Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
77607bagels.jpg
77607bialys.jpg
77607Yeast_Rolls.bmp
77607cheddar-biscuit.jpg

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
5 Mon November 30, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.0
77607Yeast_Rolls.bmp


77607Yeast_Rolls.bmp









Description:
Ingredients: 1 cup warm water
2 tablespoons sugar
1 package active dry yeast
3 1/2 cups Carbquik
How To Prepare: -Dissolve yeast in warm water with sugar, let sit 10 minutes till very bubbly.
-Mix starting with 3 cups Carbquik and form a stiff dough; add remaining carbquik as needed.
-Knead with dough hook 7 minutes on low speed. Shape into rolls about 1 ounce and allow to rise 15-20 minutes.
-Bake at 300 degrees 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.
Number of Servings: 36
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 1 gram
Preparation Time: 30 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


marlena
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 41
Review Date: Sat July 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): tasted great
Cons: fell flat in oven

I thought the taste was fine, I don't know why they fell. Back to the oven!
amber lite
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2003
Posts: 147
Review Date: Fri October 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very, very good
Cons: recipe rising time, baking temperature, needed tweaking

I had to tweak a little therefore the carb counts went to 4 net which is still good for me. I replaced 1 cup of CQ with 1 cup wheat bread flour and allowed the rolls to rise 45 minutes instead.I also baked them at 375 degrees. Please be sure to check your dates on the yeast packages. When I bake them again for Thanksgiving, I will add a little Splenda since my family has always loved my regular rolls being a little sweet. Out of this same recipe you can make bread sticks, buns, cinnamon rolls, etc... Use your imagination.
Review Date: Fri February 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Was really looking forward to these; but my batter would not rise. Finally put them in the oven anyway and they baked into exactly the same still little balls I made them in. I didn't have a dough hook, so I kneaded with my hands. It's always worked with regular hot roll mix. Flavor was good, made bite size bread balls.
Low-Carb Chicklady
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 230
Review Date: Tue February 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy, tasty
Cons: a bit flat

I made breadsticks with this.....added a T of garlic powder and sprinkled sea salt on top. Tasty enough, but never really rose ...more like pretzel sticks....which isn't all bad. I made 16 sticks, and now that carbquik ia only 6 net carbs per cup, each one was 3 grams net carbs....probably less because presumably the sugar gets eaten by the yeast...
Review Date: Mon November 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fluffy traditional yeast roll taste and texture...delicious!
Cons: had to tweak the recipe and rising time to get a great end product

The original recipe was only okay and did not rise much. I tweaked the recipe (adjusted recipe listed below), divided dough into 12 servings rather than 36 to make larger rolls, extended rising time to 45 minutes on a sunny window, and increased oven temp to 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until tops are golden. They came out fantastic, exactly like real yeast rolls!!!! they rose very high, baked up golden.


Here's my recipe:


1 C warm water
2 Tblsp sugar (dissolved in water)
1 Pkg rapid rise yeast dissolved in the warm water
2 C carbquik
1/4 granular splenda
1/2 C vital wheat gluten (which adds needed "strechyness" to dough and also helps it rise higher). this adds 12 carbs to entire recipe, adds 1 net carb per roll.
1/2 C unbleached wheat flour (adds 25 net carbs to entire recipe-about 2 carbs per roll if 12 large rolls are made).
1 large egg


I added the bubbly yeast water mixture to all of the dry ingredients, then added the egg, stirred to make sure everything was well blended, then kneaded dough in my stand mixer using the dough hook for 7 minutes. I cut dough into 12 sections, pulled each section into a a 7 inch strip, then rolled up tightly (cinnamon roll style), placed each section in lightly greased muffin tin, brushed tops lightly with olive oil, covered with saran wrap, then set near a sunny window for 45 minutes. the dough rose up very high, and baked up fluffy and golden...i polished one off right out of the oven, and boy was it good!


I hope you enjoy it as much as we have! I have a picture if anyone would like to see the final product.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.