Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
26 Tue June 24, 2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers None indicated 9.8












Description:
Ingredients: 1 medium onion
3 stalks celery
48 ounces chicken broth
8 ounces cream cheese
3/4 can diced green chiles
1 package taco seasoning mix
3 chicken breasts -- cooked and cubed
1/2 box velveeta
How To Prepare: Dice onions and celery. Place in pot add just enough water to cover onions and celery. Place lid on pot. Cook til tender and most water is cooked off, about 20-25 minutes. Add chicken broth, heat to boil. Add cream cheese and chili peppers, when cream ch
eese is disolved add velveta cheese. Stir until velveta is melted (important to keep stirring so cheese doesn't scorch). add cubed chicken breast and taco seasoning. Let simmer for about 1/2 hour. Delicious.


If you are not afraid of a little bit of carbs and you want to thicken soup then make a water paste (3 cups of hot water and 1/2 cup of flour stir until paste is smooth or strain to remove lumps. Add to soup slowly constantly stirring and let simmer.


For people in you family not on Atkins serve over Fritos.
Number of Servings: 10
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 45 total
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Review Date: Mon February 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This is probably one of the best recipes that I have tried. I didn't add any chicken (due to the fact I can't seem to cook chicken right) but it was spicy and very cheesy. I highly recommend it if you are a cheese head :D
Review Date: Thu February 19, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is wonderful, one of my favorite foods I have had in months! thanks
Cons:

not sure how to do this...but this soup is great! and easy...I like that
eko42
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 843
Review Date: Tue March 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and very easy to make
Cons: None

I love this recipe! I made it in the hope that it would taste like Chili's "Chicken Enchilada Soup". Well, it is better! I have made it twice now. Once using a taco seasoning packet and the second time I used an enchilada seasoning packet for variety. I cook the chicken on the grill so that it adds more flavor. I serve it with a dollop of sour cream, diced tomatoes and crushed low carb tortilla chips on top. It makes a very satisfying lunch or a comforting supper on a chilly winter night.
sinderstorm
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Registered: September 2003
Posts: 3483
Review Date: Sat April 24, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This has become one of my non-LCing husband's favorite meals- period. I found that by mixing my own taco seasoning I cut out alot of the carbs from that, as well as the sugar fillers that are in most prepackaged taco seasonings. I use 2 Tablespoons of my taco seasoning that I make.


I also have found that you don't have to use chicken breasts- thighs are just as good, and quite a bit less expensive.
soon2bfitmom
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: November 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 9006
Review Date: Sun July 18, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): YUMMY YUMMY
Cons:

I made this w/o chilis.. and OMG is this good!!! DH loved it too!! Will definatetly be making it again!
ladyiq
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2004
Location: Atlanta area, GA
Posts: 333
Review Date: Wed July 28, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty
Cons: None

Great recipe. Tasted wonderful. The only change I will do next time(and there will be a next time ) is less taco seasoning. Also used a can of rotel in place of the chilies, but was still delicious.
zurri
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 6
Review Date: Mon August 2, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awsome. Very, Very Tasty
Cons: none

Very good. Very Easy. Will for sure make this one again. So good it seems sinful.
embutterfly75
Junior LCF Member

Registered: May 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16
Review Date: Sat August 7, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to Make
Cons:

I made this soup without the chicken and it was good. This recipe also makes alot, so i put several servings in the freezer for other days.
acorvettemom
Junior LCF Member

Registered: August 2004
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 11
Review Date: Sat September 4, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): positively excellent
Cons:

made me forget that I'm low carbing it. Loooved this soup!!!! I used a package of Durkee Grill Creations Smokey Chipotle packet marinade and it too was too good for words. Thank You!!
maryjopye
Junior LCF Member

Registered: June 2004
Location: beautiful east tennessee
Posts: 24
Review Date: Fri September 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy
Cons: none

this was GREAT!...i used mild rotelle instead of the chili peppers and only used a box of chicken broth..32oz.. instead of the full 48oz...also used ground beef instead of chicken..DH loved it too!
Review Date: Sun October 10, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ingredients all on hand, easy to mix up!
Cons: easy to eat too much!!

I added a can of drained rotelle tomatoes and chilis instead of a can of green chilis. I used my crockpot. Set it on high, and didn't have to stir the cream cheese or velvetta constantly to melt it. Turned out great!! Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very cheesy, very easy
Cons: Too addictive!

This was great! Don't even need the chicken, (but it was good), and used only half a packet of taco seasoning. Will definitely make again, except I have so much left it will take me forever to eat- will maybe make half the recipe next time, it made so much.
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy!!! tasty!!! EVERYONE LOVES IT!!!
Cons: filling, you want to eat more, but you don't have any room!!!

