Welcome to the LCF Recipe Room! You can edit the recipes that you enter - as well as rate and give reviews of other recipes. Log in with your bulletin board account in order to add/review/print recipes.
Enjoy the 4,000+ Low Carb Recipes!!!


more
more

Previous Product    Next Product
Reviews Date of last review
13 Sat January 19, 2013
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $3.00 9.8












Description:
Ingredients: 1 head cauliflower -- separated into florets
1 onion -- chopped
1 small carrot -- chopped, for color
1 stalk celery -- chopped
4 cups chicken stock
2 cups half and half -- light cream
1/2 teaspoon worcestershire sauce
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
salt and cracked pepper
chives or bacon bits
How To Prepare: Place cauliflower, onion, carrot, celery, and chicken stock in soup pot.
Cover and cook until tender.
Puree in blender.
Return to soup pot.
Blend in cream, Worcestershire, and cheese.
Add salt and cracked pepper to taste.
Stir to mix well.
Gently heat until cheese is melted.
Garnish servings with extra cheese, chopped chives or bacon bits.
Number of Servings: 9
Carbs per serving - include all nutritional information if known: 50 total recipe
Effort (Easy, Average, Difficult): Easy
 


Pinky Flamingo
Blabbermouth!!!

Registered: August 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 4051
Review Date: Mon August 23, 2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and Delicious
Cons:

Not a big soup fan but this soup is delicious and very easy to make. Have made additions of other veggies but it is great without variations to the recipe.
Review Date: Mon June 20, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy and quite tasty
Cons: none

Loved it!!!! Had to leave out the carrot, as I didn't have any, but don't think it mattered--it was still really good!!!
adarix_dma
Junior LCF Member

Registered: December 2003
Posts: 47
Review Date: Sat December 10, 2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): I agree: easy and delicious!
Cons: Made modifications...

I used a bag of frozen cauliflower, poured out some of the liquid prior to pureeing (sp?) and used only one cup of half-n-half. I also excluded the carrot. It was the BOMB!


BTW, I *think* because I used frozen cauliflower, too much liquid was produced. I am happy that I poured some out and only used one cup of the half-n-half as I do think it would not be quite as think as it turned out, had I not made those modifications. Thank you so much for sharing! This will definitely be a regular soup at my house during the winter months!
Review Date: Tue August 29, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:

This tastes remarkably similar to loaded potato soup!
Mindy5936
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 900
Review Date: Sun October 1, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Easy
Cons:

I used a bag of frozen cauliflower instead of fresh and it worked out fine. I topped mine with extra cheese, green onion and bacon. This is a very tasty soup that I will definately be making again!
Mindy5936
Senior LCF Member

Registered: July 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 900
Review Date: Sun October 1, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Easy
Cons:

I used frozen cauliflower and it turned out excellant. I topped my soup with green onion, extra cheese, and bacon. It was very tasty and I will make it again.
Review Date: Tue October 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious
Cons: I found it was better the next day

This was really delicious!!! I made this last night for the first time, and will be adding this to my list of favorite recipes. I added a little bit of hot sauce for flavoring. Adding the bacon, cheese, and scallions on top really made it taste like loaded potato soup to me. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Review Date: Thu February 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delish
Cons: none

This soup is delish! Even my teenager liked it!
I ate it without bacon bits, they had it with bacon bits, we all agreed it's very good & we all would eat it again & again
polythenepam71
Junior LCF Member

Registered: February 2004
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri October 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super Yummy!
Cons: None

My whole family loved this including my mom,aunt, and niece. I was happy that all of the kids would eat it!
julieboolie
Big Yapper!!!!

Registered: March 2004
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 8576
Review Date: Fri January 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and only a few ingredients
Cons: A bit bland without toppings

This soup is yummy!! I did the first part with frozen cauliflower on the stovetop, then moved it to the crockpot. I used a hand blender to puree which was easy and not messy. Then added the cream and cheese. Needed a lot of salt, but is really good!! The cheese and bacon bits are needed, otherwise it's too bland on its own. Even better the next day reheated. Thanks for a great recipe!!
catnmouse
Junior LCF Member

Registered: October 2011
Location: Nj
Posts: 51
Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very easy
Cons:

This was very easy, and delicious. Everyone ate it, in fact my husband tried to duplicate the recipe for our restaurant, but it didn't turn out quite the same, they didn't use a food processor, because they cook in bulk and use a grinder. I think there was too many pieces left. It was still good, just different. Made it a second time and it came out perfect, again.
Jonahsafta
Major LCF Poster!

Registered: December 2007
Location: LV
Posts: 2355
Review Date: Thu February 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful soup!
Cons: None

Easy and wonderful...as is!!!!..I did mess with it later and added shallots, garlic, red pepper, cream cheese and sliced chicken sausage w/ jalapenos...


even better the next day
Review Date: Sat January 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy and forgiving!
Cons: None

This recipe is a really great 'base' to add on to in addition to being delicious on its own. I had a lot of veggies I wanted to use up since it was the end of the week and this recipe did the trick. I did not have celery but I did have a small rutabega and a ripe avocado. I followed the recipe except to add these two things. After blending, I added some shrimp,chopped mushrooms and fresh tarragon that I had on hand. I think you could probably add any numerous number of veggies or protein source to this soup so long as you watch the liquid content (ie, make sure to drain frozen veggies so as to not water down the soup, or, similarly, if using a fatty meat, drain the oil from that before adding, etc). Thank you for such a great recipe!


Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Netrtion.com Featured Low Carb Products!
Please support our sponsor by purchasing your low carb foods at Netrition.com to ensure that we can continue to provide this LowCarbFriends.com service for FREE!

Low Carb Foods | Bulletin Boards | Reviews | Faces | Recipes | Home

Copyright ©1999-2014 Friends Forums LLC. All rights reserved. - Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
LowCarbFriends® is a registered mark of Friends Forums, LLC.