Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
6 Thu April 14, 2005
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6












Description:
Ingredients: 1 1b. ground beef (0)
1/2 cup chopped onion (7)
2 cups green enchilada sauce(I used La Preferida) (4)
4 cups grated cheddar cheese (7)


18 La Tiara taco shells(yellow) (18)
1 Tablespoon butter
Salt and pepper to taste
Jalapeno slices(optional)
How To Prepare: Saute onions in butter until translucent. Add ground beef and brown until crumbly, season with salt and pepper(drain if needed).
Spray a 2 quart casserole dish with a non-stick cooking spray.
Layer beginning with 1/3 of meat onion mixture, follow with 1/2 of the taco shells(broken in pieces),then 1/3 meat mixture, 1 cup enchilada sauce, 2 cups cheese, the remainder of taco shells, remainder of meat mixture, remainder of enchilada sauce and cheese.
I prefer spicy dishes, so in each layer I added 1/4 cup jalapeno slices. (4)
Bake at 350 degees for approximately 30 minutes or until bubbly. Let stand for 10 minutes.
Serve with sour cream and additional hot sauce if desired(I do).
4 servings
36 total carbs, 9 per serving. If adding jalapeno's it's 40 with 10 per serving. Sour cream would be additional.
Number of Servings: 4
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 9
Preparation Time: 15 minutes
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Tue March 16, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasted Great with Low Amount of Carbs
Cons: Needs Olives, but would add to # of Carbs

This is one of those recipes that makes you ask "Am I really on a diet." Because you use only a few corn shells in a big recipe, the carbs are low. However, the taste of authentic Mexican food is all there. This recipe is great for your NON-Atkins friends. Also great to make in quantities and save for those times when you don't feel like cooking. Enjoy.
Review Date: Thu July 1, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!!!
Cons: Addictive

*I use Tippy Rosa LC shells, so only need 6 and I also add olives.
This is my new favorite food. If you haven't tried it, you must. My whole family agrees that it deserves at least an 11 on a scale from 1-10.
It's also wonderful as leftovers, but I always forget to double the recipe.
katelynsmom
Junior LCF Member

Registered: July 2003
Location: with Dorothy and TOTO
Posts: 30
Review Date: Fri July 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very yummy
Cons:

Very easy and very delicious ! Even my picky husband had seconds.


Chrystine
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: July 2004
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1664
Review Date: Mon July 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): EASY!! Oh so tasty!
Cons: None

My non-LCing children loved this meal!! So did my husband and I!
I did not have the taco shells available so I used low-carb tortillas made by Mission. They are fajita size and have 5 grams of net carbs each.
This will certainly be a new favorite in the house!
lala
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: March 2005
Location: SALINAS, CALIFAS
Posts: 1057
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

OMG i cant believe i didnt think ofthis its great thanks!
Review Date: Thu April 14, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

I must have found the wrong products or something, because by my count, the total carbs was about 100, for 25 per serving. I actually divided it into 5 servings just to cut the carbs some.


The tortillas I found were La Tiara brand in a white box, with 36 shells in it. Unfortunately, they had 4 carbs per shell, not 1. Either the recipe is wrong, the product changed, or the company makes more than one type of LC taco shells. The carb cound on the enchilada sauce was also quite different, I used 2 7oz cans of Herdez(?), and it had 1 carb per serving. That doesn't sound like much, but since there were 7 servings per can, it actually meant that I was adding 14 carbs to the pan, not 4 as in the recipe.


The bottom line for me is that it was pretty good, but I guess it should have been at 20-25 carbs per serving. In the future, I either need to find lower carb products, or find another recipe.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.