My variation included grated zucchini and ground turkey for me, plus additional corn and leftover mashed potatoes for the children (in lieu of the flour/water thickener suggested)


VERY YUMMY!!!


THANKS!!!
StephanieK
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1506
Review Date: Fri November 12, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy, really really good.
Cons:

I made this today and it was really good. It was very filling and satisfying. It is definitely a keeper.
Review Date: Fri January 7, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
Cons: none

this receipe is excellent for a pot luck or for a soup cook-off. Even non low carbers will like it, they won't know the difference
SPECK
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: April 2003
Posts: 2383
Review Date: Fri January 21, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just Glad To Have Soup
Cons:

I liked the soup. I would probably like mine thicker like the original poster suggested. I think this set off some cravings for me. I'm thinking with all the cheese(cream cheese and velveeta)that that was the culprit. Would make again though because I have a hard time finding low-carb soups that I like.
oraki
MAJOR LCF POSTER!

Registered: April 2005
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 1263
Review Date: Thu November 3, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Great soup!! I also added a can of tomatoes. Instead of cream cheese I used heavy cream. I'll be making this again!!
curliegirl
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: September 2003
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 1134
Review Date: Mon December 19, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy
Cons: takes a little time

This soup was great. I made it for myself and my husband and he said it was one of the best soups he had ever eaten! Didn't taste low-carb to me - just tasty. It does take awhile to make, but it's worth it.
It's just as good reheated too.
Kimmie1178
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 499
Review Date: Fri October 27, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Excellent!
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8064
Review Date: Wed December 13, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy, easy
Cons: None

I was skeptical, I don't really use Velveeta (snobby me!). But, w/ all the reveiws I gave it a whirl and it was a hit. Dh and dd asked for seconds (high praise). And there's enough leftover for lunch the next few days. I used the crock pot and sauteed the onion and celery first. I reduced the chicken broth a bit (will likely reduce a bit more next time for a thicker soup) and may add more shredded chicken. I also threw in some spinach at the end, which was great and adds to the nutriotional content. Served w/ shredded cheddar, tortilla chips and sour cream (I skipped the chips!). Delish - thanks!
jennmc31
Senior LCF Member

Registered: January 2007
Location: minneapolis,mn
Posts: 155
Review Date: Fri January 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful taste, Made quickly,
Cons:

We are a family of five withs ome seriously picky eaters. Everyone loved it. It was perfect for me to make I had three grilled chicken breasts left over from the night before that I used. My only problem was that I did not have velveeta. I had a big block of medium sharp cheddar cheese though so I cut off about 8oz worth and used that. It was so good it is definitely worth making.
scb1988
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 822
Review Date: Wed February 14, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

Wonderful...but how much velveeta 1/2 small box or 1/2 a 2 lb box?


My kids loved this and will make again and again. Froze leftowvers in individual portions.
scb1988
Senior LCF Member

Registered: February 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 822
Review Date: Wed February 14, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very easy and very yummy
Cons: nonw

Should you use 8 oz of veleveeta?
Jamie15fan
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2001
Location: Keller, TX, USA
Posts: 125
Review Date: Sun June 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy
Cons: None!

This is so tasty! Non-low-carbers love it, too. For my DH, he likes with fritos. I am happy with the soup as is.
skinnywantabe
Junior LCF Member

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 8
Review Date: Mon November 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good stuff
Cons: cream cheese would not dissolve..completely

I used 32oz broth, 8oz. of cheddar (instead of veleveeta) rotel(instead of chiles) 1t.of seaoning (instead of pkg.) The flavor was very tasty, and I'm a soup lover! The only fault (probably something i did) cream cheese never did disolve..sm. bits of cream cheese remained. Tasted okay, just not as attractive..don't know what I did wrong. Anyone have a clue? I saute onion and celery, heated broth to a boil and dumped in crockpot, melted cheese and all other ingredients in crock on high. Thank you
goheels
Senior LCF Member

Registered: March 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 477
Review Date: Tue June 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty and easy
Cons: a bit on the thin side

Really liked this recipe. I followed some of the suggestions and put onion and celery in food processor and blended fine and mixed with 1/2 can Rotel(hot) and 32 oz. of chicken broth and cooked for 8 hrs. Then put in velveeta and cream cheese and chicken and just a small sprinkle of taco seasoning and cooked on low for another hour or so. Next time I might decrease liquid a little more and add more chicken.


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.