Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
3 Sat November 3, 2007
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0












Description: Smells wonderful while simmering and tasted delish. Even DD likes it!
fashioned after Skyline Chili in Cincinnati.
Ingredients:
2 pounds lean ground beef
3 cups water
1 large onion, finely minced
1 clove garlic, finely minced
1 (15-ounce) can tomato sauce
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 tsp splenda
(optional)
How To Prepare: In a medium saucepan, mix the raw ground beef into the water until it's all broken up and "soupy" (no browning or sauteing required). Stir in the rest of the ingredients. Simmer uncovered, stirring occasionally, for at least 3 hours. Serve over cooked spaghetti and top with grated cheddar cheese,(for the non-low carbers) chopped onions and/or kidney beans.
I ate it on it's own - delish.
Number of Servings: Serves 6 to 8.
Preparation Time: 20 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
MAJOR LCF POSTER!
 
Posts: 1,674
Registered: December 2002
Location: West Coast, Canada



LoCarbGamer
Senior LCF Member

Registered: December 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 596
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted like Skyline!
Cons: None

My husband turned me on to Skyline chili with spaghetti when we met. He would still have it at times when I was eating low carb and I wanted it so badly. This tastes very close.
shrimplet
Senior LCF Member

Registered: May 2007
Location: Wellingborough UK
Posts: 231
Review Date: Tue May 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick, yummy, low carb, cheap to make
Cons: None

This was excellent and I'll definitely make it again! Thank you for sharing :-)
Marvelissa
Senior LCF Member

Registered: October 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 453
Review Date: Sat November 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, One Pot Cooking, Inexpensive, Makes a Ton
Cons:

It needed considerable higher amounts of salt and splenda. I taste tested it after about 2 1/2 hours and it seemed bland bland obviously due to a lack of salt. I added much more salt and a heaping teaspoon of splenda - which improved it. I've never had Skyline chili, so can't compare, but it is a different - albeit good- flavor. I'll be chopping up hot dogs to toss in and will serve with sides of shredded cheese, onion, ketchup, mayo, mustard, relish as I am taking it for a crock-pot potluck at church tomorrow. I needed something to eat and that would still be tasty. I'm sure I'll make it again sometime.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.