Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



 
Reviews Date of last review
10 Mon July 4, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6












Description:
Ingredients: This meets my 3 Criteria for a great recipe:
Quick, Cheap, and Delicious!


3 cans of French Style Green Beans, drained
1 Tbs Olive Oil
1 small Onion chopped
1 pound Hamburger
1 - 26 oz Jar Classico Sauce, I like the mushroom (or your favorite brand)
3 cups shredded Mozzarella Cheese
Grated Parmesan Cheese
How To Prepare: Heat oven to 375.
Place beans in colander, set aside to drain.


Saute onion in olive oil until slightly translucent, about 5 minutes. Add hamburger and cook until browned. Stir in the spaghetti sauce, simmer 5 minutes uncovered. Take paper towels and gently blot any excess moisture from the beans. In an 8 by 11 inch glass pan, layer half of the green beans, then half the hamburger sauce mixture, and 1 1/2 cups mozzarella. Repeat the layers. Top with generous sprinkle of parmesan cheese. Bake 30 minutes in 375 oven, until lightly browned and bubbly. Remove from oven, and let rest for 5 minutes before cutting.


Serve with green salad. My family really likes this, reminds them of the comfort casseroles I used to make.
Number of Servings: Serves 6 generously, and makes great leftovers!
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Not much.
Preparation Time: 30 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
Way too much time on my hands!
 
Posts: 17,913
Registered: June 2002



JustChris
Senior LCF Member

Registered: April 2003
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 406
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Takes a little time to prepare but makes a nice meal. I cut it 8 pieces for about 8-9 carbs each and that is enough for a meal for me. I actually like it better cold than heated....reminds me of cold pizza. Of course I've always liked that sort of thing. Definitely good for curbing that Italian craving.
Review Date: Wed March 29, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast and TASTY!
Cons:

Coming from a person who's made a zillion low-carb recipes in the past 5 years, believe me when I say that this won't disappoint. It's so EASY, and the taste is amazing given the minimal amount of ingredients and effort required. The green beans surprisingly take the place of noodles--you really don't miss the noodles at all in this "lasagna". Also, I brought it to work for lunch the next day and it re-heated beautifully. Save this recipe for a night when nothing low-carb sounds good to you, and you will NOT be disappointed.
Bissonnettemi
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1085
Review Date: Tue January 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good, easy to make,
Cons: dilemma of whether to use frozen gr beans or canned

Well, I went with the canned gr beans this first time, as written, and lowered the temp in the oven to 350, yet cooked it a bit longer (45-50 mins). I used a low-carb sauce rather than classico. Just loved it, we've been eating it for three day and I am sorry it's all gone. I like that the recipe doesn't use noodles, which makes this remarkably quick & easy to make. Will be a regular in my home.
Review Date: Fri January 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantastic
Cons: none

I cooked it 3 times this week, my husband even requested it!!!!!!!!! It is outstanding!!
heidihoopi
Way too much time on my hands!

Registered: June 2002
Posts: 17913
Review Date: Sat June 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Lol, I was looking for a good casserole to make and found this. It's my recipe, guess I forgot to put my name on it! Smile
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu September 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy & Tastes Great
Cons: None

I used 2 lbs of hamburger, 4 cups of mozzarella cheese and no parmessan. It was great. My kids and husband even liked it. You can't really taste the green beans - you only know they are there because they are green.
Review Date: Tue February 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
Cons:

This is really good and reheats well.
Review Date: Mon May 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Loved this... inexpensive, quick and delicious
Cons: So, good we ate too much of it.

Comes together quickly. Very easy to have ingredients on hand...
Review Date: Wed June 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent
Cons: none

Had company not low carb lovers and they loved it. Had big second helpings
My husband loves it.
mtslone
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon July 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to Make
Cons: None

Wow. I was not sure about how this would work with the Green Beans, but it was wonderful. Even my husband enjoyed it!


I added crushed red pepper and italian seasoning to add some flavor. I think next time I would consider adding some Ricotta as well.


Definately a keeper!!!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.