Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!



Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
8 Tue September 7, 2010
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.8












Description: This is a combination of two copycat Applebee's Tequila Lime recipes that I found on the net. I have also added my own ingredients, too. The mexi-ranch dressing is time-consuming to make, but it is so worth it. The dressing is also good on salads and as a dip for pork rinds.
Ingredients: Marinade:


2/3 cup Jose Cuervo tequila
2/3 cup canola oil
2 Tbsp. Lime juice
2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. liquid smoke flavoring
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground ginger


5-6 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts


Mexi-Ranch dressing:


1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup sour cream
2 Tbsp. heavy cream
3 tsp. white vinegar
2 tsp. minced canned jalapeno slices (nacho slices)
2 tsp. minced onion
1/2 tsp. dried parsley
1/2 tsp. Tabasco pepper sauce
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. dried dill weed
1/4 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp. cumin
1/4 tsp. chili powder
1/8 tsp. garic powder
1/8 tsp. ground black pepper


1 - 2 cups shredded Cheddar/Monterey Jack cheese blend
How To Prepare: Mix marinade ingredients in a large bowl. Add chicken breasts, turning to coat. Cover with foil, place bowl in refrigerator, and marinade at least 4-6 hours (can marinade up to 24 hrs).


In the meantime, mix all mexi-ranch ingredients together and refrigerate.


Grill the chicken breasts either on a charcoal grill or on the Foreman until done. Discard marinade. Place chicken in a pan. Top each breast with a generous portion of the mexi-ranch dressing. Sprinkle cheese on top. Broil on top rack of oven for 3-5 minutes until cheese is melted.


For a real Applebee\'s effect, you could fry a LaTortilla until crisp, break it up into small pieces, and place the chicken breast on the broken chips. (I just do without the chips). Good served with faux Mexican rice and salad.
Number of Servings: 5-6 servings
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: Carb counts are minimal--less than 5 gms per breast
Preparation Time: 30 minutes prep, 30 minutes cook
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Average
Senior LCF Member
 
Posts: 77
Registered: April 2001
Location: Bama--Heart of Dixie!



Review Date: Wed February 11, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

My hubby said a 10+, this was so good!
Darkfire
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: July 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland 21225
Posts: 1680
Review Date: Thu February 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): It made me eat chicken...I hate chicken for the most part.
Cons: Not enough heat nor lime. I dunno HOW they do it in the restuarants that make them so much spicer.

It was really good, I ate all my portion which is rare for chicken (unless its heroin wings or franks hot sauce wings) that Mexi-Ranch dressing was the key. I am gonna try it again for a dipping thing.
Review Date: Mon March 22, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy!
Cons:

I made the recipe as posted, but I didn't have any liquid smoke flavoring. It really didn't matter, because the dressing was wonderful. No leftovers here and my family can't wait unitl I make it again. Enjoy!
Review Date: Fri March 26, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ingredients are easy to have on hand.
Cons:

This is one of our favorite chicken recipes. A wonderful dish even with out the sauce and cheese. Our three year old really liked the chicken (I didn't put any of the sauce on his, some bites were a little to spicy for him). This will be a regular meal in our house!!!!
SusanY
Whoosh Fairy

Registered: January 2004
Location: on the farm in the humidity
Posts: 4652
Review Date: Fri September 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): everybody loved it!!!
Cons:

The sauce has alot of ingredients but really no trouble at all to throw together. DH even used it on his green salad.
Review Date: Sat February 26, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fabulous recipe! Easy.
Cons: None

Used 4 oz Shore Lunch brand Tequila Lime Spirited Marinade with 1/4 cup of Tequila for the marinade (1 gm carb/Tbls but it gets discarded and burnt off on the grill) and used the first six ingredients of the dressing and added Gluten Free Pantry taco seasoning to taste for rest of the spices. I'm sure yours is better, but it was still delicious with the substitutes. I crushed an ounce of 5 gm carb/oz nacho chips on the plate and topped with the rest. My family loves it. Better than Applebees. Thanks!!
Tbonz
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Posts: 28
Review Date: Mon February 28, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yum
Cons: none

rocks!
MizzouDad
Junior LCF Member

Registered: September 2010
Location: Pleasant Hill, MO
Posts: 26
Review Date: Tue September 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I have made this 4 times in a little over a week. Everyone LOVES it!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.