Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
25 Wed February 27, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers None indicated 9.1












Description:
Ingredients: 2# ground beef
Chili season pkg
1 sm can Tomato sauce
1 pkg hotdogs
shredded cheese
onions
sourcream
How To Prepare: Fry and drain ground beef.Add tomato sauce and season pkg.Spread in bottom of cake pan.Cut hotdogs into rounds and layer over ground beef mixture.Top with cheese and cook in 350 oven 10 min.or until cheese melts.Top w/sourcream and taco sauce.
Number of Servings: 6
Preparation Time: 15 min.
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Blabbermouth!!!
 
Posts: 7,497
Registered: March 2004
Location: Montana



Review Date: Tue June 29, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick and VERY easy
Cons:

My family loved this!! Young children would really like it too, I'm sure. Make sure you put the sour cream and salsa on, as it adds a lot of flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
MelissaE
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Posts: 13
Review Date: Fri September 3, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great!
Cons: None

I'm very happy that I found this meal! Husband is a big hot dog fan so this is a great new recipe for us! We would have this even if we weren't dieting!


Forgot to use the sour cream and taco sauce but we liked it even without.
SPECK
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2003
Posts: 2383
Review Date: Mon September 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: none

Well I just felt like I had the BIGGEST cheat!!!
I feel like I just left the sonic and had a chili cheese pie. Very filling. This hits the spot when you think you can't stand the same old thing one more day.
By the way, I am not much of a hotdog person at all so I was a little skeptical but it was great.
Sandra
Review Date: Fri November 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy/makes a lot
Cons:

Very very good! Can even leave hot dogs whole and serve on low carb bread as a chili dog!! The next day I added some extra water in mine and it was like chili!! Will be making again!
Meljax
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Posts: 13
Review Date: Tue November 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons:

This is good. Very filling! Use regular cheese- not 2%. I used 8 oz of cheese. I put it in a 13x9 pan. Seems to be about 6 g. carbs per serving. Make sure to heat the meat, tomato sauce, & chili seas. before putting in the pan.
NCgrl
Senior LCF Member

Registered: November 2004
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains
Posts: 630
Review Date: Sun December 5, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and quick
Cons: too good

This was fantastic!Even the low carb naysayer loved this recipe.Very filling,one of the best foods I've had so far!
Review Date: Wed January 5, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and good
Cons: none

This was very easy to make and very very good.I didnt have any chili seasoning so i used taco still good.
CKelly
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2003
Location: McDonough,GA
Posts: 103
Review Date: Fri February 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy! Quick and easy.
Cons: none

I fixed this for dinner and it was great.Thanks for the recipe.
Review Date: Tue February 22, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to make
Cons: None

This was great! So easy to make and very flavorful. It really does taste like Sonic chili pie! I added half a chopped onion to the beef, and an extra layer of cheese in between the dogs and the meat. YUMMY!
Review Date: Thu February 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast and easy
Cons:

franzie99
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 21
Review Date: Tue March 1, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty easy recipe
Cons:

This was great! I was craving a chili cheese dog (which I never really crave?!). I was going to head out to Sonic to get one (minus the bun, of course) when I stumbled upon this recipe! Fate! So, I tried it and told my husband what we were having for dinner. He wasn't so sure... until he tried it! He had a second heaping helping and ate it up as leftovers too! This was really yummy and definitely cured my craving! Highly reccomend!
kaydee
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 35
Review Date: Sat March 12, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy
Cons:

very good, but i had to add a lot of extra seasoning.
Review Date: Tue April 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Tasty, quick and easy
Cons: None

The only thing I changed was I put in a half a packge of hot dogs instead of a whole one.
MomBlessedBy2
Guest

Registered: February 2005
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 9
Review Date: Sun July 17, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): So easy to make!
Cons: NOTHING!

I need quick, low carb, delicious meals and this is perfect! I made it for a Church gathering yesterday and it was a huge hit. Several people want the recipe!!!!
Review Date: Sun October 16, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Be sure and use top quality beef/hotdogs/cheese in this one. It makes all the difference.
Deannie
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 618
Review Date: Sat December 31, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious and easy
Cons: none

Really good. Satisfying when you're craving chili dogs. I've made it a few times now and it's always good.
beetgreen
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: July 2002
Location: Allegan, Michigan
Posts: 1047
Review Date: Wed February 15, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): A winner
Cons:

This is really good, even my non lc children love it. I used my own blend of chili type spices rather than the pkg mix. Mastercook gives me a carb count of 5g after deducting the fiber per serving.
carreont
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 39
Review Date: Fri March 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): taste great
Cons: none

Nice comfort food.
Nanders
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue March 21, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fool-proof
Cons: not for everyone

I really like this recipe although I have to cut the recipe in half since I am the only one in my house that likes it and I don't want to be eating it five nights in a row. It really makes you feel like you cheated!
Review Date: Fri February 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): super easy
Cons: none

Great topped with chopped onion and spicy mustard!
Mcp
Senior LCF Member

Registered: August 2002
Location: Maine
Posts: 752
Review Date: Sun March 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy and Quick to make!
Cons: I wanted more.....lol

I was scared maken this cause I dont like tomatoe sauce!!
I love this and its a make again dish!! If my kids and husband ate this and loved it then it passes!!!
Newmoo
Junior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7
Review Date: Tue May 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and easy
Cons: None

I asked my husband what he thought of me making chili dog casserole for dinner. He said anything with the words chili dog in it had to be good. He was so right. This is wonderful. This would make a great potluck covered dish for everyone, even those eating Fritos along with it. Thank you for posting this. Yet another mealtime solution for low carbing me and eat everything kids and hubby. Smile
Review Date: Tue July 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick, easy and tastes good
Cons: none

Loved this easy recipe. For the non LC served over corn chips like a frito chili pie. Sour cream and chopped onion on top, yum!
spooker
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2003
Location: florida
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue November 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Already had everything in the house
Cons: none

This is really good. Totally feels like you're cheating while your noshing on this. I was skeptical about even trying it, but am very happy I did. My 10 year old loves it!
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: Too runny

I would suggest to add seasonings to meat and cook awhile, to enhance the flavor. Then add dogs and cheese and put in oven. Altho easy and will do in a pinch, I didn't care for the greasy look and taste.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.