon.
KimmieG
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: November 2003
Location: Missouri Mom of 7
Posts: 2038
Review Date: Tue December 21, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy
Cons:

I omitted the salt and used un-salted butter and they were awesome. They melt in your mouth.
Anniemt
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Location: Montana
Posts: 248
Review Date: Tue February 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy-no special ingredients
Cons: these are TOO good!

I also omitted the salt and used unsalted butter and made just a half batch, 20 cookies. These are to die for!!! I cannot taste the carbquick at all. I'm putting them right in the freezer, I don't trust myself!
Anniemt
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2005
Location: Montana
Posts: 248
Review Date: Tue February 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons: my carb count per cookie differed by alot!

Amount Per 1 serving
Calories 136.75
Calories from Fat 88.65

% Daily Value *


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total Fat 9.85g 15%


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturated Fat 5.45g 27%


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Polyunsaturated Fat 0g


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monounsaturated Fat 0g


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cholesterol 0mg 0%


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sodium 0mg 0%


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Potassium 0mg 0%


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total Carbohydrate 13.5g 5%


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dietary Fiber 5.15g 21%


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Protein 3.2g 6%

Begete
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: February 2003
Location: Whidbey Island
Posts: 5631
Review Date: Mon February 28, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): With a few changes, absolutely delicious!!
Cons: See above - tendency to eat too many

Here are the amendments:


Instead of 2 cups of carbquik, use one cup of carbquick and one of either almond or walnut flour.


I also add extra nuts (walnut). Underbake slightly and then allow to cool on cookie sheet.
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

this recipe is great
mlb
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2005
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 368
Review Date: Sat November 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and good
Cons: cook fast and so good portion control can be a problem

I thought these were very good, baked up just like it's sugary cousin. I put in a splash of Davinci's carmel Sryup instead of the vanilla, used walnuts and also I got about 36 cookies instead of 30. I also mashed them down a bit before baking them, and you have to watch them close or they will burn...ask me how i know;)
sunshineinut
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 349
Review Date: Fri March 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and delicious
Cons: really changed the recipe a lot

I used 1 c. almond flour, 1 c. carbquik, 4- Eat Well Be Well Chocolate bars chopped up instead of the chocolate chips, I totally took out the salt and the brown sugar, and used 1 1/2 c. splenda instead, and I used 1 c. diced almonds. I measured out exactly 1 Tablespoon cookies and dropped them on a sheet without spreading them out very much and cooked them for 9 minutes. They turned out great and my family loved them.
This made 51 cookies at 1.28 net carbs per cookie.
1 cookie= 51 cals, 4 fts, 3.16 carbs, 1.88 fiber, 1.57 proteins.
helens
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2007
Location: Washington State
Posts: 153
Review Date: Thu November 15, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crispy & Light!
Cons: huh? Do cookies have negative aspects? lol

I've been playing with this recipe today and decided to only make 1/2 the recipe just in case it didn't work out. Well, let me tell you, I'm impressed! I couldn't wrap my head around a soft cookie so I went to the store and picked up some flax seed meal...
Here's my list of ingredients, which resulted in 26 cookies, using the instructions from the original recipe:
1 1/8 cups Carbquick
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup carob chips
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/3 cup Splenda
1/3 cup Brown Sugar Twin
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
4 TBSP Flaxseed meal
I used a wet finger to slightly flatten just the center of each cookie before baking, although I forgot to do the last six and it didn't make any difference in the final cookies other than their shape. My calculations aren't exact, but I come up with approximately 54 calories per cookie and 2.6 carbs per cookie. Now they need to go into the freezer before I eat them all!
Bissonnettemi
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1085
Review Date: Tue June 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice for a sf cookie!
Cons:

I used chopped up Fifty50 chocolate bar instead of chocolate chips, since it's what I had on hand and we really enjoyed them. Having fresh baked goods in the house that are low in carbs helps us not feel deprived. The flavor is good and the texture is also good. I recommend these for those special days or lunches.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends« is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.
á